We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere, fun time!”
Review of Howies Aberdeen

Howies Aberdeen
Ranked #25 of 671 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Refurbished January 2015. Great fresh seasonal food prepared to order. 2 Large dining areas and 2 Private Dining rooms. Set prices & a la carte. Central Aberdeen. Informal, great value, well established. Excellent wine list. Whether a small intimate dinner for two, business lunch for 12 or a wedding party Howies is the perfect venue.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fun time!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We (three friends) went for a casual dinner at Howies and had a lot of fun thru the evening. It was a Wednesday night, 7:30 booking, and happily, it was not packed. There was a larger party on the other side of the room, but we just added to the happenings with our own conversion and giggles. The staff was very friendly & attentive, from the hostess seating us to both waiters attending to us very well. For dinner, we could have a 2 course meal (£21) or a 3 course meal (£25), and it was delicious. One of us decided their food was a little bland, but otherwise we will definitely come back again. It is Scottish fare, presented very well, the restaurant is clean with an updated contemporary interior and the staff is professional and really do care.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keyrat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
All smiling having read your lovely review. So pleased you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Cheers from the Howies team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    207
    73
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“enjoyable”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We hadn't been to this Howie's for a long time, so as we were attending an event in Aberdeen we thought we'd re-visit. We booked a table (Friday night) and were surprised at how quiet the restaurant was in comparison to past visits over the years. However, that just meant that the service was even more attentive!
The staff were very welcoming and efficient. We opted for the two-course £21 menu and weren't disappointed.
We had some little appetisers to begin (not included in the £21 menu) and they were just right. Followed by mussels, beautifully cooked in a lovely sauce.
Braised beef and the special sea bream up next, accompanied by a side salad of rocket and permesan, again, alll very well cooked and tasted delicious. We debated having dessert but were frankly too full at that point!
Overall, a good experience. Don't know why there weren't more customers for a Friday night because both the waiting and kitchen staff are going a great job - the manager is doing his job well! We'll be back next time we're in Aberdeen.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HowiesRestaurants, Owner at Howies Aberdeen, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is aye much appreciated to get feedback from our customers and makes everyone smile at Howies when it is a review such as this. It was a while since you were last with us - but I do hope it won't be long until you return again. With very best wishes, the Howies Aberdeen team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The food at this palce was lovely. The food tasted freshly prepared and was really great. Service could have been netter but it was a busy lunch hour! Booked to go for dinner next week!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99Keri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Welcoming and great value!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I came here with my sisters for lunch which was only £10 for 2 courses. The manager I remember used to work in cafe boheme and is still very attentive and friendly. I enjoy this place as it is perfect for a really nice lunch, with great service and quiet enough to have a good catch up.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ktsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Steak not up to price charged”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Wife and I dined here on a Saturday evening. Restaurant wasn't as busy as others we tried to book which made us wonder a bit. However, overall our meal was fine. Wife enjoyed her venison very much. I ordered a fillet steak at £27 and was slightly disappointed. Large bit of grizzle hadn't been trimmed off the steak and although ordered rare side of medium I would say it was much rarer than that.
Bannoffee pie was very small - too much 'nouveau cuisine' to be described as a pie.
Don't be put off - it was good, but it just fell short of expectations.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howies Aberdeen also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Howies Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing