We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifton House Hotel

Clifton House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Peterhead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clifton House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just had our third visit to this hotel it's a lovely family run small hotel you feel really at home it's so much more laid back than a large hotel. This visit was for a family wedding so had 2 family rooms booked. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. A lovely cooked breakfast in the morning cooked to order, in the lovely cosy dining room. As a smoker I don't mind at all a smoke free hotel I totally agree but outside the back they have a lovely smoke shelter. The room very large with sofas and very cosy comfy beds and cracking pillows. The hotel is also very close to town centre. Well done Clifton. Elaine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
9
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with our toddler and the hosts were lovely. The breakfast was delicious. We had a double room with an bathroom at the front and were given a single bed for our daughter. The room was spotless. Our only complaint was we couldn't open a window and were very stuffy during the night. We should have asked the next day. There were no handles on the windows.
Overall a good well priced place to stay and so handy for everything.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilypods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

stayed here for one night as i was playing music close by doesnt look to inviting from the outside but dont let that put you off room was superb nice and clean large and all mod cons breakfast was great will defo recomend and use again if am in the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doddsy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

My company used an agency who booked this hotel for me at short notice, on pulling up in the car i was concerned that it was going to be quite dated and very basic...! All i can say was i had a complete change of heart as soon as the owner opened the door for me.
This hotel is kept imaculate by Drew and Carol (the owners) and their team, the rooms are large and very well appointed, the bed i had was very comfortable. The home made evening meal was fantastic.
Drew and Carol where very welcoming and great company at the evening meal.
I would highly recommend this hotel over the others i have stayed in in Peterhead any time.

i am using my fiances tripadvisor account to write this review as i do not have one, however if i had i would have probably written more.

David Ross (Sabre Safety)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Good location close to the centre of town. Parking is a bit hit or miss, there is an enclosed courtyard but can only take three or four cars. Rooms are very good, beds are comfy and warm. Breakfast is cooked to order.
No evening meals are served, but is only a 5 min walk from many restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highplaces73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolEngland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Went to Peterhead for the first time to go for a funeral and sort out an estate.Made very welcome from day one.Great downstairs room next to the front door so we didn't disturb anyone when returning at night.Breakfast was great every morning with lots of choice.Everyone was very helpful giving us directions to all the places we had to visit.Car parking at the rear of the hotel,where we could leave the car and walk into town.We would recommend the hotel for any stay business or pleasure

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TomandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic big room. Comfy bed. Free wifi not too bad. Noisy dining room beneath. Didn't like the dog poo on pavement by front gate. Quite a bit of traffic noise. Good breakfast. Not cheap in terms of price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squinthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.7 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
11.3 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crawfords Guest House
Crawfords Guest House
#4 of 15 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House Hotel

Property: Clifton House Hotel
Address: 96 Queen Street, Peterhead AB42 1TT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing