We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find and highly recommended”
Review of The Foodstory Cafe

The Foodstory Cafe
Ranked #20 of 675 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Healthy, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great find and highly recommended”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

It is difficult to find fault with this cafe. The decor is fresh and modern with a nice relaxed atmosphere. The staff were friendly, patient, knowledgeable and efficient. And the food - for vegetarians/vegans it is great to be so well catered for. The wraps were imaginative and tasty and the chocolate/hazelnut cake with avocado icing was simply delicious. The owners obviously love food and get all the details right. It seems to have already picked up a well deserved following and I will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alasdair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    107
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful cafe”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a great little cafe on Thistle St. Wonderful food - great selection!!! Healthy with lots of high quality ingredients. I've yet to get a chance to sit in (as it's always so busy) but the atmosphere & decor inside is very welcoming. Staff all very happy & truly seem to enjoy working there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tea for two”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Great for tea, coffee, cake or a bite to eat. Great selection of food made from local produce and a choice if home made soups and bakes. Why go to one if the big coffee chains when you can go somewhere like this?

Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An asset to Aberdeen”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Having moved up here from Glasgow I was lamenting the lack of this sort of eatery that I loved about the central belt. But foodstory is maybe better than anywhere else I've been. Artisan sandwiches with high quality ingredients and full of flavour, original hearty soups, a great selection of cakes (though I was too full to eat one on this visit, generous portions) and expertly made coffee. A great atmosphere, with friendly staff who were patient and kindly despite the fact the place was very busy. Faultless. I love this place, and will become a regular.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Truthteller2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty ...”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I walked past twice before I could find the cafe but once inside it was welcoming and warm. I opted for a bacon roll (it was not possible to have an egg roll) and a pot of tea. The bacon roll was well presented with a small side salad and a great dressing. The tea came in a real glass teapot and was just how I like it - strong!

On a personal note, I would prefer the music slightly louder in order not hear all discussions between staff and customers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craftyfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foodstory Cafe also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to The Foodstory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing