We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rock & Oyster - CLOSED

Rock & Oyster
Price range: $18 - $64
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Modern, seafood restaurant in a relaxed atmosphere,great decor with professional service
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

3 of us ate here on a week day evening - the restaurant was half full at 730 and there were no new diners after us. Very slow at taking our order and after 1 1/4 hours, we received our main course after unexciting starters. I had the scallops - 4 medium sized morsels with 4 tiny black pudding bon bons and a small portion of mash. Tasty but not filling, the sauce a little overpowering and not good value at nearly £20. My friend had the sea bass - 2 fillets on a bed of wild rice and a drizzle of jus - no veg and again, not very good value. When we asked our friend who had the cod how it was, we were met with a shrug of his shoulders. Service was fine but on the cool side - attempts at interaction weren't met with reciprocation. Dessert was 1 choice and didn't appeal so we left after the mains. Wine is reasonably priced but at £17 (blackboard error?) for the special ale 330ml and even £7 for the plain ale, this was surprising. We weren't asked how anything was and we weren't compelled to offer our views as we were all a little deflated. It just wasn't all that.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curlypow44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chefRyanFowler, Manager at Rock & Oyster, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Hi there I am disappointed that you didn't have the best experience whilst dining at our restaurant especially that you say the staff didn't check on your meals throughout the service I will look into this as it is not acceptable.

We do point out comment cards to our customers so we can get constructive feedback from people at the restaurant and I am very sorry that you didn't feel confident enough to leave comments with the staff on the evening,as if pointed out we would have done something to reconcile this for you.
Just about the food all portions are costed and consistently the same every time and never had an issue with portion sizes so again I apologise if they were 2small for yourself. I would like to point out to yourself we do not serve jus with our sea bass it's a light beer sauce and as we state on our menu full descriptions of what's on the plate and there is no mention of vegetables on these dishes so I am little surprised by that comment. If requested at the the time for vegetables as extra we would have happily accommodated.

As for the beers we do offer normal priced standard lagers/beers on our drinks list, the craft beers are all speciality items as staff do point out to everyone when they arrive and again we have never had negative comments about this infact our craft beers are some of our best sellers.
As for the bottle that was £17 no blackboard error this is a special limited edition item that we were lucky enough to get a hold off, again if enquirer at the time our staff would have had no problem pointing out the reasons we have a multi award wining ale on at this price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    23
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
140 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice meal here. A good choice of dishes, mostly fish, including oysters. Well priced and beautifully presented. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and we will definitely go back again. It is well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank GSN51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcin K, Manager at Rock & Oyster, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Dear GSN51,

We are extremely happy to hear Rock&Oyster was able to provide you with great experience and we would be delighted to welcome you again in near future to show you new, even better hospitality level

Kind regards,
Marcin Krutul
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Happy Days at HMT and definitely happy days at the Rock- Oyster. My mum and I both very much enjoyed our meal. The scallops starter was stunning as was the Calamari (no elastic bands here) very well cooked. Mum had the fish pie it was jam packed with fish with a delicious bechamel sauce, topped with fluffy tattie, the mackerel and mussel chowder was the best Id eaten - the little 'scones' that accompanied it was a nice touch. The staff were very attentive and always with a smile. We will definitely be back. Thanks for a lovely time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMT10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcin K, Manager at Rock & Oyster, responded to this review, December 4, 2014
Hello KarenMT10,

Thank you for sharing your experience you had at Rock&Oyster and i hope we can provide with great food and drinks very soon

Kind regards,
Marcin Krutul
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Experience ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Had a meal here for my girlfriend's birthday. Booked via the internet, all very smooth.

Nice simple pleasant decor in restaurant, it was a bit noisy but mainly due to the low ceiling and being very busy. Looks a little cramped on first impressions but it isn't at all. Furniture doesn't really match the quality of food, something just a little too basic about it. Tablecloths would have made all the difference.

The food and wine were delicious and the service was very good. The local seafood was fabulous. The portion sizes were just right. The prices were good, a three course meal for two was

A few small things, a cheese knife would have been better for the cheeseboard, the dessert menu was very small, and the cheddar on the cheeseboard was exceptionally strong, a smaller portion would have been more suited to my taste but not a complaint.

Female toilet has a hilariously rocky toilet seat, which does need to be fixed. The lock on the men's toilet door wouldn't work, which is a nuisance more than a complaint. However the toilet roll dispenser was too small for the rolls and I had to retrieve each sheet individually,

All in all a very pleasant experience, would recommend for an affordable meal with great food.

Helpful?
Thank Bimbo2Baggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcin K, Manager at Rock & Oyster, responded to this review, December 19, 2014
Dear BimboBaggins,

Thank you for your great review about Rock&Oyster and i can just apologise for not responding to it earlier.

I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience in April and assure you of all little mentioned faults been fixed by now. Décor is slightly different now and menu along with food quality and service has improved since.

i would be delighted to be able to welcome you at Rock&Oyster again in near future to present you with our hospitality level

Kind regards
Marcin Krutul
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Post-Theatre Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Many thanks for the excellent meal we both enjoyed after the show 'Let it be!' Thoroughly enjoyed the Cullen Skink and Haddock & chips - the young member of staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant - very efficient service - all adding to a thoroughly enjoyed meal out! Many thanks

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcin K, Manager at Rock & Oyster, responded to this review, January 14, 2015
Sandy C,

We're very glad you enjoyed our hospitality and hoping to be able to welcome you to our restaurant again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Marcin Krutul
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock & Oyster also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing