We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing experience!”
other travelers have booked this property
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset decking area from the kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Skerry Cottage at the base of the lighthouse
beautiful sunset
decking area from the kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
kitchen
decking area and lighthouse
living room with open fire
main bedroom
main bedroom
bathroom
romantic setting for a wedding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
annabelle...
Wollongong
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Despite the chill wind howling in from the North Sea, we were warm and snug in front of our blazing fire. This is a must do, spectacular scenery combined with the novelty of staying in a lighthouse keeper's cottage. Loved our stay! Just a niggle...our bedroom (second
bedroom)had two
uncomfortable and rickety
single beds with nowhere to put our bags. The kitchen had no cupboards or pantry space and our groceries were strewn
across the window sill. But the experience was marvellous.

Date of stay: March 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emy3330
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The most memoreable house ever!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I'am a lighthouse lover, and it couldn't have been more perfect for me to stay 2 nights at the Skerry cottage! the house has been amazingly refurbished and this is the most scenic place i've ever rented! the cottage is very comfortable and beautifully decorated. I wished i could stay there longer. If you dream to sleep almost 'on the sea' and live the feeling of being a lighthouse keeper once in your life, I strongly recommend you to spend days at the Buchan Ness lighthouse, an A-MA-ZING place!

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffeetim...
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Unmissible”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I travelled here with my family (booked by my daughter Carrie) for my birthday - it was the most wonderful experience. The cottage was all that we wanted and more and the kindness of the owners was great. Although we had my grandchildren of 18 months with us cots etc were provided and the children loved the area and the excitement of the lighthouse. The cottage was fully equipped to a high standard, peat for the fires, games for chilly nights etc.
We just had the most wonderful time in the most beautiful surroundings and cannot wait to return. Would very much recommend this to anyone looking for something completely different - wild coastline but a beautiful cozy cottage to come home too what more could one ask.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing it was all wonderful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCDG
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Loved our heavenly weekend lighthouse amazing”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Booked as recommended by a friend,what a glorious uplifting weekend we enjoyed which will stay in our memories for a long time. The lighthouse is easy to find as it is such a landmark we fell in love with Boddam and the area in general. The cottage is just as described and had all amenities needed for a long weekend.We took our own food and some nice bottles wine to enjoy by the peat fire although we never had this on as our weather was unusually warm for October.What a joy it was opening the kitchen door to the wonderful North Sea in all its glory. The coastline was craggy and the waves crashing against the rocks at night were like a scene from"Rebecca". Boddam is small but the local shop has everything you could possibly want/need we also enjoyed a fish supper from Harry's fish bar on our first night which was lovely. We visited Cruden Bay and Slains Castle which is also very dramatic we loved the area and were blown away with just how wonderful everything was including the people.I would also recommend the Palace Hotel in Peterhead for Sunday lunch great value at £17.00 for 2 courses.But for us although the surrounding area was wonderful you could not beat returning to the cottage at night slipping on your slippers and watching the stars at midnight on the deck and the craggy coastline being lit by the lighthouse beacon - cannot recommend enough please go you will love it too.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility/views/area
Liked least: Nothing no complaints
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2Martines
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My stay at Skerry Cottage will be a treasured memory.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

From the beginning to the end our experience at this property was exceptional. The owner met us at our convenience with a smiling face. The cottage was clean, comfortable and convenient. I only regret that we didn't get to share it with kids, I imagine it would have been a lifetime memory maker for them. For me, it was a romantic location!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in a lighthouse keepers cottage is a unique experience.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P
Spring, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A fantastic, fantasy place to stay!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent one night at this comfortable, spacious, charming, did I say spacious, convenient, lovely lighthouse. Absolutely beautiful location. We WILL do this again. Wish we had planned to stay longer. Great kitchen too. Very well maintained property. You have to do this! So much better than a hotel or B&B.

Date of stay: September 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevski66
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Staying in the Lighthouse Keepers cottage is a unique experience”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Skerry Cottage is one of two cottages, located right beneath the historic Buchan Ness Lighthouse. This place is just fantastic, waking up to hear the sea, breakfast on the decking, just you and the sea gulls, amazing.
The cottage has been expertly renovated but the charm is still there. Spent 3 nights here absolutely brilliant. Thank you.
Kevin and Cathy.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing