We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dinning experience”

Mercure Ardoe House Aberdeen
Ranked #203 of 684 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Price range: $86 - $86
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Peterhead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful dinning experience”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Beautiful surroundings. Wonderful food beautifully presented. Had roe deer for main course delicious, soft and tender. Staff delightful, friendly polite and very attentive. Especially David, Alex and Julie Ann. The food takes time to arrive, but I don't want to rush down a meal of that quality - saviour the taste. Pudding, you must try the apple soufflé, the lemon tart was also excellent. We shared the taste of puddings. Lovely coal fire in the lounge bar would have been great to have same in the dinning room. Had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awful awful food and garish decor.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Returned to Ardoe for a meal having got married there last year. Unfortunately the standard of the food was embarrassing, my wife ordered a simple steak pie - it arrived as a strange tasting watery mess. It was basically stock with 3 or 4 bits of meat added, the taste was poor and I would have thought twice about feeding it to my dog. Fish and chips for me - chips were good and that's about it I'm afraid.

Also they seem to have redecorated with wall paper that can only have been selected by someone who was having a laugh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Was here for a big business meeting. Great place and wonderful rooms. Nice bathrooms and big enough rooms for two if you order a doubleroom. Polite staff and very peaceful place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJUNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good nice but it takes ages to arrive at the table”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had to book a table, was none available for 1,5 hours after arrival at the hotel. Then spent more than 2 hours at the table, mostly waiting for courses to arrive. Room is crambed, waiter stumbled repeatedly over one of our chairs, no complementary bread or drinks during the 20 minutes or so between courses. Staff were friendly enough but out of their depth.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“High Tea”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was invited by family to High tea in Ardoe House hotel. On arrival, I was most impressed by the lovely surroundings and grounds. The exterior of the hotel was also very impressive and on entering the reception area I certainly wasn't disappointed. It was beautiful and we were shown into a large lounge where we were shown to our allocated tables. The sofas/chairs were comfortable. Tables were actually too small to accommodate the plates of sandwiches and cakes being served. I felt the staff weren't as efficient as they should have been for this costly, palatial establishment. We requested a plate of sandwiches without butter but when they arrived there were none without butter. The waiter went away and brought a plate of sandwiches without butter and by the request of the chef, he was going to take the buttered ones away! Why? It was their mistake and my friend had handled them! We asked for coffee for 4 and got one pot! (only enough for 3 cups) The Pot of 'tea' was slightly tinted hot water. The cakes were lovely and sandwiches very average so definitely not value for money and as I said, poor service. After being so impressed with the appearance of this establishment, unfortunately the rest of my experience there was disappointing.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercure Ardoe House Aberdeen also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Mercure Ardoe House Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing