We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Arbroath Smokies”
Review of The Old Brewhouse

The Old Brewhouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Brewhouse
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Try the Arbroath Smokies”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

For over 12 years, at the end of August, we head to Arbroath for a family reunion and each year we end up at The Old Brewhouse. There isn't a great deal of choice of eateries in the town especially not at the time we need to eat. Couldn't fault the food or the service. Today I had the Arbroath Smokie and it didn't disappoint. But the place is beginning to look a bit drab. A pity really because for pub food it's pretty good and the location is smashing. Why only two outdoor tables on a beautiful sunny afternoon? Didn't look very inviting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suziedaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
loughborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights, 11th & 12th August, and wished it could have been for a week at least. Everything was just perfect, the Bellrock Room has wonderful views on one side all the way out to the Bellrock Lighthouse on one side and over the Harbour on the other, is a generous size, beautifully furnished and with "decent" sized power shower. The host's, and all staff members were extremely polite, friendly and helpful.
We did not get the opportunity to dine in the evenings due to other prior commitments but the breakfast's are to die for, a truly FULL SCOTTISH SERVING and Meg's homemade marmalade is the best I have ever tasted.
Have experienced "other" so called Star Rated Hotels in Arbroath on previous visits but this leaves them all standing. Yes it is small but it is also SO PERFECTLY FORMED.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realistlboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Haven't been to the Old Brewhouse for a few years. Went yesterday with my husband for lunch, the decor has changed since our last visit, a bit drab in comparison but still clean and tidy.
My husband had the Deep Fried Fish and Chips which tasted very good, I went for the Stuffed Mushroom with garlic dip and the Warm Chocolate Cake which was amazing. A very pleasant way to spend a few hours. Lunch for 2 was £32. Would recommend the Old Brewhouse if your in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a table in the vey small restaurant at the back of the hotel, this gives you a view of Dange...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rivaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of June, as a treat after a stressful weekend in Dundee. We had the Bellrock room with a great view over the sea and the harbour. All very comfortable, clean and great wifi connection. Breakfast in the morning was my first encounter with an Arbroath Smokie and I really enjoyed it. We had coffee outside in fornt of the htole before retunring home.
the staff are friendly and helpful (rescuing our Kindles which I left on the car bonnet errhm, Thank you,

Room Tip: Make your own decision, all rooms are unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieO060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonhill, Scotland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights for the Angus Accordion & Fiddle Festival weekend & were extremely happy with the quality of room furnishings. The bed was very comfortable and the view over the harbour was fabulous. The bathroom had a large shower cubicle with a powerful shower and good quality toiletries.

The choice at breakfast was extensive and extremely high quality with service second to none as we're the evening meals. This is the third place we've stayed in Arbroath & we loved it so much we've booked again for next year.

We'd have no hesitation in recommending the Old Brewhouse for a stay in Arbroath. The central location with great views is an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
0.2 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
6.7 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.6 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#14 of 22 in Arbroath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#4 of 22 in Arbroath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Brewhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Brewhouse

Property: The Old Brewhouse
Address: 1 High Street, Arbroath DD11 1BH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Arbroath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old Brewhouse Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing