We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday evening food:0)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tasca - Aberdeen - CLOSED

La Tasca - Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $257 - $720
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Monday evening food:0)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a cheddar like cheese (manchego) as a starter which was excellently tasty with dried tomato which we shared. Gambas (prawns) with garlic, patatas bravas with cheese, two slices of Spanish omelette, excellent fish in a delicate batter ( 11 out of 10) and egg & chips YES I KNOW! With wine as well and the Tastecard the bill came to just under £31.00 just right:0) will go again but Monday was very quiet.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diff-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    107
    60
    45
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous food with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Friend booked this when alternative restaurant full and after reading reviews was slightly concerned - however no need. Service was quick and friendly . Food was beautiful - we had three choices each so enjoyed many differing tastes and none were disappointing. We had couple of bottles of wine and few other drinks and if you take the cost of those off the bill the food was very reasonable - and even with them added no complaints. We would happily return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sellarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Drop in Standard at La Tasca”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just the other week a friend and myself went to La Tasca on Union Street. Now a know its a chain and I suppost the formula has a specific routine, but there is a real but here. The actual food was not comfortably warm, far too salty and altogether poor, even the coffee was well not great.

The toilets were very strange it would appear that the gents had been 'vandalised' I know the decor is faked to look real but the paper on the floor and general dip in standards is shocking.

Sorry folks this is not good for what was a regular venue to myself

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMSugna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Arrived with a reservation, and were sat right at the back, despite the restaurant being half empty. Order taken for food and drinks. Drinks arrived 25 mins later. 40 mins later, still no food. It transpires that food had been delivered to wrong table, and they had eaten it. Weren't offered a complimentary drink or anything. Eventually left, and refused to pay for food....grudgingly paid for drinks. No one in a supervisory role came to speak to us. Very poor customer service. Unable to comment on food....didn't taste any.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“huge let down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

went to la tasca with my family and had to wait 10minutes to get seated on a relatively quiet thursday night. after ordering drinks they took 20minutes to arrive. after asking for our food it eventually came out another 20minutes later and was disappointingly cold. it seemed like they were waiting until all the dishes were ready before they took them out, which is not the idea of tapas. when that food arrived we ordered more food and drinks in the hope that it would arrive soon after we'd finished but they took just as long as the first round. we could see our drinks sitting on the bar for 10 minutes, my mum actually went up to the bar to get them herself! through all this waiting there was no apology from any of the staff who were serving us. i understand places can be busy and the staff have lots to do but waiting 45minutes for cold food with no apology is very disappointing. will not be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cazzmatazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca - Aberdeen also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing