We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of 19th Hole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
19th Hole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Settle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I read a few mixed reviews before booking, all I can say is that there are some sad people around.
The quality of the room I stayed in (Gary Player) is excellent, the rooms are very clean and the breakfast was excellent.
I will be returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    40
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
23
62
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pathhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The room was lovely, well furnished, bright, very clean and the bed was enormous. the en suite bathroom was large with plenty of room to move about in with nice white towels and a powerful shower over the bath. First impression of the hotel was not the best as check in is at the bar which was busy with TVs and fruit machines. However, the member of staff on duty was very pleasant and welcoming. Meals, including breakfast, are also served in the bar area which means again that you are sitting among the TVs etc. Accommodation and service are good and the food was fine. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh4lag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was on a part business part holiday trip this was a real find. Parking was rather tight but Ok.
The room was top quality and newly furnished, even down to luxury towelling bathrobes. The bar was lively and well patronised, we stayed on a Friday night and only stayed for one drink but that was not down to anything other than we wanted to explore the town. The menu looked good, but again we wished to eat alternative food from the menu offered. Breakfast was good if rather convoluted having to picking 5 items from a list for your cooked choice, that said staff where very friendly and I can highly recommend staying, whether for business or a golfing trip which I intend to do next time. Great place to base yourselves if playing golf in a small group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

With it's perfect location, for golfers, it's fresh and clean rooms and it's friendly personal I ready can recommend this hotel. Okey it's not luxury but Its a absolutely perfect long-weekend hotel for serious golfers. I surely will book a room at the 19th next time I'll play at Carnoustie.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had never been to Carnoustie, but decided to stop overnight on the way back home from Peterhead. As we wouldn't arrive at the hotel until about 8pm, this was an excellent choice for us - we were able to check in, drop our bags off in the room and come downstairs to a nice pub atmosphere for a meal. Having said that, I would say the food was of restaurant quality rather than 'pub food'. My husband had fajitas and I had fish and chips, both of which were excellent and very generous sized portions. The bar/reception staff are very welcoming and efficient. There only seemed to be 4 bedrooms but ours was very nice - it was spotlessly clean and had everything we might need including a very well stocked mini bar and lovely fluffy dressing gown and slippers. The only downside is that the rooms are above the pub so if you go to bed before the bar closes you will hear a wee bit of noise, but as soon as the bar closed, it was very quiet. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the beach so it was nice to get up in the morning, have breakfast and go for a walk. We will definitely go back to Carnoustie for an overnight again and hopefully we'll be able to get a room in the 19th Hole again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed as part of our trip round most of Scotland.Initial impressions werent great as this is a posh pub more than a hotel.Situated in a side street it has no real views from either the bar or the rooms to the beautiful Carnoustie countryside.Rooms were not the biggest and it was a bit of a hike getting our luggage through the bar and many doors to the room.All staff were cheerful and helpful and the band (on the Saturday night) were good without being the Bee Gees.Place was spotless (if a little souless) and food was good without being Michelin.Maybe we were expecting too much because of where we had been before/since.Somewhere to stop rather than somewhere to go.

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same...dont carry in too much luggage though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a great night on our first night watching Scotland game and food was excellent, Staff were very friendly. Howver, on returning on the second evening at 7.30pm on asking for menus we were advised that they would need to check with the chef and we were then told that they were too busy. No way to encourage customers to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carnoustie
0.2 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
0.4 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
131 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Dundee Woodlands Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
17.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
288 reviews
6.7 mi away
Fisherman's Tavern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 19th Hole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 19th Hole Hotel

Property: 19th Hole Hotel
Address: 8 Ferrier Street, Carnoustie DD7 7HT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Carnoustie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 19th Hole Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
19th Hole Hotel is centrally located within the famous golfing town of Carnoustie. All accomodation is luxurious in style and is sure to exceed the expectations of even the most discerning traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your 19th Hole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
19th Hole Hotel Carnoustie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing