We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Scottish Lighthouses

Museum of Scottish Lighthouses
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Fraserburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Scottish Lighthouses tells the story of the Northern Lighthouse Board from its creation in 1786 to its operation in the present day. A visit includes entry to the main Museum building which patrons can browse at their, but included in the ticket price is a tour of Kinnaird Head Lighthouse - the Northern Lighthouse Boards first light. The Museum has an on-site cafe and free parking facilities. Fraserburgh Visitor Information Centre is also contained within the site.
Huntly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The museum has been highly recommended over the years, but I never really thought I would find a lighthouse museum interesting. So I had a pleasant surprise.
The museum itself was interesting with different lights and lenses, but it was the tour of the lighthouse that really made the visit worthwhile. Our guide of the Kinnaird lighthouse was excellent. She told us interesting and humorous anecdotes about life as a lighthouse keeper in victorian times and the problems of being lighthouse keeper in very remote areas.
Highly recommended if you are in the area.
Add a trip to the nearby coastal villages of Pennan or Crovie, or the beach near Cullykhan for a perfect day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    80
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Informative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Was driving around and came to this spot of Museum of Scottish Lighthouse. Didn't intend to visit but it was about 3pm and not sure where about to go next thus we decided to give that a go.

The experience turn out to be a real reward! The admission fee was £6 for adults and kids under five are free. The museum was okay as it was pretty small but enough to give yourself an hour of quick tour plus a 15mins video presentation. The real highlight was the castle like light house and a guided tour was given at 4pm. We're allowed to get inside the tower to get a glimpse of the keepers life for real. The guide was really helpful and she is very knowledgable about the place.. Also included in the tour was the mechanism of the tower and how it was run on daily basis..

Although the light house boast 90ish steps, we managed it alright with family of five, kids of four, three and a baby of 9months. It was really neat and lots of secrets of the tower was told along.. On top of the tower, we get to walk outside the lighthouse tower and the view was just magnificent. If you're lucky, there are always something to lookout for on the ocean view..

Another tips would be the restaurant which was closed by the time I finished the light house tour has fresh seafood coming from the port next door every Friday and Saturday evening - another reason to go back again.. As for the secret, you'll have to find it out yourself.. If you need to plan forms quick one - I'd say 3 hours is good with some time to look at the surrounding and don't forget there's a gift shop! I kinda of like the light house miniature :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chun Hock T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A great museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Good museum, a bit quiet, but very enjoyable. Interesting in the museum itself and a lovely shop (been to the cafe in the past and very good, but didn't go this time). Very good tour of the lighthouse itself by Michael, apologies if he had to cut some parts short as the kids were a bit impatient! Highly recommended as it's a very well put together attraction, piece of history and place of interest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“School Trip to Lighthouse Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We took a group of 9-11yr old French pupils here for a morning on the way to the aquarium in nearby Macduff. To be honest, myself and the other staff didn't expect it to be that exciting and were worried the kids might be a little bored.
However, we were proven wrong! We started with a tour of Kinnaird Head Lighthouse which the kids and adults alike really enjoyed. We got to climb right up into the light and see it switched on. We also got to go out onto the roof and onto the balcony around the light. The children were also amusingly fascinated by the lighthouse keeper's room with its old TV and other 'artifacts' from the 80s and 90s! The tour guide was informative and interesting and there was plenty to interest the kids despite their language limitations.
The lighthouse has an education room that groups can use for indoor activities and, in case of rain, have lunch in.
Sadly we didn't have much time for the museum itself but there were plenty of interesting objects for curious kids to touch and look at.
Accessibility to the old lighthouse for disabled people would be an issue for obvious reasons - it wasn't much of a concern in Stevenson's day, but the museum itself is modern and accessible. It also wouldn't really hold much interest to very young children but is ideal for the older primary age group.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rhonarhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nonthaburi Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Highlight of the Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The museum is well established with a lot of artifacts. Entrance fee is 6 pounds. I learned a lot about the lighthouses and was amazed how difficult it was to build one. The staff are very helpful and gave good suggestion. The tour (included) at 11, and 1 then every hour. Recommended if come to this part of Scotland.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank PativateB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Scottish Lighthouses also viewed

 
Peterhead, Aberdeenshire
Rosehearty, Fraserburgh
 

Been to Museum of Scottish Lighthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing