We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Town House Hotel Arbroath
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arbroath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Husband and I stayed fri and sat. A great weekend with polite staff, good food and very comfortable rooms. Breakfast okay, nothing amazing but nothing wrong either.

Great place to stay and very central for a boozy weekend.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenmoy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on business last mid week. This hotel has everything that I require whilst on working trip, free wi-fi, fast service, good breakfast, sky HD and it couldn't be more central.
Bedrooms are not the biggest but are well decorated and very clean.
I would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theblondeboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Visited here for a meal with 6 friends last night, we had booked a table and glad that we did as it was very busy when we arrived at 1800 hours. Greeted by friendly staff and shown to our table. We found the service to be quick and efficient. Food good and nicely presented. A good time had by us all with a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenerifegirlatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the second year we have stayed at Ogstons for the Angus Accordion & Fiddle Festival. As previous reviewers have said, the reception area is in the bar which you have to walk through to reach the stairs or lift for the rooms. Our room was very well presented but could do with coat hooks for wet jackets and a bit of shelving in the bathroom along with a coat hook for a dressing gown. Other than this, the amenities were everything you would hope to have from a mid-range establishment.

The towels, which were very fluffy and absorbant were changed each day as was the soap for some reason, which seemed a bit of a waste. The bed was very comfortable, but we did have a problem with stubbing toes or banging shins on the corners of the bedframe. We ended up moving the waste basket to one corner and the portable heater to the other to prevent this, and every day the cleaner moved them back!!

Breakfast was very nice but there was always a shortgage of fresh fruit other than whole oranges or apples, which are not the easiest to cut with a blunt knife.

We had evening meals twice in the hotel and the quality and price was very good.

We will be back staying here again next year, which is a pretty good endorsement of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rush2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Friendly staff and a very well cooked veggie breakfast (I would recommend a frozen pack of Cauldron sausages for the occasional awkward veggie guest like us) made up for a very warm, fairly dear and dinky room. A great business which would be even better with a packet of veggie sausages and about 20 quid off the cost of an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We_are_Ali_and_Malky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

From it's website (and price - £90 per night) this place seems to market itself as a boutique hotel. In reality it's just some rooms above a pub and didn't really feel like a hotel at all. People should be aware before they book that reception is literally the bar where drinks are served and you need to walk through the pub whenever you want to go to your room. There was no phone in the room so if you needed to contact staff about anything you'd need to go downstairs to the pub and queue at the bar. On the plus side the rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff were friendly and helpful. On the downside, there was a problem with the water pressure and the shower kept stopping and starting. We didn't enjoy breakfast at all - yes it was plentiful but if a fry up swimming in grease isn't to your taste the choices are pretty limited. I was looking forward to the 'selection of fresh fruit' advertised on the menu but this turned out to be a fruit bowl with one banana, two tired looking apples, a few satsumas and some supermarket grapes still in their packet (so we assumed not washed). After we practically cleared out the bowl on the first day only the oranges and grapes were left on the second...
We expected more for the price we paid. I don't know what a B & B in the area costs but I'd probably recommend looking into that first rather than paying for the 'hotel'.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

stayed here last month. Room more than adequate with water, tea / coffee and a really comfortable bed. good menu, i ate chefs own curry and was most impressed and full. great stay thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eckkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arbroath
6.7 mi away
Carnoustie Golf Course Hotel
6.8 mi away
Corner Hotel
Corner Hotel
#2 of 2 in Carnoustie
137 reviews
11.6 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 5 in Montrose
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Links Hotel
Links Hotel
#1 of 5 in Montrose
302 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Brewhouse
The Old Brewhouse
#1 of 3 in Arbroath
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
Balnabrechan Lodge B&B
#2 of 2 in Inverkeilor
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House Hotel Arbroath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Hotel Arbroath

Address: 99 High Street, Arbroath DD11 1DP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Angus > Arbroath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Arbroath
Price Range: $80 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town House Hotel Arbroath 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Arbroath centre, just 30 minutes' drive from Dundee, The Townhouse Hotel offers stylish rooms with free Wi-Fi. There is free on street parking, a restaurant and a lively bar. The spacious rooms at the Townhouse are individually decorated, and each has a private bathroom. All rooms have a Smart TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer. Ironing facilities are also available. The cosy bar offers meals, snacks and a selection of beverages. A traditional full Scottish breakfast is served daily and is included in the room rate. Continental and vegetarian options are also available. Situated in Angus county, this hotel is a 5-minute drive from Arbroath Golf Course. Arbroath Railway Station is just 10 minutes' walk away, offering direct trains to Aberdeen, Dundee and Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Town House Hotel Arbroath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Arbroath Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing