We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$92
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$78
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$75
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,816)
Filter reviews
1,816 results
Traveler rating
923
615
182
61
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
615
182
61
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreleisure facilitiesan industrial estateswimming poolsteam roomthistle hoteltwo double bedslovely hotelleisure clubshort breakgood sizelovely rooman upgradeexcellent value for moneypleasant stayexcellent staywould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,713 - 1,718 of 1,816 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I would like to say thanks to the staff at the hotel,
The hotel its self is not a lot to look at from the outside,but when you go inside its very very nice.The rooms are very big and the bed, well lets say you need a map to get from one side to another,its the biggest i have seen,The pool was cleen as well.
Would i go back well yes 100%

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fraserrobertson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We will like to express our gratitude for each and every person under the hotel management who made the effort to make us feel at home in every way they could.
Here is our promise to return to this hotel whenever we come back to Aberdeen as well as to recommend Thistle hotels without excitation.
Thank you once again.
Yours Sincerely
Carole Ann and Armando Jimenez

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armandojorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Me and wife stayed here while I was on a course in Aberdeen. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly but if you're going to Aberdeen for sight seeing do not stay here. It would be worthit to spend some extra $$ on the room rather than pay taxi fares.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinoOdjick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRManagerthistle, CRManagerthistle at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2010

I was pleased o hear you were satisfied with the allocation of your room and the customer service however i was disappointed to hear we were unable to cater for all your needs in terms of the location of the hotel.
I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

This hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would definately go back again. My hubby and I stayed for 2 nights there and were impressed by the hotel itself with a brilliant gym and the pool, although quite small was excellent. The manager (Mick) was most friendly and blethered away to us. The only let down for us was the bar prices and the breakfast was a bit disappointing too. Breakfast had obviously been lying for a while as the portion of beans had a film on it and it was impossible to eat the bacon with a fork as it was so hard you couldn't get it on it! The bar prices...... we ordered a bottle of Gaymers cider, a malibu and fresh orange and we were charged £9.70 for these (£4.50 for the cider, £3.50 for the measure of malibu and £1.70 for the orange juice), 5 star hotel prices in a 3 star hotel accommodation. Not out us off though but we will not be doing food or drink there next time! Town is about 4 miles away so you can't walk it unless your keen or really fit!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lurv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tthistle, Customer Relations Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2009

Many thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Thistle Aberdeen Altens. I was pleased to read that your enjoyed the Spa at the hotel, although disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the breakfast offering and you found the bar prices too high. We do constantly benchmark ourselves in our pricing of a range of standard food and beverage items against local competitor hotels. During a recent comparison we found ourselves to be the same, or in many cases, less expensive for like for like for like items in local properties. Following your feedback I will ensure these prices are re-looked at so that we are matching our competitors and offering competitive prices.
The breakfast offering you have described is completely unacceptable and I will be sure to pass your comments to the relevant teams to ensure this issue is addressed. Please accept my sincere apologises and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I stay in this hotel very regularly, not because it's nice (It's not) but because it's the only hotel in the Altens area of Aberdeen.

The rooms are very tired and dated. I believe some have been refurbished but i've never had the privilege of being in one in the 8 years i've been using the hotel.

The food is adequate but you will have to wait for a table. Last night (Monday) i went into the dining room at 1900hrs, i got a table at 2130hrs. The young staff were so polite and apologetic, there were 3 members of staff missing and no supervisor / manager to be seen.

There is nothing to do around the hotel, it's in an industrial estate. A shell garage and burger king is your lot.

Don't fall for the "This hotel is only a short distance from the city centre" a taxi will cost £12 and at peak traffic will take up to 45 minutes. If you want to go into the city, stay in the city.

All in all, if you are doing business in Altens than you have no choice but to stay here. If your not working in Altens stay somewhere else, Travel Loges are a fraction of the price and much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B16DUG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews