We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for golf stay and play.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect for golf stay and play.”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited on a golf package to stay for two nights and play all three golf courses available including the Carnoustie Championship course.The hotel is perfectly positioned so thet once you have parked,you won't have to drive again till you leave,which I found great.Good service on arrival,an earlier than most hotel's check-in started us off well.A traditionally rather than modern decorated hotel with plenty of golf memorabilia to interest players.Rooms were clean and well maintained,though could do with some finishing touch up work to really bring it up to 5* standard.The breakfast in the restaurant was excellent and all staff were very helpful and professional.A nice spa with a good pool,steam room,sauna and hot tub pool,all of which were perfect for tired and cold limbs after golf.Good bar facilities which again needs probably a spruce up of some of the furniture to take it up a notch.But a terrific place to come and stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view,ask for golf course side.There are also suites available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments from your golfing stay.
Pleased that the Spa & Bar managed to revive you after what would have been challenging golfing conditions.
Hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    468
    237
    120
    56
See reviews for
209
556
28
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights B/B basis through Classic Britain on Monday 4th and Tuesday 5th march. There were 5 of us and all 3 rooms faced the golf course.-lovely. The rooms were lovely and staff, breakfast and food in the bar at n ight were excellent.. Could not fault any of the staff.
We would definately come back again.!!!! great few days away!!!!.
Also there is an Ice Machine on each floor and the rooms supplied ice buckets!!!!¬

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments.
We are delighted you all enjoyed your visit and have shared your comments with the team.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocklington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here at the last minute as Montrose fully booked. Got here just as light fading (dusk) but you could see it was special.
Great welcome on arrival easy booking in with free wi-fi. Rooms clean and fresh but limited sockets for laptop but manageable. Views across the course impressive.
Not a golf player but would consider coming back as a lovely location with all the trappings and I don't mean bunkers!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saint_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I do hope we can tempt you south from Montrose the next time you are in the area.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've visited this hotel three times, the weather has never been great. I've had ice, snow and storm force winds. However, I've always managed some great walks along the coastal route and the bracing weather seems to make it even more enjoyable!

The hotel is well equipped, nice pool, restaurant and bar with friendly staff. It all needs a bit of a facelift, but then most hotels do.

Visit in winter and get some great rates for B&B and enjoy a wee walk along the coast, it's guaranteed to lift your spirits!

Room Tip: Ask for one with view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey-Sue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for posting your positive comments not just about our hotel, but about the Angus weather too!
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Upon arrival we found there wasn't exactly a warm welcome, in fact it was rather cool and abrupt, certainly not informative. Unfortunately the room let the hotel down for me, there was black mould in the grouting of the tiles and around the bath and the pine cupboard fronts very tatty. The bed was so soft it didn't make for a good nights sleep! The bedding was rather thin and tired too! On the positive side the receptionist on our departure was friendly and most helpful, perhaps she could teach the young male receptionist how to treat visitors and welcome them. I feel that this hotel rests on it's laurels and in these economic times really cannot afford to do so.

Room Tip: If a view is important then avoid rooms that overlook the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations.
We are disppointed that we didn't meet your expecations on this occassion but do assure you that we want all our guests to enjoy their experience of the Carnoustie Golf Hotel & Spa, and we do try hard to make sure that is the case.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fabulous stay in a lovely hotel with very helpful polite staff. Only negative was the spa being fully booked so might be an idea for the hotel to send brochures in advance to customers and ask them to book. There was a little mould on the bath seal, but otherwise would definitely stay again and recommend to friends

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and note your comment re helping guests book spa treatments in advance, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We got a deal for a night away here that was an awful lot off the ordinary price, but still quite pricy. We arrived to find front desk staff quite sharp and rude, and there was a bizarre confusion whereby we waited for a while for our room to be ready, were then told our room was ready, only to go up to the room and discover the room was not ready! Hotel fully booked, I heard, and a reservation in the restaurant not available at 2pm.

The room was nice. Quite small, but with a big and very comfortable bed and a beautiful view of the 18th Green. We made use of the pool, which was very good, and had a drink in the bar during the evening. Expensive drinks, but not much more than is the case at any hotel bar.

A good night's sleep, although walls are quite thin and I could hear a lot of noise coming from other rooms. Breakfast in the morning was tasty, although service was quite slow.

Carnoustie Hotel is lovely, but has the potential to be brilliant. Some on-the-ball staff could really do wonders for this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelchick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gordon m, General Manager at Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments and observations which have been shared with the team and will be used to help us improve our customer satisfaction.
Thanks again for your revieww.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
12.3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
4.5 mi away
Premier Inn Dundee (Monifieth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
9.7 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel

Property: Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Address: Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Scotland's premium destinations for guests seeking luxury golfing and leisure facilities, the Carnoustie Golf Hotel has 91 en suite bedrooms providing enviable views over the infamous Championship Golf Course or the sea. Overlooking the 1st and 18th tee, guests can enjoy a wide selection of finely prepared Scottish cuisine to excite their taste buds in either the Dalhousie Restaurant, Calders Bar or on The Terrace, whilst enjoying the spectacular views. Carnoustie Golf Hotel is a unique golfing haven, offering some of the most stimulating golf in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carnoustie Hotel Course
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing