We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel (i think)”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
aberdeen, scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel (i think)”
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Stayed here with my wife for a romantic night, our first impressions were quickly changed for the worse, on checking in we were informed there would no electricity the next morning between 10-11am for maintenance work (I KID YOU NOT) although the staff are very nice.

Our room for the money £145 was a let down, carpet sticking up, toilet seat broken, and view from the window a wall 2 feet away, no snacks in the mini fridge, only got one bath towel.

Never ate in the hotel so cant rate the evening menu, bar is really nice with friendly staff and good choice of drinks, breakfast the next morning was good, lots of choice but we had to hurry before the electric was switched off.

Back to the room to get ready to leave, yep you guessed it the electric went off so had to get changed and packed in the dark.

NEVER in all my years have i ever came across anything like this in a so called top hotel, we had to up and leave because the whole hotel was in darkess.

This a nice hotel let badly down by silly little problems, and as such i wouldnt go back, there's far better hotels in Aberdeen that charge a lot less as well...

As for the electric........?????????????

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossyvzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    293
    165
    87
    48
See reviews for
110
452
66
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We were a group of 6 women who booked in for a "girl's night in". Our stay began at 1pm with a back scrub and massage in the Petit Spa, the therapists were excellent and very professional. Then back to our lovely rooms for some free wine and DVDs. We were promised nibbles, were not expecting the 3 huge trays of open sandwiches, mini fish and chips, bowls of stew, mini burgers and sweets that we received. The staff were excellent, even responded to our drunk phonecalls to come and take our photo's (sorry guys!). Well above the call of duty. Breakfast in the morning was gorgeous. Cannot fault the lovely hotel at all, except for the noise 6 drunk women probably made!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstysnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Stay at this hotel a lot and I have allways been looked after very well by all the staff, booking in advance can get you some good deals, the only small let down is that the hotel does not have a quiet lounge area where you can read and relax, it is either the bar or brassiere or your room, they have a good range of food at varying prices but staying in the place regularly means you soon go through the menu choices, the lighting in the Brassierie could do with being a bit brighter but those two very small niggles aside it is a nice hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keredewor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

The Malmaison has lovely spacious rooms and bathrooms with a contemporary Scottish decor that looks great. Beds were comfortable, linen good quality and bathroom towels thick and fluffy. It is in a good location in Queens Road, Aberdeen. There are around ten parking spaces at the front entrance to the hotel and more at the rear ( not accessible from Queens Road). However after spending six days there at 155 pounds per night, I can see the flaws!

Internet access for 30 minutes is free. 24 hour access costs 10 pounds and you have to go through a convoluted process which includes putting in your credit card number to get a voucher. Why not just charge the cost to the room as other hotels do?

Free fresh milk may be ordered the night before required however the staff phoned to let us know that the milk was outside our door - wish we hadn't asked for it at 7am! Don't bother turning on the cold tap on the bath as the water does not get hot enough to have a relaxing bath.

The brasserie continues the contemporary Scottish decor theme but the ''ambience'' of the evening lighting makes it very difficult to read the small print on the menu. We would recommend the rib eye steak (270g for 20 pounds and fifty pence and 700g for 35 pounds) but that's all you get - vegetables are extra. Don't bother with the bland smoked haddock fishcake ( I was unable to detect any hint of haddock) at 12 pounds and fifty pence or the equally bland macaroni cheese at ten pounds and fifty pence. On top of the meal, a ''discretionary'' service charge is imposed. The staff were friendly but need more training. We ordered a bottle of wine. The server sloshed the wine into my glass and when my husband asked if we could taste it - the response was, "If you like." Breakfast was hit or miss. We ordered bacon two mornings - one on the Eggs Benedict and the other on a breakfast roll - the bacon was so hard as to be inedible both times and when we pointed this out, we were met with a shrug from the server.
Despite these criticisms we would stay at the Malmaison again but would eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Stayed at the malmison Aberdeen for a night with two friends, we satyed on a sunday and took advantage of the sunday deal. This hotel is excellant in every way. Rooms stylish and clean. Food and bar excellant. The staff where helpful in every way. We stayed for one night and did want to leave, treated like royalty from the minute you walk intot he hotel.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sb23Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I stayed in this hotel during an exhibition where nothing else seemed to be avaliable. I reckon this must have been one of the reasons why my PA booked us in there. The hotel itself is modern with modern clean rooms, comfy beds, iron, flat screens telly etc. My critiscm is the price and the fact that you have to pay an extra £13 on top of £180 for a room. Would I stay there again, maybe but I would look for somewhere else too.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoz4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

This was my second stay in Malmaison Aberdeen, and again we booked a superior room via the hotel website. Last time we were also in a superior room, but this room was even bigger and better than before. Have a look at the photos to see why - an enormous floorspace, tasteful furnishings, plenty of seating, a great bathroom...

I like this hotel for several reasons. The entranceway is very well decorated and creates just the sort of impression you'd want to give to guests from overseas. The lobby, bar area and restaurant are equally stylish, and there are lots of quirky touches to enjoy. The staff were helpful and friendly. Despite being quite busy there's a very intimate feel to the hotel, and from arrival to departure (around 24 hours, including dinner in the brasserie and breakfast the following morning) it felt a little like we had the place to ourselves. And again, look at the room photos to see quite how high quality the surroundings are.

We ate twice in the Brasserie (evening meal and breakfast); both occasions were enjoyable with good service in keeping with our general experience in the hotel. My girlfriend made use of the hotel spa and this was generally very good too.

My only criticism of the hotel is its internet policy. They give all guests a free 30 minutes internet access, but beyond that it's voucher access at £5 for an 8 hour session. I think that's a bit mean, considering that everything else in the hotel is of such high quality. It certainly didn't spoil my stay though, and if internet was essential it's probably worth paying slightly extra for it.

All in all, a great stay in a great hotel. We'll be back, if not to Aberdeen, then to sister hotels in the chain. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank so3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#20 of 65 in Aberdeen
341 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.1 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing