We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - great service and wonderful food”
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2010

The hotel is the ex RAF Boddam Officers Mess so is situated within the now redundant RAF complex. This not a problem in any shape or form and ensures a quiet stay. The staff are very professional whilst still providing a warm welcome.

The food is terrific and the rooms and hotel are decorated to a very high standard. This hotel is a wee gem.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argassi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Buchan Braes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2010

Went tp the Hotel for a celebratory meal on the the Saturday night and the attention of the staff and the presentation of the food, was firsts class, would definately go back there again.
The desserts were made locally and tasted just like home made desserts should taste like. Fresh!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anoushkascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

I have stayed herte on two separate occasions and would not hesitate to recommend it. Whatever happens, do not be put off by the slightly unorthadox location of this hotel. A great amount of effort has been expended on the interior with good decor, fixtures and fittings giving the a boutique hotel feel. The food is excellent, the staff freindly and helpful. The rooms are finished to a very high standard and considering the room rate, this is excellent value. Digital flat panel TVs large comfy beds, good sized bathroom with decent shower, and easy chairs and plenty of room to work (if you have to!).

The restuarant offers a good selection on the menu and the service on the whole was very good. Ac choice of bread is avaibale to start folowed by a varied menu of starters and mains. The fish was excelent as was the steak. Breakfast was also good and one of the very very few hotels who seem to be able to cook scrambled eggs correctly (ie in a pan and not in a microwave).

I spend alot of time in hotels and this is without doubt one of the better ones.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshallized
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

The hotel is located on an old RAF base so there are ugly buildings around it, but the hotel itself is OK. The rooms are very comfortable but satellite TV reception is poor.
200 or so metres behind the hotel is beautiful coastline and a quaint village. The reception, bar & restaurant staff are all friendly & the food is excellent. They serve imaginative dishes full of flavour - i would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wickwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed at the hotel from 2nd -4th July.

Having arrived before 2pm we were pleased to be able to get early entry to our suite. The staff were friendly, pleasant and attentive and remained so over the two days.

The hotel itself, although new and generally well presented, is at a disadvantage because of its location in what looks like a trading estate and there were signs of vandalism in other buildings and neglect of footpaths and flowerbeds away from open view (the path from the car park to the hotel is a case in point with weeds and a knocked over lamp). The view from the rooms is poor – overlooking either the housing estate, old barracks or the new but empty buildings on the site.

As mentioned above, the staff were friendly and helpful but there were some service issues which detracted from this. At lunch time we had club sandwiches which were served with chips and salad but without cutlery or napkins. (A small influx of diners had seemed to cause a bit of a panic in the lounge!).

When it came to dinner in the restaurant we were unable to sit at the table we wanted even although the restaurant was empty and only another two guests entered later. We asked for rose wine but there was none because “the rose delivery wasn’t due until Friday”. I had a medium fillet steak and my wife well-done sirloin. There were no steak knives. The sirloin steak was badly burnt on the underside and, despite a valiant attempt, proved to be inedible. We mentioned it to the waitress who said sorry and hoped that they could do better with the dessert. On our last night, as we sat in the lounge, we were surprised to hear John Lennon singing “So this is Christmas!”

Our suite was clean and modern. However, over the two days we did find confetti in various places. There was no cold water on the Thursday as both taps produced only lukewarm water. We reported this and a member of staff identified the cold tap (but not cold water). On the Friday we could not get any hot water for a shower; it was either lukewarm or cold. We were offered another (ordinary room) or the chance to shower elsewhere in the hotel but we declined. The bathroom door handle has sharp edges which could cause an injury. The mini-bar was empty and filled only “on request”. I think guests are more likely to use it if there are drinks and snacks already available and you might want to consider that.

When we came to check out of the hotel on the Saturday morning it was a simple case of paying the bill. We weren’t asked if we had enjoyed our stay or if we had been satisfied with the service.

We wrote to the hotel about our experience and a month later we are still waiting for a reply.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boddam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

We've stayed at the Buchan Braes Hotel a couple of times now, both when they happened to be offering special weekend deals.

The immediate surroundings of the hotel are a bit odd, as it seems to be in the middle of a former army base or similar and it's a bit hard to find your way in, but it's just a minute or two's walk from the coast.

The rooms are great with lovely modern decor and fittings and very comfortable - highly recommended. The restaurant is also good - we had a couple of excellent meals there and the service was fine. The reception staff were also helpful and efficient. Although there were wedding parties going on both times we were there, the noise didn't carry to our rooms at all and the busy staff didn't keep us waiting to serve us our drinks etc in the bar.

The standard prices aren't cheap but it's much better than any hotel you'd get in Aberdeen itself for the same price and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redskyatnight76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Arrived at the hotel and was very surprised to see where it was located - in the middle of an industrial type compound - the website paints a very different picture in your mind, more along the boutuique hotel lines. Parked around the back and walked past the bins to head into the building but came in a side door to the bar. (On our way out, we found the main entrance but very few spaces to park hence why we ended up coming in from the back).

Decor items are very nice but looks like it has been bought from a catalogue without much thought as to what goes with what. Bit of a mish-mash of styles.

We ate in the restaurant and wilst the food was nice (not outstanding, just nice), the service was a bit slap-dash. The girl serving behind the bar took our order and then went off to serve someone else. Another girl then came and asked us if we'd been served, which we said we had, although she was serving someone else. The second girl then proceeded to make our order and got it wrong - small things really but also very simple things - using her hands to put the lime in the top of the Carona beer bottle (not very pleasant really) and the wrong glass for my wifes wine and soda. Small things but the detail does matter, especially when the prices are high.

The food was ok but very overpriced for what it was.

They have just achieved 4 star status for the hotel and have a rosette for the dining room. Maybe we caught them on a bad day, but it really seemed far off what we have experienced in the past for these accreditations.

We filled in a comment card and no-one got back to us.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigjonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
48 reviews
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
244 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Peterhead
Travelodge Peterhead
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: $109 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing