We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

Gardenia Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gardenia Guest House
Ranked #10 of 13 Banff B&B and Inns
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed from 11-15 May with work, and was made to feel very welcome. Room spacious, clean and comfortable, breakfast really good and Gardenia situated close to all local amenities. Would not hesitate recommending this as a nice place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
5
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyne and wear
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have recently been working in the area for 3 weeks and stayed at this lovely guest house. Christine and Trevor could not have been more friendly and welcoming. The guest house has great character, lovely fresh prepared breakfasts and is very clean. When working away from home is it often very difficult to find somewhere comfortable and up to standard, however there is not one fault you could find with the Gardenia Guest House. With regards to previous comments about street noise, I can catergorically state that despite being in a room at the front of the property I came across no such problem. This is the first time I have ever wrote a review about accommodation despite working away from home around 40 weeks of the year, this is testiment to how much I enjoyed my stay and if working in the area again, would most definitely book at the Gardenia. As well as the Guest House being fantastic it is also in a great area for local eateries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg01T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you Greg for your review. It was a pleasure having you to stay and should you be in Banff area again, please give us a ring, Trevor & I will be pleased to see you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I arrived wet and cold on a long-distance solo bike ride for charity; proprietors Christine and Trevor gave me the warmest of welcomes, and nothing was too much trouble for them. A comfortable room, very good night's sleep and an excellent breakfast set me up perfectly for another long ride the following day. Thanks, both, for a perfect overnight stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We welcome your review and your comments are much appreciated. We trust the rest of your journey was successful and welcome you back the next time you are in Banf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

On arrival was greeted with a warm welcome. My room was clean, bright, quiet and comfortable with free wifi and tv channels. A good selection of cereals or cooked breakfast with freshly brewed coffee. Very close to all amenities such as Banff castle and a delicious bakery which was a few doors down. The owners made me feel like I was at home and were very friendly. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your custome and welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I agree with the comment below.
B&B is in desperate need of some Tlc and updating.

Service was ok but overal stay wasnt to write home about. Banff is a lovely place, a small town with plenty to see,

Cleaner needs to be trained up a little as places that should be clean was a little dirty.
With a little time and tlc put in the b&b could be what i was looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sam j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you feel your stay was not up to your standards but we assure you we do try to keep a high standard (we are Visit Scotland 3* graded, complimented on our standards and have never dropped during the time we have been graded). We are constantly upgrading our establishment,and like the Forth Bridge, by the time you get to the end it is time to start again. We have a decor in keeping with the age of the house, comfy beds, Freeview, plenty of fluffy towels good hospitality tray and in the morning hearty breakfasts with a much tea, coffee and juice as one can drink. We offer a clean warm haven for guests after a busy day whether it be sightseeing or business.The house has a calm and inviting aura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

At the time of my visit, the house was untidy, and the room and ensuite facility were worn and run down. If it would be in a better condition, the house could display its' wonderful oldfashioned atmosphere. Breakfast was all right, but nothing special. Please be aware that the house is on the main road and a lot of traffic goes by all night long - ear plugs are recommended in a room to the front.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnBlascaodMhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
I am somewhat perplexed at this review. Yes, we are on the main road through Banff, which means we are central for shops, eateries, pubs and nice walks by the beach, marina or park. As for noise from traffic all night, I do question this, and as for ear plugs at night we have never found any of guests needing these (.All windows in the bedrooms are double glazed) The house is not "untidy, nor is it run down and worn". It is a homely house of character. Our breakfasts are all home cooked and guests have a choice each morning from a full tradition cooked breakfast menu..

It disappoints me to find a review like this after the guest made it clear to us on departure that an enjoyable stay had been had..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed at the Gardenia in August and was treated to good old fashioned hospitality by the two owners. They were friendly and make you feel comfortable. The freshly cooked breakfast was ideal to set me up for the day. The guest house is right at the heart of Banff town centre but parking was never a problem in my 3 day stay. I would recommend anyone to stay in this establishment and when you throw in free wi fi and a keen tariff you wouldnt need to look anywhere else.

Stewart Robertson
Perth

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewartfiona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tregar, Owner at Gardenia Guest House, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to see you again when your next in Banff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
0.6 mi away
Fife Lodge Hotel
Fife Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Banff
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
16A Low Street
16A Low Street
#6 of 13 in Banff
7 reviews
6.2 mi away
Durn House
Durn House
#1 of 7 in Portsoy
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Banff Springs Hotel
Banff Springs Hotel
#1 of 2 in Banff
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carmelite House Hotel
Carmelite House Hotel
#5 of 13 in Banff
28 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bankhead Croft
Bankhead Croft
#3 of 13 in Banff
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Guest House

Property: Gardenia Guest House
Address: 19 Castle Street, Banff AB45 1DH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Hotel Class:3 star — Gardenia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gardenia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Guest House Banff, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing