We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Fife Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fife Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Turriff
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Since the takeover by new owners, this hotel has gone from strength to strength. (The bar even stocks my favourite Campari now - a rarity amongst bars!)

We had our 2013 Christmas Lunch here and it was honestly one of the best I've had since my Mum passed away. The staff were friendly, helpful and polite, the service was spot-on and the food was truly delicious. My husband & I chose different puddings, but each came with a little tour de force from the chef: spun sugar toffee snowmen, with even the carrot for the nose made out of the sugar. They were such fun, and also tasted great.

The hotel even colluded with friends of ours to provide a lovely surprise - when we'd finished our sparkling wine, soft drink and canapes (included in the menu) and gone through to our beautifully decorated table, we found an envelope addressed to us which we thought must be another nice touch, a Christmas card. Instead, it turned out to be a Gift Voucher for a future meal at the hotel. What a lovely surprise, and all praise to the hotel for managing it so nicely.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImReallyAnElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron T, Owner at Fife Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
We would like to thank you for your kind words. It will be our pleasure to have you back to the Fife Lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    42
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
38
43
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Visited this hotel as part of a business trip in May 2013. The hotel was comfortable and welcoming with friendly and helpful staff. The food was very enjoyable indeed, what I would describe as good quality pub fare and well cooked. In particular the hotel's breakfast was very enjoyable. MY only criticism would be the somewhat hit and miss wifi, which on a business trip in a pretty remote location is important. Both myself and my colleagues struggle to connect. However a relatively minor gripe for what was a very pleasing stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron T, Owner at Fife Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
We thank you for your kind comments, we have already boosted the wifi signal to the 1st floor bedrooms and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fife Lodge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for two nights and found the staff to be friendly and efficient. My room was comfortable, clean and for me, importantly, warm! Food was very good, especially the breakfast, I had bacon, scrambled eggs and mushrooms and I must say the scrambled eggs were the best I have ever had in a hotel! All in all a pleasant stay at a good rate. The present owners are updating things and I feel are putting a lot of care into customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litlmo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a family dinner and booked three of the rooms. The small dining room was perfect for our needs and the menu provided a variety of Scottish fare, reasonably priced and served with a smile from the attentive waiting staff. The Balvenie bar provided a great after-dinner relaxation and the breakfast next morning was excellent. Our room was spacious with a comfy bed and huge ensuite bathroom, leaving us with a happy memory of our stay and a hotel I would recommend and definitely stay at again. Thanks to all the staff for their hard work and welcome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6, the largest in the hotel, and very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited for lunch last week. We were met by a grumpy waitress who didn't even try to crack a smile for the entire time we were there. Don't let this one girl put you off staying though. The other waiter (I think his name was Joe) was very pleasant. The food was excellent, with good value for money. Our meal was served promptly and over all we had a very enjoyable lunch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JMunro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fetterangus, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2013

we had our wedding here in July and it was absolutely perfect, Linda and Claire were superb and so helpful from day one especially as we had previously booked with the previous owners! Nothing was a problem and they made our special day exceptional with their planning, organisation, warm welcome to our guests and the massive smiles they had on the day. We couldn't fault the meal one bit and recommend it highly. The gardens are well kept and a perfect setting for wedding photos.
Huge thank you to Linda for everything

Chris and Alana
xxx

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here one night in September 2013 while exploring Aberdeenshire.

Not the most luxurious hotel in the World, but warm, comfortable and inviting. The hotel staff were exceptionally nice, food great and room okay (although didn't really 'get' the pink leather sofa in the room).

We overslept for breakfast and the staff offered us bacon sandwiches to take with up - great customer service.

Room and bathroom both spotless and a great shower!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jando1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.7 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
442 reviews
11.7 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
351 reviews
20.1 mi away
Saplinbrae Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Tufted Duck Hotel
Tufted Duck Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Combs
246 reviews
6.1 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
396 reviews
6.2 mi away
Station Hotel Portsoy
Station Hotel Portsoy
#2 of 7 in Portsoy
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife Lodge Hotel

Property: Fife Lodge Hotel
Address: Fife Lodge Hotel Sandyhill Road, Banff AB45 1BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Hotel located in the Historic town of Banff and set in its own private grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fife Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife Hotel Banff
Fife Lodge Hotel Banff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing