We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing spa day for Mother's Day present!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Perth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing spa day for Mother's Day present!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I did not stay at this hotel on this occasion but have done in the past so thought I would give it another go. Booked a spa day for my mum, mother in law and myself as a late Mother's Day present, and having been to other hotels for spa days I had high expectations - which were definitely not met!

We arrived 5mins late which was clearly my fault but had to wait at reception for 10mins so we could find out where to go. The girls in the spa showed us where to put all our bags and my mum and mother in law got their treatments first while I went to the gym. The gym is definitely in need of an upgrade, if you can even call it a gym. The carpet outside the gym was absolutely disgusting. After, I went back to the relaxation room and was surprised to see my mother in law there as it was supposed to be 2 x 30min treatments and I had only been gone 30mins. I asked the girl why she was out so early and got told we were late so the times were cut back and she had another appt. I can understand cutting the time back but we were still due an additional 15mins!!! The girl spoke to the spa manager and was told there was nothing they could do, it was our fault - still don't understand how my mother in law only got 30mins though when my mum got an hour? Anyway after all the treatments we decided to go for a relaxing swim, the pool area is very grubby and not what I expected at all. And the changed rooms are disgusting, the showers didn't look like they had had a clean since the hotel opened! And the hair dryer looked like a Hoover noozle and there was no plugs for straighteners. Lunch was nice but again there was cobwebs hanging from the lights where we were sitting at. A very disappointing day out which was supposed to be a treat for my mum and mother in law.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Disappointed to read that you we failed to meet your expectations on this occassion and note each of your comments.
When our Spa appointment book is full and guests are late arriving, it is often unavoidable that treatments will be shortened to avoid lateness impacting on following guests.
We have made considerable investment in updating our gym equipment and continue to invest in our leisure club.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    465
    234
    120
    56
See reviews for
208
554
27
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed recently for 3 nights with golf buddies. We paid £ 35 per night b&b which was great value. Breakfast was adequate. Appearance from outside and interior furniture/decor needs a facelift. Reception not overly helpful or what you expect from 4*. Meals in hotel were more expensive than nearby golf clubs where visitors are welcome. golf course in magnicent conditon. Overall would go back as rooms were spotless and bar/restaurant staff were excellent.

Room Tip: rooms 110-138 for great view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay.
Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Trying to write a review of this hotel is difficult- the hotel itself is not inspirational but the view out overlooking the North Sea is! For golf lovers, the location is spot on. This is not a 5 star hotel but the rooms are spacious (no safe though!) and the shower is probably the best anywhere.The restaurant is far from Michelin Starred but the food is good and service friendly. The spa is tired but does the job. Would I stay here again. Yes 100%. Negatives- none. We've possibly become too spoilt reading about luxury hotels and ego golf courses which are rubbish. This is a good hotel with an unbelievably great golf course in a great country 1hr from London.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosslonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your very considered review, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here this week, 22nd April, and considering its a 4 star PGA course hotel, I was bitterly disappointed, the room cleanliness was severely lacking, on a morning I was woke up at 6am by ground staff using a still saw outside. Surely this work could wait till 10am!!!! Also on an evening there was a lot of kids on bikes, shouting and generally using foul language up till 10pm with no staff moving them on. Poor stay, bad experience, avoid

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your response.
Very disappointed to read your comments regarding your bedroom which I note.
Your early morning disturbance was not anything to do with the Carnoustie Golf Hotel, but I suspect greenkeepers on the Carnoustie Championship Links, which is a completely separate business from the Hotel, carrying out their early morning maintenance and grass cutting.
Once again, kids on bikes, off our property, is not a regular problem we encounter and not something we have direct control over, although had you brought it to our attention at the time we would have responded to the best of our ability.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carnoustie hotels

scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

first class hotel overlooking the links course at Carnoustie. Friendly staff, nice rooms, good quality food, nice leisure facilities. recently taken over by the Bespoke Hotel Group. Good value for money break

Room Tip: ask for a links view if possible away from the car park at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments, much appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Thought I would treat myself and my mum to a day using the leisure facilities followed by a few beauty treatments.

The standard of the leisure facilities was shocking! The whole pool area was a disgrace. From broken tiles and dirt in the steam room to a broken door in the sauna, bird excrement on the poolside loungers and mouldy tiled areas throughout.

Actually felt dirty leaving the pool area and therefore did not have the relaxing enjoyable experience I was looking forward to.

Thankfully the girls in the treatment rooms were very nice and good at their jobs which partly saved the day.

Complained to 'the reception manager' who told us he would inform the 'leisure manager' of our concerns, which was little consolation to us!

Take a full body suit if you are feeling brave enough to enter the pool area or at least a jet hose, rubber gloves and a gallon of bleach....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YveMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Very disppointed and surprised in your comments regarding our Leisure Club, none of which we recognise and all of which we consier inaccurate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights golf trip. Although the stay was pleasant and the staff very friendly and helpful I did not have a four star experience but by the same token did not pay a four star price.
The room did not have a fridge or a room-safe. The food at breakfast was good. Dinner was acceptable but served on cool plates. The time taken to serve dinner was too long and the serving staff were having to take complaints for something that was clearly not their fault.
The spa facilities were good.

Room Tip: State if it is important that you have a golf course view as the alternative is a view of the car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoteluser_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for your comments.
I note each of your comments and apologise that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occassion.
For future note, we do provide a safe box facility at reception.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing