We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best breakfast ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Nights Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“best breakfast ever!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

just back from a two night stay at the harbour nights,can't wait to go back again.run by bill and sunita,great hosts who give you great information on restaurants,pubs,local walks and anything you need to know about the area.spotlessly clean,peacefull,and the best breakfast i've ever had in a bed and breakfast.right on the harbour,local to restaurants,pubs and cafes.can't believe we never found it before.couldn't go anywhere else in arbroath now!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    36
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
63
182
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Alison, my wife and I have honeymooned there and have anniversaried there every summer and come on other occasions such as Alison's birthday or any other opportunity.

Bill and Sunita are Harbour Knights, heroes of the epitome of everything that's good about Scottish hospitality. They provide not only a guesthouse but an experience that is so utterly charming especially for those who love coasts, the scent of the sea and the fragrance of its vat- smoked harvest.

In the 'wee toon' that encapsulates the old Scotland, its history, creed, native industry of boat building, fishing and delightful home-crafted artistry, Bill & Sunita can provide for the guest a room with a view whose furniture and decor fragrant of the orient, is indicative of a world travelled mariner's tale. Binoculars too are provided!, where one commands a central view of or from the harbour where on a clear day or 'harbour night' one can view that wonder of that world, the monument of faith, the Bell Rock Lighthouse.

In the place where King Robert the Bruce drafted out his Declaration of Independence, the document that was to be come a template for many freedom movements world-wide such as the Constitutional Convention of USA, Bill & Sunita serve up coothy generous breakfasts of the famous Arbroath smokies with genuine orange-eyed free range eggs, as well as other choices such as good Scottish porridge and more so plenteous for one to start the day exploring, Arbroath, the wee bastion of heritage.

Bill, himself, a native of the area, and ex life boatman, an amiable host, is conversant with wealth of local information, present and past, whose homely approach leaves us feeling when its time to leave, when we might 'come home again'.

Here's a line or two to express our gratitude to Bill, Sunita and Cameron

'Frae Harbour Nights' from Peter

Through windy autumn, slush, or snow,
through spring’s great thaw, tae summer glow,
a vision caws frae auld Arbroath,
frae Harbour Nights,

Doon by the quay, tae raise yer heart,
ye’ll rise tae spier a maize o’ masts,
and by yon pier; yer cares tae cast,
frae Harbour Nights,

And celebrate the ancient soul,
frae whence oor nation’s brave and bold
true declaration, dared uphold,
frae Harbour Nights,

Where brainhearts post wi’ stickin’ stamps,
and blazin’ mowers trim the grass,
while bakin’ smokies fill the vat,
frae Harbour Nights,

Where Bellrock’s beacons turn frae sea,
tae tell o’ Stevenson, wha’d leave
reflecting beams, twa hunner years,
frae Harbour Nights,

Where crafts-folk carve their trinkets well,
where cafes mak’ fine drinks tae sell,
while hardy Swankies skiff the swell,
frae Harbour Nights,

So lift yer een tae that wee toon,
where fillin’ feasts and crack aboond,
wi’ Bill, Sunita, and their loon,
frae Harbour Nights.

From Alison

There are some things indeed in life
You know that are the best
So come and de stress from the strife
And be a welcome guest
At Harbour Nights in Arbroath toon
There’s more than just the view
There’s peace and quiet comfort
And a welcome just for you.


We pray prosperity over 'ye aw'. X Peter & Alison MacNeil

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stampmower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

First class B & B. Spotlessly clean. Room was so welcoming, decor lovely and overall the whole Guest House had a touch of class. Bill & Sunita were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was amazing. Best B & B we have ever stayed in and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glebeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed at Harbour Nights guest house with my daughter for 4 nights. The owners, Bill and Sunita, greeted us in a very warm and welcoming manner. The Guest House has a very cosy and calming atmosphere and I immediately felt comfortable. I can still feel it now, getting up in the morning to a lovely cooked breakfast and a warm smile from Bill and Sunita. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and their furnishings are to a very high standard. They are extremely clean and have everything in them you could want. The scene outside the Guest House is amazing: with the colourful boats in the harbour, being rocked by the sea waves lapping against them; and then the sea stretching out as far as the eye can see!!! A short car journey and you are up in the highlands and experiencing breathtaking scenery. Anyone who visits Arbroath should stay here and they will love it. I did and you won't regret it. It will be a fantastic memory to have for a long time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy2302004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Thanks for the 3 beautyful days around Arbroath - we enjoyes the breakfasts ( and were so pleased about the breakfast for the 4 o'clock leaving you provided: especcilly the grapefruit slices!!!), found new interessting places due to the recommondations ( although it was our 5th stay in the area) ...

Room Tip: we can for sure recommand no 3 ( or 2 ) - very big and with a nice harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel / Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stood for two nights at Harbour Nights. I had a lovely room with view on the sea (binoculars ready for use). This house is in an excellent condtion, spotlessly clean and well organised. The breakfast orders are submitted by form the evening before. So, the 1st class breakfast is served on the minute when you are having a seat in the breakfast room. The stay is worth the relatively high price for a B&B. Be careful. The modern shower provides very hot water. Try before entering the shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAETZLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We had a lovely stay at the Harbour Nights and would recommend it without question. The hosts we friendly and genuine. Easy to find due to the road signs and superb location on the harbour. No airs and graces, but superbly decorated rooms and a top breakfast. Try the house speciality French toast for a different breakfast option! If you prefer your eggs "on toast", let them know as you sit down. Whilst this may seem obvious to you, it's always good to account for regional differences.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldiverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
6.6 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
128 reviews
6.5 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
11.8 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Apex City Quay Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#14 of 22 in Arbroath
36 reviews
2.3 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#5 of 22 in Arbroath
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Nights Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Nights Guest House

Property: Harbour Nights Guest House
Address: 4 Shore, Arbroath DD11 1PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour Nights Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are The ONLY 4 star Guest House/Bed & Breakfast, situated directly on Arbroath's Harbour/Marina,(unlike some other establishments who project photographs of the Harbour)We have spectacular Sea Views,and certainly the best location in Arbroath. Ample free parking. A few minutes walk from Train & Bus Station. A couple of minutes walk to a some of Arbroath's best restaurants. We offer a choice breakfast menu and use only the best local produce. All our rooms are either en-suite or have private bathrooms. A few minuites walk from scenic Cliff Walk, Arbroath Abbey and the Bell Rock Museum, We are 10 mins from Carnoustie Golf and many other golf courses. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbour Nights Guest House Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing