We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stopped off for lunch today, nice food, good service, big pricey but good quality so worth it, staff very attentive and nice and clean, food very fresh and good portion, all in all very nice experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 204 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We decided to book a meal in the dining room for Hogmany night , there was 8 of us.
The Hotel had a Hogmany party in the Ball Room but thought per head it was a better deal with the set meal in the dining room.
The choice was the correct one ,the quality of the food , service and the atmosphere was perfect for the occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jad13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I visited the Buchan Braes to celebrate my husbands Granda's 80th Birthday. There was about 20 of us in all.
The hotel its self is lovely - quite fancy and I'd stay it's definitley a place to go to treat yourself and get all dressed up or if you have a special celebration.
Normally with bigger tables and more people to serve the service can sometimes be quite slow but this certainly was not the case. The staff were very friendly and were extremely attentive and it was a nice fast service.
Food was absolutely gorgeous - cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were fortunate to be invited to join friends for New Years Eve at the Buchan Braes Hotel. What a terrific evening it turned out to be. We had a very comfortable and warm friendly feeling double bedroom for my wife and I. The evening kicked off canopies and kirsh at 7.00pm. We were given the opportunity to review the menu and select our courses for the evening. We were shown through our table which was right beside the dance floor which proved very convenient after dinner was over. The meal consisted of four courses with coffee or to tea to follow and was agreed by all to be excellent. A bottle of wine was included in the function price. The group playing the function were fantastic (Crystal Clear) the singer had suburb vocal range and catered to the wide range of guests enjoying the fiction. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed the function and our overnight stay and took advantage of a cooked breakfast in the morning which was included in our room price.

Room Tip: I would think any of the rooms would be good. There are two levels and the rooms are on the opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have been to the Buchanan Braes on many occasions. The menu choice is amazing and the food has never disappointed. Have also taken bus loads of my learning difficulties and disabled friends there. The staff could not have done any more for us. I would highly recommend anyone to go there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

An ex-army officers mess, sympathetically converted into a smart comfortable hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated and well equipped, with comfortable beds. Food is a cut above average and choice of dining in spacious and attractive lounge bar or in the slightly more formal restaurant. Heavily used by business people in the week, with the nearby power station, gas plants and oil related industry. Which makes it slightly surprising that the internet was not working until the system was "reset" on request, after which it was still slow and intermittent. Apparently the hotel is changing its service provider, which they really need to get on with - otherwise I will reluctantly need to go elsewhere next time.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank AboyneFyfes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was here for a family wedding and the staff were very helpful and friendly-food was excellent.
Looks were deceiving -it looks like an old peoples home when you approach it .All in all a very pleasant day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juet1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.5 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Peterhead
183 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Peterhead
Travelodge Peterhead
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
4.8 mi away
St Olaf Hotel
St Olaf Hotel
#4 of 7 in Peterhead
63 reviews
13.6 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: $117 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing