We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable clean hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Inverness, Scotland.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed here on business for two days. Rooms are large with everything you would need. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was massive. The in room tea/coffee facilities were hided in a cupboard, found that a little strange. Otherwise a good hotel and I would stay there again no problem.

Room Tip: Try for a room near the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    66
    41
    40
See reviews for
11
86
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I don't usually write hotel reviews but felt I had too for this one as the first of many Aberdeen hotels which I have been greatly disappointed by. I stay in hotels in Aberdeen every other weekend and after noticing this hotel a few times on booking sites (it always seems fully booked) I thought it must be good, so lets give it a go.

Large Room, with large en-suite bathroom and modern decor. However there were towels against the windows where I assume they leak, the shower was cold despite running it minutes beforehand and also there is more pressure in a sink tap! to top of the shower experience I lifted the towel to find it was a hand towel only!

Our room was also located straight across from the stair entrance and also underneath a staircase, needless to say this was slightly annoying whilst trying to get some rest from a long 2 hour drive to Aberdeen. Also for Internet users, there is no signal in this hotel at all, but that could be down to the room location or my network (which works everywhere usually).

Ok so small complaints but when I stay away from home for a night and especially paying these prices I at least expect a comfortable experience, I have experienced better from a basic travelodge, which I cannot believe I am saying. I've also paid less, for example at a Hilton or Boutique hotel and received top service!

Parking is not available.

Little contact with staff so can't really comment, but check in etc was quick, polite and helpful.

Apart from that I can't complain on the cleanliness and the hotel is situated right in front of union square shopping centre, bus/train and local pubs restaurants near by, I think this is the hotels only positive and possibly why it is always busy! either that I am just too picky! But i certainly won't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SG976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Don't normally write reviews but wanted to let people know that this hotel is not worth the money we paid for it. Staff were unwelcoming and unattentive and we were probably put in the worst room despite the receptionist letting us know the hotel was empty! Stayed at a different hotel the previous night in Aberdeen for the same price which was of much greater value for money...Don't go here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Located in the docks area which is admittedly improving. Narrow entrance next to Labrokes and a busy bus stop. Getting there by car is a nightmare at rush hour and parking is on side streets. Staff were delightful and helpful. Room only for 1 night was £130 off late rooms. Top floor room up a series of stairs, strong smell of paint, needed a vacuum, tired furniture and bare minimum of facilities. Decor was in need of attention. Adequate en suite, poor shower pressure, but the mouldy sealant and strong smell of damp indicates an overhaul is overdue. Ironing board provided but no where to store it other than propped up against wardrobe. Street was noisy. Would genuinely prefer a travelodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is close to the centre of town, convenient for the station and so on.
The restaurant and bar are on the ground floor, meaning that reception and rooms are on the first second and third floors with no lift: so not recommended if you will struggle carrying your bags up to three floors by hand. The room was a good size and the en-suite bathroom adequate. My room smelled strongly of paint, but hopefully this is a temporary problem.
OK, but fairly expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Beware no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a very convenient city centre hotel, situated across the street from the rail and bus stations, and within easy walking distance of all the main shopping areas.

The hotel itself is average, and did not exceed in any aspect, but nothing to complain about either.

The price, by Aberdeen standards, for very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurencekirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Lovely big room, everything you would expect and need. Staff extremely helpful, went the extra mile when asked for assistance. Room rather cold at night, extra heater in room, quickly replaced when stopped working. Breakfast lovely.
Great location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#12 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#60 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Property: Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing