We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well catered for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Nights Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Nights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 25 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
1 review
“Well catered for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

A very welcoming and hospitable stay.
Very friendly and accommodating - more like hotel.
Would certainly recommend this beautifully situated guest house
Breakfasts were delicious!

  • Liked — beautiful room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KevinHSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    35
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
60
179
37
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chihuahua, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

If you would like to spend time in Arbroath, Angus, Scotland we highly recommend you stay at the Harbour Nights Bed and Breakfast. The location is perfect as it is right across from the harbour and very close to the center of town. We spent three weeks at the Harbour Nights and the service was excellent. The rooms were impeccable and the breakfasts are all one would want. There is a little snack shop next door which has the best soup and sandwich makings, belonging to the owners of the B&B. You could not ask for any friendlier and more helpful hosts. Sheila and Kristy - Chihuahua, Mexico.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — I liked everything about them.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kalc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2008

We initially felt a bit uncomfortable here - we were welcomed by the cleaner and didn't see the owners until breakfast the following day. We have stayed in many guest houses and were a bit taken a back by the lack of warmth/hospitality from the owners. At times we felt we were perhaps impinjing on their lifestyle. We then read their literature which describes their establishment as a mix between a guest house and a hotel. Once we read this, we understood their approach is different to other guest houses we stayed in. You don't get the welcome or front of house people skills like other top rated guest houses, but you do get many positives:

-The location is great
-Our room was fantastic with wonderful views
-The room was clean

Our room also had an en-suite which was perfectly acceptable (towels could have been a bit bigger) and the bed was wonderfully comfortable and large. There's also a huge flat screen TV for those rainy nights!

During the stay we did have more and more interaction with the owners and they're actually quite a nice couple. Jim does a fine job with the breakfasts and Sunita gave us some interesting history of the town on our final day.

Overall we had a good experience here and if you want to stay in Arbroath this is a good choice.

  • Liked — Room plus location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChestertonBorrowed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbournights, Owner/Manager at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this review, September 24, 2008
Thank you for your kind words, yes the Guest House is run like a small private Hotel where the owners have their own separate accommodation on the premises, you were greeted by Christine our “House Keeper” As a rule we do generally meet & greet our Guests on average 15-1800 guests a year but occasionally there may be the odd few that may be greeted by the Housekeeper and personally shown to their room.

There is a large notice in all the rooms that states Bath Sheets & Night Gowns are available on request.

Why you felt you were impinging on us sounds a little disparaging as you were sharing a house that was full of guests 5 rooms in total and as stated earlier we have our own accommodation. I am pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of the room and the spectacular views over the Harbour/Marina and the North Sea all the way to the Bell Rock Lighthouse. I am pleased that the 42” Plasma TV was given the thumbs up from you.

It is also pleasing that you eventually warmed round to us as being a nice couple when we indeed found you both to be. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hopefully we can arrange a brass band or similar to meet and greet you personally. By the way, my name is Bill it was I who prepared and served breakfast to you both on the 3 mornings of your stay; sorry I do not know a Jim?

Bill & Sunita Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2008

On arrvival to the B&B found it very nice and the location was great. The owner described in previous reviews was not the way I found him. When I made comment that the shower room was not en suite and said I wasn't happy about this he became very aggressive and basically it seems he is a nice manager until you have a problem. I merely pointed out that it wasn't obvious from his website that an en suite shower wasnt in all the rooms. From here onwards he seemed to have a problem with my family and although the location and rooms are nice the manager isnt. I have noticed in a few other reviews this has came up before, so if you need to complain, beware.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The way it is run
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scot2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harbournights, manager at Harbour Nights Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2008
the only defence I can offer to this anonymous reveiw is that it is simply untrue our website
clearly states wich rooms are ensuite and
wich are not , We are in the hospitality buisness because we enjoy it it is not a job to
us it is indeed a way of life I would like point out that we have maintained our 4star rating
for over five years now and had in excess of
52 positive reveiws on tripadvisor + countless
letters of appreciation and that we were
nominated in 2006 for best customer care by visit scotland Bill Adam "manager"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

From Sheena Thomson, Serafi Malo and Gordon Thomson

We booked two rooms for a one night stay in Arbroath, the town I had grown up in 70 to 80 years ago and had left in 1946. I had picked out the Guest House from a "Hotels in Arbroath" web-site because of its location overlooking the harbour and booked two standard rooms.
When we arrived we were told that we had been upgraded to superior rooms and when we were shown them we were delighted , first with the magnificent grandstand view across the harbour and second, by the quality and gracious style of the furnishings, even to a pair of binoculars hanging beside the window to better enjoy the view! Both rooms were equipped with very modern large flat screen TVs. The beds were King size or bigger and comfortable.
We found Bill and Sunita very helpful with advice on suitable eating places. Breakfast the following morning was fully up to the standard we now expected!
Our experience at Harbour Nights was a wonderful surprise to us and contributed significantly to our overall enjoyment of our all-too-brief stay in Arbroath

Gordon Thomson.
e-mail;- gordon.thomson20a@btinternet.com

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank ScruffSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

Another good stay in room 3 overlooking the marina with good views of the waves breaking over the harbour wall. Bill produces appetising Scottish breakfasts, I wish my porridge at home was as creamy. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — The enormous bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Suzie_G07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2008

We have just returned from a three night stay at Harbour Nights. We were greeted in Arborath by beautiful sunshine. The guest house was very easy to find, it sits on the Harbour front, there is ample parking.

On our arrival we were shown into the guest house and up stairs to our bedroom, our host was lovely and very welcoming. Our bedroom was a large size, well equipped for guests, the bed was extremely comfortable, bedding immaculate and a great night sleep was had by both.

The en suite toilet was very clean, and shower room across the landing was very large and immaculate.

There was a request form for breakfast which worked very well, we were to request our breakfast and time on the previous night. There was a large selection and of course the Arborath Smokie to choose from, service from Bill, the owner, was very friendly.

The village of Abroath is worth a look and is easy access for the rest of the country. We had left our camera in the car overnight and not realised this until this morning. If we had left this in our home area the car would have been broken into for sure.

We will definately return.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bairnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
0.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
6.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
6.6 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Glenesk Hotel
Glenesk Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
5.9 mi away
Seaview Guest House
Seaview Guest House
#3 of 3 in Carnoustie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 25 in Arbroath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Nights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Nights Guest House

Property: Harbour Nights Guest House
Address: 4 Shore, Arbroath DD11 1PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Nights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are The ONLY 4 star Guest House/Bed & Breakfast, situated directly on Arbroath's Harbour/Marina,(unlike some other establishments who project photographs of the Harbour)We have spectacular Sea Views,and certainly the best location in Arbroath. Ample free parking. A few minutes walk from Train & Bus Station. A couple of minutes walk to a some of Arbroath's best restaurants. We offer a choice breakfast menu and use only the best local produce. All our rooms are either en-suite or have private bathrooms. A few minuites walk from scenic Cliff Walk, Arbroath Abbey and the Bell Rock Museum, We are 10 mins from Carnoustie Golf and many other golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Nights Guest House Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing