We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic room, food, leisure facilities, and well situated.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic room, food, leisure facilities, and well situated.”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

The room was above expectation, very well presented and had everything we needed. The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was one of the best we have had at a hotel; buffet style but all fresh good food. Leisure facilites extremely good and added to a relaxing weekend.
Situated on the outskirts of Aberdeen, just a few minutes into town, very convenient for everything without being in the centre itself.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C4TMKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    372
    113
    45
    21
See reviews for
243
365
31
294
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Wasn't overly impressed with the hotel when we first saw it. It is situated at the edge of an industrial estate, about 10 minutes outside Aberdeen City Centre, and the outside of the hotel gives an impression of mediocrity. However, once you step inside that impression changes immediately. Everything about the hotel, and our stay was top notch. For a very reasonable rate, my wife and 2 kids (aged 8 and 10) shared a spacious and extremely clean family room. The room was equipped with a flat screen tv, with more than enough channels, and the bathroom was very generously kitted out.

We used the leisure facilities on both evenings of our stay, and they were also well kept and clean, and the staff were extremely friendly. This was also the case with the bar/restaurant staff, who were very friendly, attentive and were very good with dealing with kids.

If you're looking for somewhere in Aberdeen I would highly recommend the Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilkenny-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

This hotel is very close to the Aberdeen airport which is why we chose it. We just needed a place to stay the night before our flight out of Scotland. When I saw the outside, I was very dubious. Looked rather run down. But when you walk inside - WOW. It's like a totally different place! Very nice. The mattresses weren't very comfortable, but that's my only complaint. Our room was very spacious, with two doubles, a long desk, a round table with three chairs, and another couple of comfy sitting chairs. The decor was very chic and the hotel was very clean. We got a great value from Orbitz - I think husband paid 60 some pounds - but it seemed like an incredible value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, Scotland.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

This was the first time we stayed in the Thistle Altens and would certainly stay there again. Staff very helpful, rooms were lovely and the breakfast was one of the best we have ever had in a hotel - piping hot food and very tasty. Wouldn't stay there without a car. All of us found the hotel suffocatingly hot, it had been very warm in Aberdeen, but the rooms were stifling and the higher up you went, the worse it got. One word of warning - if you get a deal on the internet, take your confirmation booking with you showing the price. Both my daughter and ourselves were informed by reception staff that the price of our rooms were a lot more than we had been quoted on the internet , but once we queried this, there was not a problem, but beware.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I would like to say thanks to the staff at the hotel,
The hotel its self is not a lot to look at from the outside,but when you go inside its very very nice.The rooms are very big and the bed, well lets say you need a map to get from one side to another,its the biggest i have seen,The pool was cleen as well.
Would i go back well yes 100%

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraserrobertson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We will like to express our gratitude for each and every person under the hotel management who made the effort to make us feel at home in every way they could.
Here is our promise to return to this hotel whenever we come back to Aberdeen as well as to recommend Thistle hotels without excitation.
Thank you once again.
Yours Sincerely
Carole Ann and Armando Jimenez

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armandojorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Me and wife stayed here while I was on a course in Aberdeen. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly but if you're going to Aberdeen for sight seeing do not stay here. It would be worthit to spend some extra $$ on the room rather than pay taxi fares.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinoOdjick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
I was pleased o hear you were satisfied with the allocation of your room and the customer service however i was disappointed to hear we were unable to cater for all your needs in terms of the location of the hotel.
I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,849 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing