We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT, the staff are a credit to the hospitality trade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Hotel is exceptionally clean and tidy. The staff can’t do enough for you, always available to assist. I would like to express my deepest thanks and gratitude to Laura, who works in reception. She was extremely professional and kind with an enormous personality which shows the Thistle Hotel off in its best light. Her attention to detail sets her apart from her counterparts. Nothing appears to be too much trouble and she is always willing to give that little bit extra to ensure the job is completed without compromise. Anyone thinking of spending time in this hotel regardless of business or pleasure wont regret it, thank you for making my stay so nice. I give you all A ++++++++++++

Thanking you all very kindly

Mr S M Lanzon

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMON L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Mr Lanzon,

Thank you for such a nice review! I am very proud indeed of the team we have at Thistle Altens so it is great when they get recognised by our valued guests. Your feedback was spotted by our CEO who personally thanked Laura for the excellent service she provides. We are very lucky to have her as part of our team!

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I've been in similar hotels before in Aberdeen that were ok, but I stayed in this hotel for 8 weeks and could not find a fault anywhere. All the staff are extremely friendly, polite and professional, from the girls in reception to the restaurant/bar staff - always making you feel welcome. The room quality/cleanliness was done to a high standard and the facilities were excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is wanting a pleasant stay in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Matthew H,

Thank you very much indeed for such a great review! I am delighted to read you enjoyed your 8 week stay with us and could not find fault anywhere, we really couldn't ask for better feedback than that! Your kind comments about the team will be greatly appreciated when I share your review with them.

We all hope you will choose Thistle Altens the next time you are in Aberdeen.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Good location which is ideal for access to Alten Estate. As you would expect a lot of rig workers mid week. Big hotel with good facilities.
Service good.
Rooms clean and a good size with comfortable beds.
Free parking which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear pauwed,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Thistle Altens and for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we get to welcome you back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself and daughters stayed in the hotel on the 8th June 2013, the hotel on the outside is not particularly appealing,but the minute you walk into reception it's is fabulous.
All staff are extremely polite and helpful, the rooms are very nice and comfortable, the food was excellent.
And as for the facilities such as the gym and pool were first class, would highly recommend staying at this hotel.




Se

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Carol A,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens. It's great to hear you and your daughters had a fantastic stay and would recommend the hotel.

I will share your kind comments with the team and we all hope we get to welcome you back the next time you are visiting the area.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Unusually for Aberdeen the hotel is staffed by friendly staff who actually make you feel welcome. I have stayed at this hotel half a dozen times during the past 6 months and each time I have felt very happy with the accommodation and service. The gym is well-equipped, the breakfast is excellent, even though the hotel is quite old now it doesn't show as the decor, facilities and general upkeep is first class. I can't comment on value for money as the company paid each time. The food is a standard Thistle menu but is excellently presented and delicious. The only downside is the distance from the airport and town centre (£20 in a taxi from the airport) but otherwise an excellent stay. Hoping the company will put me in there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrInfinity001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear PeterWWW,

Thank you for staying at Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens and for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that each one of your stays with us has been good and the team has taken good care of you. I will share your kind comments with the them, which I'm sure they will appreciate.

We invest a great deal of time and money to keep the hotel looking clean and fresh so it's really rewarding to have this acknowledged by our valued guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed on Saturday the 1st of June.
The Hotel is just perfect.
Very clean with big rooms, good size bathrooms, good facilities to use.
Location is good, only 12 minutes from Aberdeen City Centre
The staff was extremely helpful and polite.
Breakfast was perfect too, a selection of European and Scottish.
Very good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear n v,

Thank you indeed for such a great review! It is always a pleasure to read our guests have had an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us.

I hope it won’t be too long before you return to enjoy another stay with us at Thistle Aberdeen Altens

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Room& complimentaries were amazing. Pool,sauna etc was fab. Complimentary breakfast for our other 2guests was much appreciated. Choices for breakfast were great. Staff very attentive- my daughter didn't like the look of the dried up beans& immediately staff replaced them. Well done 2all,would definitely stay there again& would recommend it. Only thing is its a little out of city centre so abt £12 in taxi if u don't drive etc. Very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cayeyes9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Cayeyes9

Thank you for the great review, it's reassuring to read you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and would recommend us. Your kind comments regarding the team are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share your review with them.

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#21 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,038 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $48 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing