We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Quality hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was my first visit to this hotel and I was very impressed by the general decor and layout. Reason for attending this time was for a social function with the Ythan Fiddlers. The evening dinner was excellent and the general atmosphere created by the staff and guests was first class. A very enjoyable ceilidh was enjoyed by all in one of the excellent function rooms. This is clearly a hotel that can offer good facilities for any number of functions. I would like to return and enjoy a stay at the hotel..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    69
    18
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
47
6
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my first trip to Peterhead and initially I was placed in another hotel by the travel management compasny as the Buchan Braes was full, or so they told me. I emailed the hotel direct and to my surprise they emailed back immediately to say they had some availibility and that they would put me on a reserve list for my first night. Within 24 hours they came back to me to advise that they could accommodate me for my full stay and the booking was made.

On arrival I was upgraded to a suite, which didnt disappoint. The rooms are spotlessly clean, have independent heating controls and have large flatscreen TVs as well as FREE wi-fi throughout. Everything needed for my business trip.

On the first evening I ate in the Grill Room and I must say the food was outstanding so much so I even had a dessert. On the second evening I ate in the bar lounge area and this too was excellent. Breakfast had a great selection of both hot and cold with food cooked to order, no buffet breakfast here.

The hotel is a bit out of the way, so if you want to be in town its probably not for you but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and I can not recommend it enough. I look forward to returning on my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

First time staying at the Buchan Braes Hotel, from the quick check in until morning departure the service and quality of the hotel was excellent. Given an upgrade to suite because hotel was so busy.
Evening meal offered a good selection of local meat and seafood courses, then a relaxing drink at the bar to finish off with. Breakfast cooked fresh on order.
Will definetely stay here on next trip to Peterhead.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a good size and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect, the hotel is rather strangely situated next to an old Air Force station, however the friendly welcome and attentive staff were very welcoming. I didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but the breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, no dried scrambled egg here. It was very good.

From a business perspective, it has free wifi, so many hotels charge for this service, that its nice when it is offered for free.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding here back in October an I can honestly say I wouldn't have changed a thing! From first meeting until the day itself nothing was too much bother and we were able to relax! The meal was fantastic and our room was great! So comfortable, clean and we were impressed! The staff are second to none and we would recommend the place to anyone and everyone! X

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blootoonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menasha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days in November as part of a Scotland hunting trip. Excellent accommodations and contrary to popular opinion the food was outstanding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar was also excellent for light food or drinks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelling as a group of 7 we stayed at this hotel for a wedding. A little concerned that due to the time of the wedding we would not be able to check in untill after the ceremony which was no good as we needed somewhere to get ready, a quick phone call to the hotel put our minds at ease and we were able to have an early check in. All the staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The room was a good size, nice comfy bed and the bathroom was a decent size too with a big shower.
I know the food will of been different to the restaurant because we were at the wedding but the standard was great considering the number of guests that were there. Excellent food and hot!! Breakfast was good too, great choice and if you wanted a cooked breakfast it was cooked to order.

The outside does not look very nice but do not let this put you off. You would think it was two different places once you have been inside.

All in all we would stay here again and would reccommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0T86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.6 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.7 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boddam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Property: Buchan Braes Hotel
Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing