We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here three nights. Very clean and tidy room. Huge 6 foot wide bed so lots of room in it. Did not eat here as thought restaurant prices were a bit steep. But overall a nice stay. Would stay here again , but look out hot water is really hot! View from our room was the main road but room very quiet at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Maisiec

Thank you for the reviewing your recent stay with us, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us and would stay again. I've asked our Maintenance Manager to check the hot water so thank you for bringing it to my attention

We do hope to welcome you back zoom

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    391
    118
    46
    21
See reviews for
250
387
32
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Would definitely recommend this hotel whether staying on business or pleasure. Has great amenities if you enjoy your fitness or just relaxing. The staff are very friendly and certainly make sure you are well catered for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Scott F

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and for sharing your positive feedback. It's great to read you approve of the hotels amenities and found the team friendly.

I hope we get to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am always staying at the Thistle Aberdeen Altens hotel when I am in Aberdeen for business. The staff is always very helpful and friendly. The rooms, the food and the pool are great and easy parking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frits55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Frits55,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Thistle Altens, I'm pleased to hear the team take good care of you and I will be sure to share your kind comments with them.

I hope we continue to be your hotel of choice in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Duncan Peter

Volunteers, Children and staff from Befriend a Child had a fantastic time at Aberdeen Altens Hotel last Sunday at the annual Christmas party. Staff were friendly, attentive and had done a superb job in making the room look lovely.

We had a two course meal which was tasty and served hot, something which not all hotels deliver at this time of year. Although we weren't particularly demanding, any requests were dealt with efficiently and with a smile.

People are all too quick to be critical these days so it's important to give credit where credit is due - we would be more than happy to recommend the Thistle Altens as a venue. Please pass our thanks to all staff involved in making it a great day for our supported children.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Duncan,

Thank you for choosing to hold your event at Thistle Altens and for taking the time to share you experience. I'm delighted to hear all your guests had a fantastic time and I will share your feedback with the team, as it's their hard work that made your event special.

I am delighted to hear you would recommend us and we look forward to hopefully hosting your future events

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Cove and Altens Community Council approached the Thistle Hotel with the hope of them being able to host our annual Christmas Concert which raises funds for the Christmas lights, after the local authority denied our booking for our usual venue. Not only did they welcome us having our concert in their ballroom, but they offered us free refreshments for all of our 350 guests. The communication between us and the hotel was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. We visited several times before the event and every time the staff on duty went out of their way to help us. On the day, the staff were brilliant and the ballroom was beautiful. We couldn't believe the effort they had gone to help us, especially when we weren't paying them! They were so generous with their time, their facilities and their expertise. We raised over £500 and this would not have been possible if they had not been so supportive of their community. We can only thank them whole heartedly for allowing us to continue with our annual event and raise funds to help pay for our Christmas lights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Jayne S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it was our pleasure to host your Christmas Concert. I am pleased to hear the team took care of you and I will make sure they read your kind comments.

I hope we can help again next year

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband, 2 kids & me shared a deluxe double double room as we were attending a function at another hotel but got a great deal for overnight stay here. We got an upgraded room on our arrival and also got complimentary breakfast.
The room, breakfast & staff were all excellent.
Couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Karen H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the great review! I am delighted you and your family had a great overnight stay and especially pleased to hear you could not fault anything!

Hopefully we will see you the next time you are in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed for one night to attend a function and was really impressed by the standard of this hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful & couldn’t do enough for us from start to finish. Great value for money after booking via the hotel’s own website a few weeks prior we received a special offer of 50% off and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. Great sized twin room with 2 double beds and everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We hadn’t booked breakfast in advance, however for £7.95 we chose to have breakfast in the morning which was well worth it with plenty of choice for everyone and well stocked up even at 10am! Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa facilities but look forward to doing so when we return. The hotel is on the outskirts of Aberdeen so perhaps not convenient for those wishing somewhere central to explore the city centre, however I would highly recommend this hotel if attending one of its events/party nights or looking for some leisure time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Tracey L,

Thank you for the great review, I'm delighted to hear you were impressed with the hotel and the team took good care of you.

I hope we get to welcome you back soon and myself and the team hope you have a great Christmas!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,938 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
715 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing