We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$95
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$167
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Skene House Rosemount(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$49
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$167
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$65
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,855 results
Traveler rating
942
626
189
63
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
942
626
189
63
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreleisure facilitiesan industrial estateswimming poolsteam roomthistle hoteltwo double bedslovely hotelleisure clubshort breakgood sizelovely rooman upgradeexcellent value for moneypleasant stayexcellent staywould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
1,775 - 1,780 of 1,855 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We visit Aberdeen regularly to visit our sons who are at university. We've stayed in various hotels, travelodges and travelinns in the city and have to say this is the best value hotel we've been to. We paid less than £40 for the night which is considerably cheaper than the travelinn and we were able to have a swim in the pool and eat a very nice breakfast - not bad at all. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff we encountered were all pleasant and friendly and the breakfast was tasty. We'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank stewarthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

A ghastly overpriced place with rude/offhand girls on reception after an interminable wait in the check in queue.Room was dirty with sinister stains on bed covers and carpet. All the lights and pictures etc. were at crazy angles, some lights didn't work. One bed was missing a valance. Bathroom had more hair on the floor from a previous occupant that I have on my head. Avoid the restaurant like the plague. The food was overpriced tasteless, greasy and was served cold. The staff kept diners waiting an age for their meals presumably in a vain attempt to induce hunger bad enough to keep it down when they served it. In any case the menu was very limited and was not changed throughout our stay (probably just as well bearing in mind the awful stuff the kitchen churned out.) There was no information as to where breakfast could be found but that was probably a public service really as breakfast was a grisly business, definately one to miss but OK if you enjoy stewed tea with added grease and fly blown bread. There were some maintenance staff who when using the lift physically pushed the hotel guests into a corner. When I told colleagues that I was staying there several people said, What floor are you on?" When I replied "Third." they all said, "You should be alright then" they didn't elaborate. God only knows what goes on at the lower two floors. The car park is a muggers delight with no lighting and is totally insecure and unsupervised.
KEEP AWAY...

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TGSpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Location is some distance from downtown so a nice bar with good bar food would be welcome. Unfortunately neither. Food is filler quality not modern and light. Bar features large screen sport. The interior of the public areas is grubby. If you are going to have brass then it needs to be kept polished unlike at this hotel. Superior room I had was on the other hand clean and tidy with good wireless internet. Breakfast was poor with watery orange juice and lots of greasy food.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We had booked in for 4 nigths but left after 1 night, staff booked us in wrong rooms, and were fighting in the morning when we wanted to
check out, checked out for good and didnt go back! Overpriced and useless place in general.

Stayed: August 2007
2  Thank tinkertoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Poor location off an industrial estate. Most of the clientele appear to be oil workers coming and going.Booked a "superior" room, got a standard...on querying we were told we were getting the correct room.Receptionist at check-in insisted on getting a credit card authorisation swipe for nearly double the booked price - i found this concerning.During chick-in and to clear any ambiguity, i asked if the price quoted included a breakfast and was told it did. On checking out, the staff tried to charge around £58 extra for the breakfasts which we were told were included.
Tbh, i couldn't really recommend this to anyone after my experience here.
Maybe we were just unlucky....i doubt it though.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 0hreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews