We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
Ranked #57 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is located near the station which makes it great for those arriving by train. The rooms vary is size and having stayed here several times, I make sure I get one that is not too small. The staff are very helpful and the breakfasts excellent. This place has a bit of character and is used as a meeting place for an international group

Room Tip: If you need to work as I did, make sure you get a room where the chair can fit in front of the desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crawford49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 300 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

My room on top floor a bit 'tired' (water stains on ceiling, carpets a bit worn, chipped paint and plaster in places) but comfortable enough. Good location in centre - nor that noisy on a wet December night.

Staff on reception and in bistro restaurant very friendly and helpful. Dinner in the bistro excellent (if you are having the mussels for a main course then skip the starter - main course huge) and breakfast just as high quality.

As a reasonably regular business visitor to Aberdeen over the years, this is first place I've stayed where I would certainly return to.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hotel was like a boutique great decor thoughout!! Our room was a double.. good size plenty of space for storage & the bed was very comfertable. We both had cooked breakfasts - very tasty!! Would love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayleigheaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Downside - This hotel was very poor value for money, so I would disagree with the other reviewer that it was good value. Whilst I agree it has been recently done up, its done to a fairly poor standard when compared with others in the vicinity. The room was noisy and street traffic and street noise could be heard most of the night. The reason there is no lift is that this building was once a tenement building in Guild Street close to the harbour and has obviously been converted.
Upside - the staff were friendly and the breakfast was reasonably good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Myself and two friends visited Soprano's for lunch last week, and we felt it was something out of a sitcom or hidden-camera show. When we entered the restaurant we were told the three of us would have to squeeze onto a two-person table, despite the restaurant having several empty tables at the time. We agreed, and were shown to our table, with no menus. We literally waited around 20 minutes to get a drinks order. We then waited approximately 20 minutes again for these drinks to arrive. One drink was thrown over my friend by the waiter as he wrestled with the drinks tray. We then finally made our food order. 15 minutes later, our food arrived. We were rather disappointed to receive a tiny, burned pizza, and two portions of fish and chips, with 12 chips between the two of us. The fish was delicious, as were the chips, but come on, you can afford to give us more than 6 chips, surely!

After waiting ten minutes after asking for ketchup, we gave up and mastered our towers of chips(!) ketchup-less.

Needless to say, a tip was not provided, and I won't be recommending Soprano's to my friends. The restaurant is lovely and has a classy atmosphere, but just seemed so disorganised and disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravelchick000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

As there doesn't appear to be a separate listing for the Sopranos Seafood Bistro & Bar on TripAdvisor, I'm adding this review to the general hotel listing.

The Sopranos Restaurant is my absolute favourite in Aberdeen at the moment. The restaurant itself has a lovely cosy atmosphere, is decorated with very classy touches and the food is outstanding.

So many people in the city don't know that Sopranos even exists and I like it so much I'm hesitant to share! The wine and food both offer excellent value for money and taste amazing. Each time I've visited I've had very fresh and tasty seafood - the mussels with cider and chilli cream sauce are my favourite, so so yummy!

A payday must :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scotshoegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Pleasant hotel and good value. The building is quite old hence no lift and a fiar walk upstairs if your on a higher level. Rooms have been recently done up and in a good standard with lovely classis bathrooms. The restaurant/bar downstairs coneected to the hotel is excellent. Location is perfect for weekend shopping trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danta83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#50 of 65 in Aberdeen
682 reviews
0.1 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#60 of 65 in Aberdeen
507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#41 of 65 in Aberdeen
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
Copthorne Hotel Aberdeen
#42 of 65 in Aberdeen
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel

Address: 20/22 Guild Street, Aberdeen AB11 6NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range: $47 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique baronial style hotel in the heart of Aberdeen's city centre. Adjacent to the train station, harbour and airport bus link. At the entrance of the city's Merchant Quarter with it's independent boutiques, bars and brasseries. Two minutes walk from all the key theatres, art galleries and museums. Superb Wine Bar and Mediterranean restaurant with live entertainment at weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing