We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Buchan Braes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buchan Braes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Wasn't sure what to expect, the hotel is rather strangely situated next to an old Air Force station, however the friendly welcome and attentive staff were very welcoming. I didn't eat at the hotel in the evening, but the breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, no dried scrambled egg here. It was very good.

From a business perspective, it has free wifi, so many hotels charge for this service, that its nice when it is offered for free.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Buchan Braes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We had our wedding here back in October an I can honestly say I wouldn't have changed a thing! From first meeting until the day itself nothing was too much bother and we were able to relax! The meal was fantastic and our room was great! So comfortable, clean and we were impressed! The staff are second to none and we would recommend the place to anyone and everyone! X

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blootoonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 days in November as part of a Scotland hunting trip. Excellent accommodations and contrary to popular opinion the food was outstanding. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar was also excellent for light food or drinks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Travelling as a group of 7 we stayed at this hotel for a wedding. A little concerned that due to the time of the wedding we would not be able to check in untill after the ceremony which was no good as we needed somewhere to get ready, a quick phone call to the hotel put our minds at ease and we were able to have an early check in. All the staff were very helpful throughout our stay. The room was a good size, nice comfy bed and the bathroom was a decent size too with a big shower.
I know the food will of been different to the restaurant because we were at the wedding but the standard was great considering the number of guests that were there. Excellent food and hot!! Breakfast was good too, great choice and if you wanted a cooked breakfast it was cooked to order.

The outside does not look very nice but do not let this put you off. You would think it was two different places once you have been inside.

All in all we would stay here again and would reccommend the hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0T86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Visited in October and yet again, it was excellent. The staff went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. Can thoroughly recommend the £12 lunch. Excellent service. The breakfasts were fantastic with a big choice. The only point I would raise is that I would have expected an Aberdeenshire hotel to have Aberdeen Angus steak on the menu. In fact there were no steaks on the menu at all. A little strange.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel Duncan on the bar never stops service excellent a bit out from Peterhead £ 10 by taxi each way good food nice rooms down side room 114 bed to small for adult male too soft mattress bar this great hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinrachelellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on business and was surprised by the quality of the facilities, rooms, and food. Very good choice if you are in the area on business. The area looks a bit strange but dont let this put you off.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d.reid11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterhead
2.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 7 in Peterhead
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
48 reviews
10.5 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
244 reviews
13.8 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
251 reviews
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Peterhead
Travelodge Peterhead
#3 of 7 in Peterhead
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buchan Braes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buchan Braes Hotel

Address: Buchan Braes Station Avenue, Peterhead AB42 3AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Peterhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Peterhead
Price Range: $109 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buchan Braes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Buchan Braes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buchan Braes Hotel Peterhead, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing