We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come on Britannia....Needs some investment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia Waterside Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Come on Britannia....Needs some investment!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I remember staying at this hotel over 20 years ago and it was a wonderful hotel. Stayed here a couple of times in the last 18 months or so. The hotel is OK but getting pretty tired now. Reception is welcoming, clean, friendly reception staff. My room (204) is very dated. It was comfortable and clean but basic and could DEFINITELY do with a makeover. The headboard on the bed looked pretty grotty and there were scuff marks over the walls. The food in the restaurant was very good and tasty. Service for meal was fast but there was only one person on at the bar so there was a bit of a wait to get served. Overall this could be a great hotel if some money was spent on refurbishing. As it stands just now, I would book the hotel again but wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHILBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    80
    104
    88
    112
See reviews for
70
119
14
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Had very cheap 3 night break for £70 each. Biggish room was clean, had tea, kettle, good bathroom and shower and was warm. Could have done with brighter ceiling lighting. Tv had built in dvd which didn't play! Pool and sauna and steam room good and biggish gym area. Had a massage at the underused spa for £15 for half hour!
There's loads of parking but the potholes as you drive in need fixing.
Breakfasts were self serve but was plenty and the 3 course inclusive dinner was delicious and big servings.
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alistair b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Waterside Inn has just been acquired by Britannia hotels and I will be interested to see if any money is put into what I think is a shabby, dingy and dispirited place. I feel sorry for the staff having to work in such a poor environment but I didn't actually see any real effort to put themselves out for you either. It's rather collective indifference served with relish.

My colleague and I were shown to a table in the restaurant, handed a menu and then abandoned for 40 minutes. No offer of any drinks meantime or anything else let alone a bread roll. It was a full hour before we got served with anything. However, I don't feel too bad about this because everyone who arrived around about the same time was treated similarly - we were all ignored.
The food when it came was nicely presented and fresh. They must have a chef who knows what he's doing which is the only plus point.

Once upon a time this may possibly have been a reasonable hotel but those days are long gone. It needs a megabuck injection of money and management to make any difference. I suspect that its main market is the offshore oil workers who may be regarded as captive and who perhaps get used to indifferent service and the pervasive attitude of a run down hotel. The infrastructure is certainly tired and tatty. If there are not too many options in the locality then I guess people who need to may keep coming back and the hotel feels less inclined to make any efforts to do the place up.

When I checked out the lady behind the counter completely ignored me while she dealt with various phone calls and another guest who was involved in a complicated enquiry. Twenty minutes later I got a touch vocal and she actually bothered to address me.

The photograph is representative of unacceptable standards but I could have shot many more, equally depressing but I think you get the idea.

Avoid this hotel, a park bench would be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellandrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Peterhead hotels

Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Having had many a lovely meal at the Waterside we went recently and were very disappointed. We booked a lunch for 1pm, the service was poor despite only 5 tables being occupied, around 12 people in all. The menus still contained the previous day lunch menu, not a good start. It took some time to take orders, to serve courses and to pay the bill at the end.

Two of our party ordered main courses which had chips, on both of them the chips were cold. They had been properly cooked, so must have been sitting out for some time. There was no sign of the waitress (chatting in the kitchen?) and they had finished the rest of their main course before we could attract her attention again, so it was too late to do anything about the cold chips which were left on the plate. She said she would bring it to the chef's attention.

The other main courses were OK.

We didn't bother with dessert and so went to reception to pay the bill. The staff there didn't know which table, whether we had had drinks or not, so it took some time to resolve the bill. We were offered and accepted that they would discount the bill by not paying for one of the main courses.

Overall disappointed and probably won't return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gg13533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here again with work
The place needs a good shake up back to a more modern time period.
Old tired furniture, holes in seats . Tv must be the first colour tv ever made.
The service in the restaurant poor.
The menu hasent changed in years by the looks of it..
Just a shame . I belive its just been taken over by britania from swallow hotels & they will need to spend big .
Seem like alot of places near Aberdeen taking plenty of money from oil trade & not putting back into the hotel.
The hot water was very slow to come through.
The reception staff where good though very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked this hotel for a colleague who needed to stay for two nights. The work took less time than expected and the second night stay was not needed. We were unable to cancel the 2nd night as they said we had booked through an online company, ok fair enough. As the return journey would take 6 hours and obviously he would not be there for breakfast the following morning my colleague asked could they possibly make him a sandwich to take with him. The answer was a resounding no!!

I find this shows a lack of customer service or care for their client. The hotel was dated and shabby and we will not be booking it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatGLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for valentines and stayed for 2 days in room 229, broken socket hidden behind bed,cracked sink,missing tiles in toilet.

Breakfast is a joke its a help yourself so need i say more.

Shorateg of staff to open facilites when i was there,they had to get the guy who was on duty the night before top open it,lack of discipline through out from top to bottom

Room Tip: toilet that small you couldnt swing a cat in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
3.9 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
9.9 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Waterside Hotel

Property: Britannia Waterside Hotel
Address: Fraserburgh Road, Peterhead AB42 3BN, Scotland (Formerly Swallow Waterside Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterside Hotel is a purpose built hotel situated on the north east coast of Scotland, in one of the major fishing ports - Peterhead. Set in its own widespread gardens on the banks of the estuary of the River Ugie, the hotel offers breathtaking scenery and is conveniently located for Trump International Golf Links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Britannia Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Waterside Hotel Peterhead
Waterside Inn Peterhead
Swallow Waterside Peterhead
Britannia Waterside Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing