We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“free upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #4 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“free upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

i have stayed here twice and on both occasions we got complimentary upgrades, once with husband and kids and other with friend for spa weekend. Hotel is clean and spacious, only ate for breakfast but was delicious. Staff friendly and welcoming. lovely pool, unfortunately jacuzzi was out of order on 2nd visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turkeylurky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear turkeylurky,

Thank you for reviewing the hotel and for choosing to return. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your upgrades!

I will share your kind comments with the team and we all hope you will return for a 3rd stay soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    314
    102
    37
    18
See reviews for
199
281
26
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The 3 of us have stayed here a few times and love the spacious big rooms and bathrooms. Beds are well comfy and plenty of pillows. My wife and daughter always use the pool and say its nice and clean. We have never eating or drank there as it is far too expensive. Not the hotels fault,but there is always selfish guests making a noise.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nige R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again, I am pleased to read you and your family had "another great stay"! We have recently invested in new beds, new mattress toppers and new pillows so it is encouraging to here you approve!

Sorry to hear you encountered selfish guests making noise, we are quite strict with this and it you notify reception they will resolve the issue. Also if you mention on your booking you prefer a quiet room we'll try our best to keep you away from other guests.

Myself and the team hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was happy to receive an unexpected upgrade on arrival. Swimming pool was a great attraction for us with a 3 year old. Will stay again. Would be difficult to get to without a car though. Once there, this hotel is a friendly and extremely clean place

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Julie L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Aberdeen Altens and for taking the time to share a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay! Our Housekeeping team have very high standards so they will be very happy with your comments!

I hope we get to welcome you and your family back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Treated myself and two children (age 16 and 9) to a weekend break at the Thistle Altens in Aberdeen. On arriving at the hotel our first impression was "Oh dear", but on entering the hotel we were all completely taken aback. The hotel foyer is stunning, the girl on the reception was new but very pleasant and answered my query regarding children being allowed into the restaurant and bar area. On arrival we were told we had received a complimentary upgrade (I had booked the Delux Double Double) to an Executive Double Double. The room was fantastic, huge to say the least with two big double beds, sitting area, plasma tv on the wall. Dressing area and beautiful bathroom with all toiletries included. The room was lovely and warm and heating could be adjusted to suit our needs. We went to the pool which was lovely, sauna and steam room and jacuzzi were very relaxing. We did not eat in the restaurant as looked at the menu and found it to be a bit pricey (£6 for a bowl of soup!!) and children were not allowed in after 8pm!! Sunday morning breakfast was fantastic, full hot and cold buffet and help yourself as much as you like. Staff were all very pleasant. Only downside I would say is children now allowed in bar after 8pm so if you want a drink after this it would have to be room service (charge of £5). Will most definitely be going back with my boyfriend for a weekend break.

Room Tip: We were in Room 143. Fantastic size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Audrey B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review, I am very pleased to read that you and your children enjoyed your visit to Thistle Hotel Aberdeen Altens. I will share your kind comments with the team.

Our current Premises License does stipulate children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 8pm however, our application to extend this is with the local licensing board and we're hoping to have this changed soon.

Great to hear you will stay with us again, myself and the team hope it is soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Altens Thistle Hotels for 3 nights. The hotel is 15 minutes walk to the ASET training centre and ABCOL (Aberdeen College). The Petrofac offshore training centre is also nearby within walking distance. The hotel provides shuttle bus service to and from. The spa facilities are ok and relaxing. in the bar your sure to meet someone from the O&G industry.
Certainly recommended if you have business in Altens Industrial Estate.
Aberdeen town centre is a short taxi ride. Taxi from Aberdeen Airport is approx £25 depending on traffic. Avoid rush hour in Aberdeen unless you have an abundance of patience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear wct275,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it's great to read the hotel was perfect for your business trip.

The team and I hope we get to welcome you back the next time you are in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here on the weekend of the granite rally. We chose this hotel as this was the headquarters for the rally so thought it would be handy .!!! By the time we had done what was needed doing on Friday night in preparation for the rally the next day ,we rushed back to the hotel to get dinner. There were six adults and two children. When we went into the restaurant at 7pm the waitress came to take our order and told us we would have to leave before 8pm, we said we would not have time to order and eat or dinner and be out of the restaurant by then, and she basically told us we would have to be. We had to get up and leave and go and find another place nearby to eat. When we got back at 9pm there were children in the restaraunt still eating and didn't look like they were anywhere near finished their meal. My friend went and spoke the the restaraunt manager and was told they were just leaving, (which was obvious they weren't) and that he could only apologise !!
They should state at the time of booking that children are not welcome. Some folk travelling don't arrive at the hotel till later in the evening and expect to be able to take their children into the restaraunt after travelling a long journey for a meal . You don't want to be sitting with your eye on the clock rushing your meal before they ask you to leave at 8pm ! No scottish staff at all to be found. All foriegn ,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiddlestix08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear fiddlestix08,

Thank you for your review, I was sorry to hear the hotel failed to meet your expectations on this occasion. Our Premises Licenses stipulates children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 8pm, so it's reassuring to hear the staff are enforcing this as we are legally bound to. We have submitted an application to have our license amended and this currently sits with the local licensing board.

We have a fantastic team working for us and the majority of previous reviewers have commented on their friendly service. We recruit based on their ability to provide excellent customer service not their nationality.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A clean, neat hotel but with very poor service standards and I didn't meet one British member of staff in the whole place. What a welcome to Scotland!

I stayed here last week within a group of 7 people, two of which were children of 12 years old. At 6.30pm we decided to head down to the restaurant for dinner and we were warned that children were not allowed in the restaurant areas after 8pm. We went in anyway (the prices are shocking for a roadside hotel) and again, the waitress told us children were not allowed in after 8pm. At this point it was getting to 7pm and decided we didn't want to rush our evening so we would go elsewhere. We found an alternative restaurant and returned to the hotel at 9pm to find several children still in the restaurant (and more worryingly, in the bar also) I spoke to the usher and told him how keen we were to enjoy our evening within the hotel but were made so unwelcome what with having children that we went elsewhere, only to find other people flouting the rules. He seemed unaware of any other children in his restaurant. I pointed them out. "Oh they arrived at 6.30 and are just leaving" (funny, because they had only just started their main course)
We decided to sit in the foyer (two couches, the only place to sit within the hotel if you have children) and at 9.45, there were still several other children still within the restaurant.

We went for the Granite City Rally weekend and after hours of running around the countryside, had hoped that our hotel would've been a good place to relax (celebrate?!) but no, the whole weekend was marred by the fact that this hotels service is very cold, unhelpful and, to be honest, quite a dated package.

We will most certainly not be returning (and having spoken to many other of the 'rally families that were also having difficulty with the staff and their double standards to people being allowed to stay within the eating areas) I would definately not recommend this hotel to anyone who asks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j60dnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrisManship, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear j60dnl,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to read you found the hotel clean and neat but naturally disappointed to hear you left the hotel feeling less than satisfied.

Our Premises License stipulates that children are not allowed in the bar or restaurant after 20.00 and I am pleased to hear that the team enforced this, as we are legally bound to. We have submitted a request to the licensing board to get the hours extended but until approved we have to abide by our current license.

As Oil Capital of Europe, Aberdeen is a very multi-cultural city and our team reflects this. They should be judged on their great customer service not their nationality.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#6 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
7.2 mi away
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
#34 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing