We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a Great Spot!”
Review of Malmaison Aberdeen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Aberdeen
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such a Great Spot!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have now stayed at the Mal three years in a row and it gets better every time. I love the bar and restaurant and the decor is fantastic! All of the people are lovely and the food is amazing. It's also a perfect location to walk to downtown Aberdeen, if you ever want to leave.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lhot234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    289
    159
    85
    47
See reviews for
105
439
60
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
437 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Best hotel experience so far in the granite city, beautiful and incredibly big rooms for Aberdeen with a fair price to quality value. The service was great at every touch point, but in particular at check in. Great ambience at the bar and a beautifully set restaurant with superb steaks. All in, a place for repeated stays and easy to recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

It's such a shame to have to write this but after no repsonse from Amy the reception manager this is our last resort :( Having stayed at Malmaison Aberdeen many, many times my partner and I are huge fans. The suites are all a great standard, the bar and restaurant offer a great selection and the staff are (usually) always on hand to go the extra mile. Unfortunately, after booking the Balmoral for an extremely special date in June this year we were sorely let down. I booked the room the week before and popped in to the hotel on the Friday before our stay the following week to drop off a few things. At this point I double (and triple) checked that we would get the correct suite as Malmaison Aberdeen had made this mistake before. Yes- assured it will be ready for us to check in at 3pm, delighted to have us back etc.etc. Two days later we received a phone call to say that the room had been scheduled to have maintenance done and would not be available... this fiasco of it not, then will, then not be available continued for the next two days. The day before our reservation I spoke to a staff member who put me on hold whilst she spoke with maintenance - she informed me the room would 100% be ready and not to panic. At this point we had now spoken to about 4 different staff members all of whom told us different stories. On the day we were due to check-in we then recieved a call from the reception manager to say the repair would take longer and that we could not have the room. She then offered us a slight discount and said we could check-in to another room and get ready then come back after the special event to the room. We explained that the whole reason for splashing out on a £300+ per night suite is to enjoy the experience of getting ready in it and that returning to a room at 1am to sleep for a few hours and having staff move our belongings was unacceptable. We also explained that this had happened before and were offered a much more appropriate solution. We ended up staying somewhere else. We were left to feel like our "valued" custom wasn't worth more than a small discount off the room and the impact which the whole fiasco had on our special day was horrendous. We left her with our email address and asked that, when she had come up with a suitable means of improving our terrible, disappointing experience, that she should just drop us an email. Still waiting on said email.... Such a tremendous disappointment to be made so aware that choosing to host a special event with Malmaison Aberdeen really doesn't mean anything at all to them, and that despite over 3 years of repeat custom no real effort has been made to redeem being messed around so much. Lesson - don't rely on Malmaison Aberdeen for your special events....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BattleGroundsAberdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Malmaison. Situated on a leafy residential street, yet close enough to town, the hotel mixes style and comfort. The room was large and comfortable, nicely styled. The décor in the bar and the restaurant were excellent and did not feel like hotel dining at all. The quality of the food was excellent. Would stay here every time in Aberdeen.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I always find this hotel unfriendly. From the bottle of wine in the room demanding payment if opened to the dark rooms. The stylish look is everything and it feels like the hotel expect you to pay extra for not much. The restaurant is variable and can leave you waiting ages for food. I would always go somewhere else given the choice to be in a more friendly establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngfamilyondaysout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Malmaison in Aberdeen. Checking in was a smooth process. Our room was lovely however the bed was very very hard. One of the most uncomfortable beds I have ever slept in.

We had a drink in the bar and then went through and ate in the restaurant. The food served in the restaurant is very very average and not at all worth the money. The waitress, whilst polite and friendly did not advise on side dishes which needed to be ordered given the main courses didn’t come with any veg etc!

We checked out early the next day as we weren’t impressed and had little sleep due to the bed being so uncomfy. When we checked out we were given a copy of our bill. My husband handed over his card before I asked them to confirm the total amount. I could not for the life of me understand why our bill was much more than we were expecting. I asked for a copy and was provided with a very basic room charge and meal charge. No breakdown. The girl on reception was very helpful and I asked if she could give me a breakdown of the total amount which she did and we then discovered why our bill was so much - the bar staff had put a number of other people's drinks on our room tab.

I explained that we had paid for our drinks in cash at the bar. The receptionist was very apologetic and removed all the extra charges.

However it goes to show how easy it can be done in the hotel bar to put your drinks on someone else's tab. You just state the room you are staying in and the bar staff print out a receipt with the guests name on the bottom and you just have to sign it. Anyone could give a room number and sign someone else's initials!

All in all a very disappointing stay and we won't be returning to stay over or dine in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall this was a pleasant and relaxing place to stay with enough little luxuries to make it have a special feel. The room was spacious and well furnished although the bathroom could do with a small makeover. The staff were polite and upbeat.
Breakfast was OK but not brilliant whilst the bar the prvious night looked a fantastic place to spend a whle evening in...maybe next time as I'd certainly stay here again.
One final point concerns the subdued lighting which for those of us getting a little visually impaired was bordering on the edge of becoming a concern - however it befitted the hotel concept.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#20 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
1.4 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Aberdeen

Property: Malmaison Aberdeen
Address: 49-53 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#21 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Aberdeen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malmaison Aberdeen is the latest luxury hotel to join the Malmaison family. This boutique hotel used to be the famous Queen’s Hotel and truly is fit for a Queen. Retreat from daily life in the spa or enjoy a work out at the gym. Look no further than Malmaison Aberdeen for the perfect venue for business trips or leisure breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Aberdeen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Aberdeen Hotel Aberdeen
Malmaison Hotel Aberdeen
Aberdeen Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Aberdeen Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing