We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Britannia Waterside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Peterhead(Peterhead)(Great Value!)
$49
Travelodge
View Deal
Palace Hotel(Peterhead)
$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Printworks(Peterhead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
St Olaf Hotel(Peterhead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel(Cruden Bay (Port Erroll))
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
36
100
116
107
124
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
100
116
107
124
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 483 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I stayed here last night.

Imagine the crossroads motel and your pretty well there.

I got checked in, the room was drab with no soap or shampoo, which I got sorted out.

The good points,
The shower was hot with decent water pressure, the food at the restaurant was not bad for a hotel.

The bad points,
to say the towels are threadbare is an understatement. When I visited the bar it took 10 mins for a bar man to turn up, but he wasn't cleaning the bar top because it was covered in beer spills ( how that happened with so few guests is a mystery ).
The bed was so uncomfortable it was shocking, it was hard and lumpy; how do you manage that ?. Personally I'd sleep in my car before I'd sleep here again. The final nail in the coffin was the £5 for 30 mins wifi charge, this is disgusting and daylight robbery. Unfortunately there is nothing mentioned on the website ( how convenient ), or else I wouldn't have booked here.
Don't stay here, I am working in this neck of the woods again for a week in January and I sure won't be staying here and I strongly recommend you do not either.

Room Tip: Take a camp bed and have a 3g phone, better still sleep in your car and save £75
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZX6RRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Waterside used to be a top notch venue but now it is a sad shabby relic of past times. The £25 Sunday lunch is very poor value.....Haven't seen such a poor prawn Marie Rose for donkeys! Under ripe tomatoes dry cucumber and the cheapest prawns? Nay the cheapest shrimps.....also the most basic dry unappetising bread rolls and skimpy smidgeons of butter. The staff are desperately under trained , and have no basic understanding of customer comfort. The carvery was let down by a strange bought in beef gravy....why? Very disappointing.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Picnicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed a weekend at the Waterside Inn, with excellent value for money. The hotel was a little dated, but it was clean, warm and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent.Our room was spacious and comfortable. We could not fault anything. The spa facilities were clean and well maintained, although the changing rooms were in need of an upgrade. We spent a cosy afternoon relaxing and reading next to the fire in the lounge. The Christmas decorations are nicely presented and not tacky. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Waterside Inn, and will definitely return ourselves.

Room Tip: We stayed within the hotel, but some reviews state that the lodge rooms are not so good.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 509valerie509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

very basic hotel, yet with expensive price. looks old.no free internet. tv only has few channels, maybe only four channels I guess. menu in the restaurant is limited and not many choices.The waiter/waitress takes a long time to serve the food. breakfast is included with normal choice of cereal, fruit, hot food,muffin, yogurt etc..


I am quite amaze why many people still choose this hotel. Maybe because there are limited choice of hotels in Peterhead area and most of the people come for a business trip so they dont have concern about the cost.The only attraction of this hotel is the gym, sports club etc..

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Very basic , used and need to be refurbished. In my room the heater was not working
Cleanliness is not the strong point also. No free internet !!!
Breakfast is ok , and stewards are attencious.
I am shure something better will be found in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guilherme155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews