We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of food at good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ban-Car Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fraserburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ban-Car Hotel
Ranked #3 of 18 Fraserburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lots of food at good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visit the restaurant on all my visits home to the North East. Usually for High Tea. Any visitors with me always find it funny that they are served toast before the main meal but it always goes down well.

Chicken & stuffing is my usual but all the dishes come with plenty of veg served in serving dishes to share. Then tea or coffee (The coffee is usually quite strong so you may want to order some extra hot water) is served to wash down the selection of cakes to round the meal off. Great value.

The latest visit was for their Sunday Carvery. A choice of 4 meats or all 4 if you want. An array of veg and also other items like a curry, lasagne, beef steak pie and more.

As with most carvery's the food is not of incredible high standard but it is good and there is loads of it for the price.

The tables are a little small and with 5 of us round a table that was actually too small for 4 it was a tad cramped.

I have always found the staff very friendly and helpful even if many of them seem to be a little young and inexperienced.

The carvery does tend to get quite busy so we always ring ahead to book a table.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDandyD0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    32
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
47
27
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We went here yesterday (12th Jan) for a bar lunch with two of our children. We didn't book but went about 2pm and got a table no problem. It was quite busy always a good sign.
The service was OK, nothing special, but the food was very poor.
So poor that I left almost all my chicken, my daughter said hers was very dry, and my wife said her chicken goujons were from a packet not fresh made.
Been a few times to the carvery and its excellent, but the local chippie would have been a better bet yesterday and would have been cheaper than the 32 for one course.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brochboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Visited this place for food just before Christmas. We all had the festive menu and we were not disappointed. Very good food, big portions and overall a great feed. Good value for money also. Just off the main road - if you are passing give it a try! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dee7372
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

my friend and i decided to give the bancar another go for his birthday tea ( after walking out last year after waiting an hour to receive our main course) (and it wasnt busy and was through the week!)...we used to go regularly, but after the last issue we never went back!....until last month...and it saddens me to say this but once again the food was not up to standard!(we appeared mid week)
opting for battered chicken goujons with garlic dip and chips....what arrived were not chicken goujons but chicken dippers!, (goujons arent round and flat!),the "garlic" mayo had no taste of garlic at all (and i dont like strong garlic but even i couldnt taste it!) and the most miniscule portion of chips between 2 was pathetic...we counted 8 chips each (not even home made ones...but just frozen frying chips!)
the portions used to be massive in the past....now they appear to be non-existant!
the sweets we felt were mediocre and over priced for what you got.
overall the staff were helpful and friendly but the food i am afraid we were really disappointed with and means we will not be back for a meal at the Bancar again! :(

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornoch
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have made several trips here and never been disappointed. As a group, we paid £15 for a three course meal or £12.50 for half portions. Given the advice that half portions were more than ample, half of the party opted for this. Selection was good, and accompanied by very generous dishes of vegetables and chips. Extra portions of stuffing were requested and served at no extra cost. The restaurant was busy and is clearly popular and worth the travelling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

We visited this venue for a wedding and were not disappointed in any way shape or form. The lay out of this labrynth is quite bamboozling with a never ending series of bends which certainly adds to its quirkyness and is definately a lot bigger on the inside than it appears on the outside! The food is hearty scottish fare with plentiful portions and to be fare if you can handle the pudding you are a hungrier man than me! While we were in the function suite, we were completely apart from the other areas of the hotel so we could enjoy ourselves while the other patrons went about their night.

The bedroom was spacious with all mod cons and modern bathrooms and for a very good price. The only thing i would say is that it would have been nice to have black out blinds as with the sun rising it tends to stir you earlier than you perhaps would like.

Star of the show has to be the breakfast, not just the actual food but the time! Any place that has breakfast time between 9 and 11am is a winner for me! The Full scottish was one of the best that i have had on my travels and just what i needed!

Great little gem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goviegovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowdenbeath
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nice family run hotel food first class, rooms well appointed all mod cons T V, Kettle all rooms shower toilet ,value for money, ideal for staying in the Peterhead Fraserburgh area, staff very helpful, just down the road the church yard where Elvis the King family came from.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexhanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraserburgh
1.7 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
11.3 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
15.4 mi away
Buchan Braes Hotel
Buchan Braes Hotel
#1 of 7 in Peterhead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Printworks
Printworks
#2 of 7 in Peterhead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
18.2 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Saltoun Inn
The Saltoun Inn
#2 of 18 in Fraserburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban-Car Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban-Car Hotel

Property: Ban-Car Hotel
Address: Main Road | Lonmay, Fraserburgh AB43 8RL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Fraserburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Fraserburgh
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Ban-Car Hotel Fraserburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing