We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Christmas Meal”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

In December 2012 my father invited the whole family out for Christmas lunch, this was for fifteen people in a private room, so I gather it must have been quite expensive. Now I don't mind expensive if its good, but to say we could have had a better meal at a service station on the M6 motorway would be an understatement. The vegetables were boiled to within an inch of their lives and the turkey appeared to be some sort of rolled mess, a hotel of this supposed standard should be serving a much better quality meal, maybe they get away with this because its in Peterhead but I can assure them if it was 33 miles down the road in Aberdeen they wouldn't be serving meals like that for very long, If Gordon Ramsey came the the Palace hotel in Peterhead for a meal he would have a fit.

Room Tip: Do not eat here it was awfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter123880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    50
    38
    15
    12
See reviews for
34
36
6
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for a family wedding. The food and service in connection with the wedding were really good, everything else about the hotel was disappointing: Tiny room, badly finnished decor, stained curtains, lack of hot water. The public conveniences next to the bar were in a disgusting state on the Saturday night. On the first morning we had to search for staff in order to be served breakfast. When leaving there was confusion over the bill, although the receptionist was able and willing to resolve matters and the pre-agreed price was paid. I don't see how the Palce Hotel can justify a standard price of £80 per night for something that falls well short of what is expected of "three stars".

Room Tip: There are plenty of good B&Bs in Peterhead
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peterhead hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed at the Palace hotel this wkd for a family wedding and was very disappointed with the rooms. Entrance to hotel, brasserie, hallway and ballroom are lovely but rooms really let the hotel down, not clean along with faulty lights that flicker or don't work and a shower that was stone cold, we did however get our shower with hot water after reporting it but flickering light was left. Also make sure when you are quoted a price you get it writing as we were quoted one price and charged another, we were not the only ones but fortunately the others had there's in writing. However we had a lovely wedding and the staff could not have been more helpful nothing was too much trouble it's just a pity that such a nice looking hotel from the entrance is let down by such poor overpriced rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at the Palace Hotel for a weekend and was very impressed both with the great service and helpful and courteous staff and by the superb food. Room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. Very nice toiletries too! CAn't understand previous reviewer's comments about rooms having a smell of damp as nothing amiss with our room.
There is loud music at weekends but when we went to our room we could not hear any noise at all, and we were on ground floor.
The hotel has ample parking.
Would recommend to other and would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room or a room in close promity to lift if you ahve any mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at The Palace last weekend, whilst in the North-East for business, and were very happy with our short time there.
Although the hotel is a little dated in places, the service that we received was exemplary from arrival to departure.
Our room was clean and comfortable, although reaching it did involve a few journeys up & down different sets of stairs, so if mobility is an issue then I would suggest requesting a room on the ground floor. The downside to this would be if you stayed at a weekend, when there is usually live music in the bar (which is right in the middle of the hotel). Last Friday’s band were in the main tuneful, and it was quite entertaining to sit there in the evening before heading to bed, but make no mistake – they were LOUD !
We ate in the diner, which is directly above the bar and accessed via a spiral metal staircase (although there is access via an elevator along the corridor if required), and the food and service were fantastic – large portions, reasonable prices, and several young staff who seemed to genuinely care if we had a pleasant evening.
Breakfast was very good – eggs and kippers etc. cooked fresh to order, and cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, juice and hot food available as part of the buffet – again, very good service throughout.
I think it is very likely that we will return to The Palace when we next visit the area, and would certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Don't take a ground floor room if you don't like live music !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickersScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Peterhead is not a great place for hotel stays!

The palace is a bit tired in the rooms. My executive room had a howling wind noise from a vent in the wall and two single beds (of different heights) put together as a large double.

A large flat screen TV on the unit (Put it on the wall where you can see it!) and free wifi

The bathroom had a tiny bath with a shower over it, that on all but one shower head fitting was like a slow running tap, not enough water pressure. But it was clean with toileteries provided.

Food here is good and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busyfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at the Peterhead Palace often - for years, but since the Buchan Braes opened I've always stayed there. Peterhead is NOT well endowed with good hotels, and business travellers booking last minute don't have a great choice.
The Peterhead Palace rooms have a smell. It comes away with you on your dirty washing! My wife thinks it smells like damp. Apparently no one else has ever commented on this.
The food is good - but the bedrooms need to be maintained. Overall the impression is that the management just do not care.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel! There are executive rooms - which used to be better - but now they are j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesDeans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.6 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
43 reviews
9.8 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
242 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crawfords Guest House
Crawfords Guest House
#4 of 16 in Peterhead
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: Prince Street, Peterhead AB42 1PL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Hotel Peterhead, Scotland
Palace Hotel Aberdeen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing