We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent place to eat!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of FRANCO'S CAFE

FRANCO'S CAFE
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Carnoustie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: LOCAL BISTRO JUST OPENED VERY NICE, GREAT FOOD, REASONABLY PRICED, AND VERY NICE FAMILY RUN BUSINESS, WELL WORTH A VISIT, SMALL NICE SETTING AND THE SWEETS ARE AMAZING, AS IS THE FOOD
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent place to eat!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

i have been to this cafe on numerous occassions for lunch with my partner and the food is excellent and at a great and affordable price. Only thing is to go early or book a table as it is always busy.
it is also in a great location 2minute walk to the train station so if going somewhere for the day Franco's would be a great place to stop before hand.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cush89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    35
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solid lunch option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a very nice meal at Franco's. Great soup...good sandwiches. The place was packed with locals...a good sign that it is a quality place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stop for a meal on the way to Aberdeen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Popped in to this modern cafe today and was so surprised at how busy it was for a Sunday, not many places are open on Sundays and that chicken tikka panini was delicious. Not to mention the large selection of freshly made cheesecakes which I saw being put into the fridge, the snowball cheesecake was like heaven. Thank you for making my day

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a lovely little cafe / bistro with great home baking and a friendly welcome. Good location as it was easy to walk to from our guest house.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymemories09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellant food&service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Today Me & My Husband Went For A Meal Today The Food Was Georgous, My Husband Had The Toblerone Cheesecake He Thought It Was Devine, also The Strawberry Milkshakes Were delicious

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_lorraine_1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FRANCO'S CAFE also viewed

 
Carnoustie, Angus
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to FRANCO'S CAFE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing