We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed for 1 night, lovely welcome at Reception, all staff were very nice. We had steak and chips and peppercorn sauce, yummy, loved the chips in the small basket. Loads to choose for breakfast. We also got upgraded for free to an Executive room, free Wi-fi but maybe just my phone as I couldn't get connected. Had a great sleep in comfy bed, hotel and bedroom spotless. There were robes and slippers, iron and ironing board as well. We didn't use the swimming pool, spa, etc but our friends enjoyed it. It's only 2 miles from Aberdeen train station, highly recommend but bring your own cider, they sell Stella cidre but this is not cider, they need to stock Strongbow or Magners.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Alison R,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for sharing a review. I'm pleased to read you had a lovely stay and the team took good care of you.

We really appreciate you recommending the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very good bed and breakfast rate for winter. Exterior looks like a prison block, however quite pleasant inside. The upgraded executive bedroom with 2 double beds and refurbished room was comfortable with 2 reclining armchairs, tea and coffee and free wifi, iron and ironing board - shoe horn would have been nice, though. Unofrtunately no view and little daylight as Otium spa has been built in a box a few feet from the window. The corridors are cold; the rooms are heating by air and do not have radiators for drying wet things. Otium spa is quite nice but at the end of the day the changing rooms are dirty as they do not seems to be regularly cleaned during the day. The swimming pool is nice, attractive quite warm water but small. Surroundings are a bit chilly. To get to the spa you have to proceed along a virtually unheated corridor with large glass walls - brrr - dash through.
Staff in hotel are of many nationalities, very helpful and pleasant - Health spa - less so. Breakfast bar a bit variable but pretty fair, Restaurant freezing as unheated ( a few electric fires!!) but food not bad (had fried fish and steak) - quite accceptable,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yonkel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear yonkel21,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the hotels facilities and thank you for recognising the friendly service provided by the team.

We did encounter an issue which caused the heating in the public areas to fail. This was quickly resolved but please accept my apologies for any discomfort this caused you.

The changing rooms are cleaned regularly but I will discuss your feedback with the team and see if there are any improvements that can be made.

Thanks again for providing your feedback, hopefully we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Off to a bad start before we left home. My husband had booked a suite as it was the start of a birthday treat for me. Three days before we were due we were told it was unavailable as being refurbished. We took a king sized room but were disappointed as we had booked in October and it was a special birthday. Outside not much but room was ok. Smart, clean (my husband-still not happy-checked thoroughly) and the bed was comfortable however it was nothing special and no effort was made at customer service-knowing we were disappointed someone could have put a chocolate on the pillow or offered a free drink.. We used the pool which was lovely, clean and warm and uncrowded. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast and all were very very good and the service at all three was excellent.especially the young girl at lunch in the bar/bistro and the young lad in the evening at the same place. Whilst we were there it was not possible to find fault with anyone working there or the room but the short notice change of booking would make us think twice about booking for an occasion.

Room Tip: Can't help as you don't necessarily get what you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyAmblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear HappyAmblers,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased to hear you found your room smart and clean, your meals and service excellent and could not find fault with anything. I can only apologise for the disappointment in the suite not being available, the plans for refurbishment were not finalised until December and it was not until January that we decided to include the suite as part of the project. We are investing over £330,000 in this refurbishment project so due to the high costs involved it was not possible to delay the suite unfortunately.

We did email you several weeks prior to your stay but I understand you had trouble accessing your email account. You also mention "no effort was made at customer service-knowing we were disappointed " however we took £115 off your bill which was agreed with yourselves.

I am very sorry the suite was not available to you, our intention is to improve the hotel not to let down our valued guests so please accept my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused. I hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future and should you choose to book with us again please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your stay.

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We attended the Hogmanay dinner with Canadian family. Hotel very unattractive from outside but much more appealing inside. Bit of bother with our booking but once sorted it was a nice enough stay. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The service at the bar was slow and the food was average but for the money it was reasonable. We asked the Food and Beverage Manager for a vegetarian option for one of our party and his manner was appalling-verged on rude and dismissive. Training in customer service required!
We were also so embarrassed as party-goers were fighting outside! Again this manager's attitude escalated the incident and he "managed" it really poorly and needed help from residents. He needs further training clearly! Other staff were pleasant enough but what a shame one member of staff's attitude is what we remember most of another wise pleasant stay!
We enjoyed the extensive breakfast buffet-again no vegetarian option other than the usual eggs etc-but there was plenty of other choices. We used the leisure facilities which were refreshing on New Year's Day and enjoyed the late checkout. It was an overall average experience. Would perhaps stay again for a night but wouldn't return for Hogmanay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeanneDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear LeanneDundee,

Thank your for finding the time to write a review, I was really disappointed to read you left the hotel feeling satisfied and would like to extend my personal apologies.

I am pleased to hear you found your room clean and pleasant and had "a nice enough stay" but was obviously concerned to read of the other issues you encountered.

The Food & Beverage Manager wasn't actually in the ballroom on Hogmanay but I will investigate this matter further. We pride ourselves on offering excellent customer service, which is highlighted by previous reviews and I can only apologise if this was not shown to you.

We offer a huge range of items for vegetarians on the breakfast buffet ranging from cereals, fruits, pancakes, porridge, pastries to hot dishes including potato scones, hash browns, beans, mushrooms and scrambled or fried eggs. We also have a dedicated egg chef on the buffet station who will cook omelettes, poached eggs, egg benedict etc. fresh to order. We keep a stock of vegetarian sausages but these are cooked on requested. You can also make a request at the time of booking for any special items or products and we will do our best to source them.

It is shame there was an incident outside the hotel, however after investigating the situation and receiving feedback from other guests I am satisfied the staff dealt with it in an efficient and safe manner. It is frustrating that the selfish actions of others has tarnished your stay with us but I can personally assure you this is not something that we have ever encountered before.

Thanks again for the feedback, I am pleased to hear you would stay again in the future, hopefully we can restore your faith in the hotel on your next visit.

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Loved my short stay staff great rooms good food excellent,the arranged excursion was perfectly organised and run very smoothly and wouldn't hesitate in future to similar arranged trips thanks Derek Grant

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekGra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear DerekGra,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for sharing a review. I am really pleased to hear your stay and excursion went smoothly and the facilities exceeded your expectations.

I will share your review with the team and hopefully we'll get the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent New Year at Thistle Hotel Altens Aberdeen and thoroughly enjoyed our night with great music by 5th Avenue , superb dinner , comfy bed and the best breakfast ever.
We live locally but enjoy going to the Hotel in the afternoon and relaxing.
For holidaymakers it is ideal because the bus stop is nearby and the bus takes you right into the heart of the city.

Room Tip: We had room 106 on the ground floor which suited us as we were only there for one night and not fuss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

“Hogmany Gala”

Dear Anne G,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Hogmanay with us, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay, in particular the band, dinner and comfy bed!

We've re-booked the 5th Avenue Band for this year's Hogmanay Gala and we're already working to make it bigger and better than this year.

Thanks again for the review, I will make sure the team read your kind comments.

Look forward to seeing you soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Cannot fault the staff or hotel, excellent service all round. Hotel was very busy but staff were more than capable of coping at breakfast, excellent choices. Hotel kept our luggage on 1st jan until we could collect. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 000186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear 000186487,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us gain and for the great review! We really appreciate you finding the time to share your feedback.

Myself and the team hope we get the chance to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#22 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,256 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,047 reviews
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $48 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing