We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect location for a restful & relaxing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of Slains Cottage -Open Fields to the Back
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Slains Cottage -Open Fields to the Back
Lounge - Refurbished August 2012 Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Front of Slains Cottage -Open Fields to the Back
Lounge - Refurbished August 2012
Lounge
Bedroom - One Double and One Single Bed
Bedroom - Refurbished April 2013
Bedroom
Bedroom
Walk In Shower Room - Refurbished October 2014
Back Garden where you can relax and have a glass of wine !
Rockery - Back Garden - There are some beautiful Sunsets looking up to St. James Church
Cruden Bay Golf Club
1st Tee - View to Slains Castle
9th Tee - View to 15th Green and Sandy Beach
View to Ladies Bridge to get to onto the Beach
Cruden Bay Beach
Miles and Miles of Sandy Beach at Cruden Bay
Salmon Fishing Station
Harbour at Cruden Bay
Harbour Boats
Slains Castle
Bullers of Buchan
Seals at Newburgh
Battle of Viking Cruden Boat which took place on the Anniversary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
“A perfect location for a restful & relaxing holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I was impressed with the booking from start to finish. The booking was handled professionally & I was given all the information I needed to plan a wonderful holiday.
The property was really clean & well maintained, with all the amenities you need to enjoy your time at home, although much of my time was spent exploring the surrounding area.
I loved Cruden Bay & would definitely like to come back to Slains Cottage one day!

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2017
Hi Chris, thank you so much for the lovely review, it is very much appreciated. I am very lucky to have Liz and Sheila who look after Slains so well. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nimagarog
Chicagoland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect home for vacation”
Reviewed September 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The home provides everything needed for a base location to holiday in the area. Kitchen with washer and dryer is just what I need.
Cruden Bay Golf Club is a short walk. Parking in front is easy.
The owners support staff are there
to take care of everything. My fourth
stay was Great!

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you Roger, always a delight to have you back. See you next year. Thanks. Shona, Liz n Sheila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
173annema...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfectly located accommodation and a home from home”
Reviewed August 31, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Great location within Cruden Bay with it's beautiful sandy beach a few minutes drive away. Also, fantastic for visiting the surrounding areas of Peterhead and Ellon and loads more further afield. Will most definitely be back!!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Good afternoon Anne Marie. We enjoyed having you at Slains and will be delighted to see you again next year, thanks again for your business, much appreciated. Best regards. Shona and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neilian M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location, and Slains Cottage ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed August 19, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Slains Cottage was a great bolthole for a break in the North East. Well equipped and cosy with a relaxed feel. Just a short walk to the golf course, and what a beach! Beach towels, games, DVDs and books cover all bases, and parking no probs.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thanks for the lovely review, and you are right, we have a fantasric beach. Hope to welcome you again. Best regards. Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“so peaceful”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice quiet cottage in a small town/village. Well kept internally . Near Peterhead/ Farserburgh. If you like golf this is the place for you. But plenty of things to do in the area if golf not your thing

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 16, 2017
Morning Mike
Nice to see you back at Slains and thanks very much for your Review. Hope to see you again in the future. Best regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanmarco...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second visit”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was our 2nd visit to Slains, and was enjoyable as the first. There was my wife and myself plus a friend, and the facilities at Slains Cottage were totally adequate. There is a washing machine and dryer which means you can travel light- someone tell my wife !! A few shops in the village provide basic provisions and there is a large Tesco 10 mins drive away. I played golf 5 times and there are plenty of good courses around. If you do not fancy paying £100 plus for Cruden Bay, try the 9 hole St Olaf course which sits in the middle of the Cruden Bay one. It is really challenging, not short, and cost us £16 for 18 holes - a bargain.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 14, 2017
Hi Stan
It is great to see returning customers, we love it !! Thanks for the Review, much appreciated, and you are right about the St. Olaf Course, it is a tricky course but helps to keep your ball straight. Hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Best regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jzstrang
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
“4 months holiday”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I moved into this cottage and didn't leave for four months. The cottage , area , golf and people a special and I didn't want to leave but even great things have to end. Everything about this place are highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2017
Hi Jim, what a lovely thing to say about our Cottage and Cruden Bay. You are right the place is special and lovely people too. Good luck in your new ventures. Haste y back!! Best regards, Shona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing