We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What are britanannia doing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Britannia Waterside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What are britanannia doing”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Give me a break. Trying even to contact the hotel was a nightmare. Have used it for years but wont again. What are Britannia doing . Cant phone without it costing ten p a minute , cant pay your bill ( in advance) without paying extra for a debit card and even more for a credit card. Just not what I would expect. Really bad . Have to say the staff are super and trying very hard to deal with this dreadful nonsense. Have stayed in Britannia before and sad they will turn this hotel into the others they have . sad....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    85
    111
    94
    115
See reviews for
73
126
15
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you are the sort of person who likes time travel and paying 99 pounds per night for it then this is the hotel for you. Imagine flowery sun bleached curtains contrasting against pale green carpet and you get the picture. Cant say the food was good at all either for breakfast or dinner, I ordered a grilled salmon with potatoes and veg and received a grilled salmon bedded on linguine with no prior warning! Breakfast choice is poor but was fresh, the waitress continually ignored us every morning and all I wanted was a welcome and the offer of some coffee.

Room Tip: Go to the tufted duck or the palace hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cipriani89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peterhead hotels

Ellon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It may seem a strange reason for reviewing a hotel, but the occasion which led to this was a very well attended funeral service for a much respected former Harbour Master. The Waterside Inn was the selected location for the social following the service. Given the very large numbers the catering service was excellent. There was ample space with a large number of well set-out tables and the food provided was of good quality and supply. I wondered how the staff would cope with the numbers but there was no delay in being served. Altogether a good place for such a function. Well done to the management..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spent three pleasant days in the "Lodge"annex whilst touring the area by coach
The room was clean, comfortable with a great shower, clean towels each day along with a freshen-up service from Housekeeping. The TV has a limited amount of channels on Skye.
The Hotel has a Leisure center and pool, and whilst we did not have time to use it(!) it looked great.

We found the food to be of a very high standard, especially dinner, Large portions (if you want it) very well presented and a good choice from the menu. The staff in the dining room were excellent and worked so hard and fast,

My final comment is that either the place has radically changed since some of the other reviews were written or I and many of the others I was with are all easier to please!
Try it and see.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glasg0wJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narangba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was very limited of what was a available but this place is not the greatest by any means. My room is cleanish, the bathroom needs a lot of attention. The whole place is very outdated and needs a refurb.

The saving grace for the place is the food and beer is good. I ate in the Muse Bar on an evening which was showing UCL Football on a bog screen. It seem full of a lot of Oil & Gas Contractors which is ok with me but others might not like so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel is in serious need of modernisation. Rooms are really dated, 4 channels on very old tv. The shower didn't work properly and the furniture was quite shabby. I really would expect more for £85 a night! Glad my company was paying and not me!!
I couldn't fault the staff though, and the food, whilst a bit pricey was quite decent- and the portions were big too.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcraig13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed two nights in mid April and really enjoyed the two days but it was the staff that made it work. Really needs upgrading but it was clean, food was very good and staff very helpful. They were short staffed all the time and worked really hard ...so its really management that needs to sort out the problems.
We booked a meal for 7pm and arrived at 7pm but it was 7.50 before our order was taken. This was because a bus party of 46 had to be served while no service was given to other guests for 35minutes! Our 3 course meal took 2 hrs 15 minutes!!
Having said that the package was £60 per night for dinner bed and breakfast - a real bargain.
Having stayed in hotels all over Europe from 2 star to 5+ star this was very good value for money.
The gaffer tape all over the place used to hold carpets together was ridiculous. If they cannot afford a new carpet then they could take a section of carpet up somewhere - replace it and use the the old carpet to patch the places where they used gaffer tape. I am sure some carpet fitter could do a better job with patches than the gaffer tape does.
I feel sorry for the staff who work really hard despite what they have to work with

Room Tip: I asked for a larger twin room and got a room with a double bed and a single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
3.9 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
170 reviews
1.8 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
9.9 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
246 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Waterside Hotel

Property: Britannia Waterside Hotel
Address: Fraserburgh Road, Peterhead AB42 3BN, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Waterside Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside Hotel is a purpose built hotel situated on the north east coast of Scotland, in one of the major fishing ports - Peterhead. Set in its own widespread gardens on the banks of the estuary of the River Ugie, the hotel offers breathtaking scenery and is conveniently located for Trump International Golf Links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Waterside Hotel Peterhead
Waterside Inn Peterhead
Swallow Waterside Peterhead
Britannia Waterside Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing