We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Booked this to work in the Fraserburgh and Peterhead areas and was really surprised with standard of this hotel. It was a wee bit strange to go from the reception then head round behind the bar to find the main area leading to the rooms but the rooms were really quite nice and well equipped. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the food was excellent. I think people visiting the hotel will get the feeling that it's in a slightly strange location and the car park looks like it's not attached to the hotel but it's because it was an old RAF base so the layout feels unlike normal hotel locations but that's not a gripe, just an observation.
Fairly easy for the further North East areas if you visit for business or leisure and handy for Aberdeen about 30 mins away on a good day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    66
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
45
6
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and were very pleasd with the hotel, the rooms were clean and modern and it was very nice and quiet. We came with a small baby and were provided with a travel cot.

During our stay we also arranged a meal for a large group of people in the restaurant, the manager made a special effort to accommodate us despite the restaurant being very busy. Throughout the whole stay the staff were excellent, particularly the manager who was always willing to help and was very friendly. We ate in the bar on a couple of other occasions and the food was always good. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went to The Buchan Braes for a family dinner recently. Troughout our time there we were well looked after by friendly efficient staff, and made to feel very welcome. The food was of a high standard well presented & well cooked. A special mention for my sweet, a candy pavlova, it was superb :-)
Would recommend Buchan Braes and I'm sure I will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aitch50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall
Level Contributor
336 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This 4star hotel is the converted Officers Mess at the now closed RAF Buchan in Boddam near Peterhead.

The staff were polite, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, finished to a very high standard, very clean & tidy.

The breakfast was very good with a buffet selection of Cereals, Friut, Cheeses etc and all the hot food cooked to order (you can see it being prepared) and served by a very nice waitress.

Hotel Wi-Fi is a bit hit and miss which is annoying when you are trying to work and the Car Parking is a bit remote at the rear of the Hotel.

Booked through HRS on-line and got a much better deal than the Hotel Web Page.

The location is partially in a mothballed Military base and an Industrial Estate, don't let that disuade you from visiting a great Hotel for very good value and great service.

Some lovely Costal Walks withing 5 minutes of the Hotel. I will certainly stay here again next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIB-53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had a Christmas meal here in Dec 2012 and it was very enjoyable. Staff very efficient, food was delicious and a very eclectic menu which was a pleasant surprise. Perhaps a tad overpriced but portions were ample and desert was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CLaw85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went here for a friends wedding and after a long and tiresome drive (car trouble for the last 200 miles ) this was like an oasis in a desert,the staff were friendly and helpful,the rooms were spotless and modern ,excellent breakfast ,could not do much to improve on it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Warm welcom on reception and very frieldy and helpful staff.
Good reception area.
Excellent restaurant.
Lovely room, plenty spacious and a nice en-suite.
Intermittent wifi was promptly resolved.
Will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.6 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#1 of 6 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 6 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
13.0 mi away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ellon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Property: Buchan Braes Hotel
Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing