We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of Musselcrag B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arbroath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Musselcrag B&B
Ranked #12 of 22 Arbroath B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Musselcrag whilst visiting family nearby and could not have asked for more. The room was warm and very comfortable with many extra's to rival 4* hotels - soft dressing gowns, slippers, fresh fruit, etc. The breakfast spread was fantastic. Stay here and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank judegc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Musselcrag B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

While gales lashed the coast outside we enjoyed a warm welcome and comfortable rest in this cosy B&B. Elaine and David are friendly, generous hosts who do everything to ensure your stay is a good one, without ever being intrusive.
It's the ideal place to stay if you're saying at the wonderful But n Ben restaurant, just 5 minutes walk down the road.
Will definitely return next time in the area, when hopefully the weather will be a bit better!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank NellySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Came across this wonderful place after booking dinner locally, Dave and Elaine looked after us well, made us welcome from our arrival late after a very long drive, the room was warm, clean and comfortable with added niceties of a soft snugly dressing gown and slippers, plenty of tea/coffee and biscuits. After a long walk to Arbroath and back we were welcomed with a hot bowl of soup to warm us. This was our first visit to this area we will most definitely book again on our return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Wanting a perfect end to our holiday in Scotland, we had the good fortune to happen on Musselcrag. What a find!

Elaine and David are generous hosts and could not do enough for us, and all in an understated way. The room we chose was stocked with all kinds of luxuries and treats and had a fabulous view of the coast and Bell Rock lighthouse, binoculars provided! Our hosts even organised a superb sunrise as a counterpoint to the blustery evening.

Our only regret is that we could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a super sunrise view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We could not get anywhere to stay in Arbroath the night we wanted and booked the Musselcrag. We are really glad we came across it despite not having a car there is a bus drops you at the door every couple of hours. David and Elaine are fantastic host's even put a single bed into our room so that three could share. They have so much extras Dressing Gown's, Slipper's, Fresh Milk. Fruit, Biscuit's and Tea and Coffee. The Breakfast was amazing far to much choice and fresh eggs from there own chicken's. Only thing that spoilt it was the weather. We would def go back if we were down that way again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank scotbabe56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Dave and Elaine were fine hosts and couldn't do enough to help. The house is a cosy home and the room provided was full of extras like fresh milk, dressing gowns and slippers and a formidable array of beverage and biscuit options. A hearty breakfast was part of the very reasonable price and the B&B's location is close to fantastic coastline, beaches and the pretty little village of Auchmithie. We plan to return in order to try its highly regarded But 'n Ben restaurant, which was fully booked when we chanced our hand for a lunchtime table.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank philby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

As a B&B should be, a couple of rooms in a family home with a warm welcome, a well appointed room and an excellent breakfast - and at a reasonable £65 a night for 2. We stayed two nights and wish we had booked in for longer. There's a lot to see and do in the area and David gave us some useful pointers - the 'Blue Door' walk near Edzell is particularly memorable - we saw salmon leaping for the first time. The nearby 'But & Ben' restaurant is also excellent - but you need to book.

Room Tip: Two to choose from - Bedroom 1 is on the 'open side' of the end of terrace cottage and may b...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Tranbylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Arbroath hotels
0.0 mi away
Blairdene Guest House
Blairdene Guest House
#13 of 22 in Arbroath
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
#2 of 2 in Inverkeilor
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brucefield Boutique B & B
Brucefield Boutique B & B
#1 of 22 in Arbroath
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Willowbank House B&B
Willowbank House B&B
#5 of 22 in Arbroath
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
0.0 mi away
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
Kescoweth Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Inverkeilor
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musselcrag B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musselcrag B&B

Address: Office Farm Cottage | Auchmithie Mains, Arbroath DD11 5SF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Arbroath
Price Range: $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Musselcrag is a small friendly family run guesthouse, Built well over 100 years ago a farm cottage style house with lovely countryside & sea views from both rooms. We have 2 double rooms which have full on suite facilities and are tastefully decorated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Musselcrag B&B Arbroath, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing