We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice venue, overprived though, sullen staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilau

Kilau
Ranked #73 of 665 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Sit-in and takeaway cafe in historic Old Aberdeen.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nice venue, overprived though, sullen staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

A good venue, nicely done, good location in Old Aberdeen. I've been three times to eat there. Each time it wasn't that busy but I ended up having to go to the counter to order as no one had come over. Perhaps just bad luck as opposed to the norm? However, it seems that no staff member can ever crack a smile, why are they are all so sullen? Is that perhaps quirky?
Food was nice, but overpriced. Twice I've had their breakfast foccacia, which is not cheap, and the price does not include drinks. One cup of coffee and a dry claggy breakfast foccacia came to just over £9.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favourite cafe so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Kilau definitely has the best coffee in Aberdeen. Lovely food. Lovely service. Highly recommended. My combination would have to be the sweet potato, halloumi and chilli jam - more lovliness. And although the chocolate brownies are a top favourite by most, I prefer the scones, which are freshly made and served with jam and clotted cream - delicious!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StephLSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Briliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've been going here for years, but decided to write a review for the reasonably recent addition of the sit in area upstairs. Kilau is all about quality food and drinks, and this is reflected in their upstairs expansion. Wonderful, friendly staff and excellent food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Easily the best coffee in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

An absolute gem. Coffee, food and cake are all fantastic. The only downside is that it is not open on a Sunday!

Helpful?
1 Thank MrTmac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not so hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The city centre branch of Kilau will be sorely missed but the High Street cafe is just fabulous! If anything the coffee, food and atmosphere is even better. If you can have just one thing, have the grapefruit and poppyseed cake - but go early as it runs out fast! The new premises are quirky and comfortable, the staff are charming and efficient. Not good news for my waistline that it is on my way home from work!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilau also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Kilau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing