We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over night on business and must say a stay made notable by the staff. Front desk very helpful and particularly liked the touch of them phoning my room to make sure everything was OK shortly after checking in. The bar staff and particularly one young waitress were excellent and attentive.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mcadamwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear mcadamwj,

Thank you for your very kind review following your recent visit to the Thistle Altens. Your comments are greatly appreciated, especially your encouraging remarks about our great team!

I hope you'll think of us next time you are in Aberdeen on business

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    391
    118
    46
    21
See reviews for
250
387
32
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel was booked for an event in the Albyn Suite and also two rooms for staff. The attitude of every single member of staff was excellent. They couldn't do enough for us. Highly recommended as a business meeting / event venue

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Garry409,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent event and stay with us, it's reassuring to hear you would highly recommend us as an event venue. I will pass on your kind comments regarding the team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I, along with other family members have stayed at the Thistle Altens on numerous occasions. Each stay has been a great experience. The hotel is in a great location... only a few minutes drive from the city centre, plenty of free parking, very friendly and helpful staff and it has great liesure facilities. I visit my daughter (Aberdeen University) frequently. I no longer bother looking at other hotels.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Janice N,

Thank you for choosing to return to Thistle Altens, It's great to hear each stay with us has been a great experience for you and your family. I will make sure the team read your kind review and I hope we get to see you the next time you visit your daughter.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during October and it was a very pleasant stay.

The rooms were very comfortable - bathroom was slightly small - but not really a problem.

The buffet breakfast were fantastic - lovely variety. We also ate supper most nights at the hotel - which was great having everything under one roof. We were able to purchase airtime so I could connect to the wireless network - so no loss of contact with the family! We bought a bundle which lasted the entire week.

The hotel is on the bus route so transport into town was no problem. Didn't take me long to work out the transport system, and being online I was able to look up the timetables and plan my journey ahead of time.

It was also in walking distance of Makro and a convenience store which was great.

The staff was very courteous and during the course of the week they got used to our 'routine' and were were one step ahead!

I would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We ended up with a room near the back of the hotel so was quite a walk to the lift.. I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VonLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Vonlud,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review regarding your stay with us, we really appreciate the feedback! It's good to see you had a pleasant stay and would recommend the hotel.

I hope we get to welcome you back soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for the Hogmany party package and had a great time. Our room was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and the evening was a great success. We enjoyed the meal, the dining room looked lovely and festive, the band was Fifth Avenue who really kept the party going. I would certainly tell others about this Hotel and it was just the best start for 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear carol r,

Thank you for choosing to spend New Year at Thistle Altens and for sharing your feedback, I am delighted to hear you had a great time at our Hogmanay Ball.

Hopefully we'll get to see you at another one of events soon!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We recently stayed here over New Year for 3 nights. Had a really great time from the moment we checked in until we left. The girls at check-in were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was fantastic, absolutely huge. Sometimes a family room can be a bit cramped but this was probably the largest room we have ever stayed in! Food was excellent, good value for money. Drinks at the bar a bit pricey but that's the case with all hotels in my experience. The kids enjoyed the pool, not really much room to spectate if you have younger kids though. All the staff were friendly and cheery (despite working at New Year!). We will definitely stay there again and have already recommended to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear glenngal,

Thanks for the kind review regarding your New Year's stay with us, I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and I will make sure the team read your kind feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here prior to a work appointment, I have also stayed here on a few previous occasions. The hotel is situated in a good location for the altens area of the city and is also within 10 minutes of the city centre. The hotel is very well presented and initial impressions Re good. Check in staff are very friendly and efficient, getting you to your room quickly. My room was as before very nice, good quality decor and furnishings are of a high standard throughout. Nice room. I ate in the bar in the evening, the menu has a good variety to suit all tastes. Food is very good and is served quickly. The staff in the bar are as the rest of the hotel, very friendly and efficient. A nice place to be. Breakfast was served in a room adjacent to the bar, and it was first rate. very welcoming staff and great food, well presented. there was a choice of the usual cooked and cereals etc, but I would recommend the on demand omelettes, absolutely fantastic, made while you wait by a very enthusiastic chef...good stuff. I would recommend this hotel to anybody visiting Aberdeen. I will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms I have stayed in are the same, top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Philip J,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Aberdeen Altens, it's great to read you had an enjoyable stay with us! I am delighted to hear you would recommend the hotel and thank you for your kind comments about the team, which I will be sure to share with them.

I hope we get to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,937 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
715 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing