We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must visit in Carnoustie”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganges

Ganges
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Carnoustie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A must visit in Carnoustie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Tried this restaurant on the second night of our stay in Carnoustie. The restaurant was fairly quiet given that it was a Monday night and off peak season. The service in the restaurant was very friendly and the service was quick. The restaurants itself is very nice...warm and inviting. The food definitely spoke for itself. Our starters of prawn puri and chicken pakora were delicious and you could definitely tell the food had been cooked fresh. The lamb in my main course was delicious, it was so soft I didn't even need to use a knife to cut it! The whole bill came to £45 which I feel was extremely reasonable especially for the quality of food and the size of the portions. That would probably be my one minor grip, that the portions were far too big. One of our curries could have easily been served between 3!! Although it was very nice of the staff to allow us to take the rest away as a takeaway.
I would definitely return to this restaurant if I returned to Carnoustie and would recommend it to anyone who was visiting the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    91
    19
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious by any standard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

On a wild and windy Sunday evening in February, we decided to take a punt on Carnoustie's No1 restaurant according to Trip Advisor reviews. The restaurant had been packed on the previous evening but was very quiet as we were shown to our table. Our nerves were eased slightly by a couple who were just leaving - they assured us that the food was terrific.
We relaxed, took in the beautiful decor and hoped for the best. The pakora starters, with three accompanying sauces and salad, were faultless. The waiter helped us chose our main courses; for me, chicken biryani with patia (sweet & sour) sauce, my wife chose Chamak Chalo, a house special. We shared a Peshwari nan. We are pleasantly surprised. I don't say this lightly - this is the best Indian food we have enjoyed in many years, perhaps,the best ever. Well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at seven thirty but didn't get main course till nine!!! No one came near us to say there was a delay. Nan bread came out half way through main course. Food lovely but service shocking. Doubt will be back! Staff more interested in large table full of women! Saturday 9th February. My brother in law paid and hope he did not leave a tip!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doc9999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Absolutely love this restaurant! Visited a couple of times for a sit in meal and it's fantastic, best indian food I have tasted. The staff are really friendly and service is always speedy. Often order for takeaway, Meal E: 2 curries, 2 rice, a massive naan bread, pappadums, vegetable pakora and 3 sauces to go with it..all for £16, fantastic value for money! Highly recommend for sit in or takeaway.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayslynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Lovely restaurant, great food. Staff really friendl, always make you feel very welcome. . Great value for money .

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganges also viewed

 
Dundee, Scotland
Carnoustie, Angus
 

Been to Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing