We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganges

Ganges
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Carnoustie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crazy Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We relied upon TA reviews to get us in the door, and we were NOT disappointed! Delicious food, wonderfully prepared, and delightfully served, and that was to 'take away.' We were in Carnoustie for three weeks with two of our grandsons, and we all enjoyed the "Gang Gus" ('This is the best Indian food I've every had!') for three dinners...BTW, our portions were so large that our meals lasted for left-over dinners and a lunch each time. Wait. What. That means nearly half our meals were from the "Gang Gus?" Seems like it, anyway. Great staff, very personable and enjoying what they're busy with each time we visited.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimFitz210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    91
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Indian Cuisine in Tayside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Excellent service, lovely surroundings and fantastic food....what more could you want?! Have eaten here, and had take-out food, on many occasions...consistantly lovely.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Went to the Ganges to celebrate my mother taking part in the Commonwealth Games - restaurant was beautifully set out and the staff very friendly and attentive.
Choices of food were excellent if a little on the expensive side, however that was forgotten when the food arrived! Great portion sizes and a taste sensation - brilliant!
Would highly recommend and hope that I'm back in Carnoustie soon just so I can go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Indian Meal ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Went to this restaurant twice when in Carnoustie for the Commonwealth games, more expensive than Indian Resturants I visit at home but the quality of food ten times better, staff were attentive, on hand to offer advice on the menu, dishes bursting with flavor and portions huge, you must visit when in the area

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great food beautifully presented. Staff knowledgable about dishes and gave good recommendations. Not the cheapest, but worth it!

Helpful?
Thank Shona2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganges also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing