We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Linksview Guest House Carnoustie
Ranked #2 of 8 Carnoustie B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Our family in the USA had recommended Linksview as had previously stayed when visiting Carnoustie and it was as great as they had told us. Nothing is too much trouble for Phil and June and they have thought of everything for golfers such as room for clubs and wet shoes at the end of a long day on the famous links courses
A great view across the 18th from the house but Room 1 has a view to die for (on a dry day!!)-could have sat there all day.
The house has only been recently refurbished to a high standard with great showers and large bottles of toiletries which we had never been given before and so much nicer than the small bottles usually offered.
We all enjoyed excellent breakfasts as good as any luxury hotel we have stayed in - and enough to keep a golfer happy for the rest of the day.
We were not golfing but visiting family and touring so can say without doubt that this a great place to stay for non golfers also with great walks across the course to the sea as well as all the local tourist spots- we look forward to returning.
Naomi Tom & Paul

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

My son, Cameron, and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay with June and Phil. After setting their ' longest stay record' of thirteen days, it was very, very hard to leave the guest house. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay; the warm hospitality, the touring knowledge of the area by Phil, and the combined cooking efforts from both June and Phil were acceptional. This lodging location is a golfer's paradise overlooking the 18th fairway of the Carnoustie Championship course, and in full view of the world's most difficult hole in the world, the Par 3 16th, The Barry Burn. For those who love music and the pipe organ, everyday you can listen to the wind create beautiful, melodic Fence Post Pipe Organ Music. The Scotts taught me more than I can ever imagine- to love and laugh often. I highly recommend a visit; I will be back.

Room Tip: Communicate with Phil about your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Located in a privilege site, just in front of Carnoustie's 18 hole.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This place was recommended to us by the starter at the golf course (across the street) and we were so glad to have had such luck. June and Phil, the owners, accommodated us with less that 5 minutes warning and we couldn't have been more pleased. Room was spotless and very modern (although the house itself is an original, it has been very thoroughly renovated inside). The breakfast was excellent and once again, Phil and June were there to make sure that we had everything we needed. This really is the best place to stay in Carnoustie, especialy if you are there to golf. You can walk to the first tee, and home again after golfing without even changing your shoes.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller98735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linksview, Owner at Linksview Guest House Carnoustie, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear Susan and Bryan. What an enjoyable surprise to receive a review from you and that you really enjoyed your stay and appreciated our hospitality as well as the location and facilities.. Pleased too that you decided to stay a further day with us. We hope your sojourn to Dunbar and beyond was enjoyable and that you have a great time if you decide to visit Ireland. Many thanks. Phil and June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We would thorougly recommend Linksview for cyclists, having stayed there during our cycling tour of Fife, Angus and Perthshire. We received a very warm welcome from Phil and June and our bikes were well looked after, securely locked away overnight. There is also a store for cycling helmets/golf clubs etc to save them cluttering bedrooms and drying facilities should you be unlucky and meet a shower or two of rain. Linksview is right on national cycle route no. 1 so is ideally located. Phil himself has now become a cyclist - happy cycling!. Our room was fantastic, very well equipped (great hairdryer), with a really comfy bed which was much appreciated after a hard day's cycle. The hearty breakfast selection set us up for the next day's cycle. We would highly recommend this area for cycling as the coastal route from Dundee is extremely flat right up to Arbroath, then rolling countryside to Montrose and suits cyclists of all abilities. There is also plenty to see and do in the area with a few National Trust properties dotted around inland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil and Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Travelled solo from USA. Service by Phil and June was warm, friendly and courteous - second to none, and better than any 5 star hotel I've stayed in. Room was impeccable, very comfortable and spacious. Bath en-suite was upscale, extremely well appointed including bathtub, glass enclosed shower, and luxurious 100% cotton towels. Breakfast was full Scottish and excellent each morning. Met and chatted with visitors from Sweden and Spain at breakfast. Charming B&B.

A short walk across the street (about 100 yards) to Carnoustie Championship and Buddon Links courses. Down the street (about 100 yards) to the Burnside Links course. Scenery is spectacular, especially when sun sets in west and moon rises in east over the Carnoustie clubhouse and nearby beaches. If you're a golfer who knows top courses and history of the game, this is about as good as it gets.

Wireless internet worked better in some parts of the house than others; Phil is working to improve that very minor item. 10 minute walk to train and town with shops and restaurants. Most restaurants close early in Carnoustie, so plan your day and evening meals with this knowledge. After arriving by train in the evening my first day, Phil made sure I got dinner before the kitchen closed at The Station Hotel pub, where I had a very good meal.

Really liked the close proximity to the courses and relaxing, comfortable room best; the early restaurant closings the least. Will definitely stay here again when I return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I were in London in business over from the States and were able to fly up to Dundee and then stay at LinksView to visit my Uncle nearby in Carnoustie. The LinksView has very good accommodations, great breakfast but most important Phil and June were helpful before and during this family trip. We highly recommend this B&B if you are in Carnoustie, whether for golf, family, or travel. We have been there twice, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulfromMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carnoustie hotels
0.1 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
0.3 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#1 of 8 in Carnoustie
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
19th Hole Hotel
19th Hole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carnoustie
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kinloch Arms Hotel
Kinloch Arms Hotel
#7 of 8 in Carnoustie
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linksview Guest House Carnoustie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linksview Guest House Carnoustie

Address: 16 Links Parade, Carnoustie DD7 7JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Carnoustie
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carnoustie
Price Range: $108 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linksview Guest House Carnoustie 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GOLF PACKAGES available. Linksview B&B has a fantastic peaceful location adjacent to the 18th fairway of Carnoustie championship golf course. This B&B has stylish en-suite rooms that can be configured as two single beds (twin) or with one superkingsize double bed. Deluxe quality accommodation with modern en-suite facilities.Golf equipment storage facilities. Golf trolley hire. Secure under cover cycle storage.Free WiFi. 100% Cotton towels and linen. Hospitality trays. Hairdryer. Complimentary toiletries. Flat screen TV/Radio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Linksview Guest House Carnoustie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linksview Guest House Carnoustie Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing