We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with wonderful staff!!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Cove and Altens Community Council approached the Thistle Hotel with the hope of them being able to host our annual Christmas Concert which raises funds for the Christmas lights, after the local authority denied our booking for our usual venue. Not only did they welcome us having our concert in their ballroom, but they offered us free refreshments for all of our 350 guests. The communication between us and the hotel was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. We visited several times before the event and every time the staff on duty went out of their way to help us. On the day, the staff were brilliant and the ballroom was beautiful. We couldn't believe the effort they had gone to help us, especially when we weren't paying them! They were so generous with their time, their facilities and their expertise. We raised over £500 and this would not have been possible if they had not been so supportive of their community. We can only thank them whole heartedly for allowing us to continue with our annual event and raise funds to help pay for our Christmas lights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Jayne S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, it was our pleasure to host your Christmas Concert. I am pleased to hear the team took care of you and I will make sure they read your kind comments.

I hope we can help again next year

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    385
    116
    46
    21
See reviews for
246
378
32
297
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband, 2 kids & me shared a deluxe double double room as we were attending a function at another hotel but got a great deal for overnight stay here. We got an upgraded room on our arrival and also got complimentary breakfast.
The room, breakfast & staff were all excellent.
Couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Karen H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for the great review! I am delighted you and your family had a great overnight stay and especially pleased to hear you could not fault anything!

Hopefully we will see you the next time you are in Aberdeen

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed for one night to attend a function and was really impressed by the standard of this hotel. All staff were friendly and helpful & couldn’t do enough for us from start to finish. Great value for money after booking via the hotel’s own website a few weeks prior we received a special offer of 50% off and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. Great sized twin room with 2 double beds and everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We hadn’t booked breakfast in advance, however for £7.95 we chose to have breakfast in the morning which was well worth it with plenty of choice for everyone and well stocked up even at 10am! Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa facilities but look forward to doing so when we return. The hotel is on the outskirts of Aberdeen so perhaps not convenient for those wishing somewhere central to explore the city centre, however I would highly recommend this hotel if attending one of its events/party nights or looking for some leisure time!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Tracey L,

Thank you for the great review, I'm delighted to hear you were impressed with the hotel and the team took good care of you.

I hope we get to welcome you back soon and myself and the team hope you have a great Christmas!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

was at thistle altens on tues 4th dec with a group of approx 70 disabled people The place was absolutely freezing So bad everyone had to keep coats on and as there was 12 at table instead of 10 made it very uncomfortable xmas meal was medi ochre and could have been quite a bit warmer I dont drink tea or coffee so asked for hot water 4 times before i got it consider it best bit of meal as at least it was hot Today was at ABERDEEN COLLEGE for meal made by catering students Far superior and half the price wake up THISTLE you are in a competitive industery OUr group has gone their for years but hope committee has a few stern words to say

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear joanie81,

Thank you for your honest feeback, I was naturally disappointed to hear you did not enjoy the evening, especially as the organsier of the event has told us "everything was great, as always". Still its never good to know anyone left the hotel feeling less than satisfied, so please accept my personal apologies if the hotel failed to meet your expectations.

The heating was set to 32 degrees which is the maximum setting, we actually received a couple of complaints from other guests at the event saying the room was too warm so I can only apologise if it was not to your liking.

There was only one table of 12, the rest were tables of 10, and the tables were set up as per the organisers request. There were only around 60 guests at the event and the ballroom can hold up to 240 guests so if you required more space it would not have been an issue.

I hope you do choose the hotel again in the future so we may have the chance to restore your faith us

I hope you have a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fochabers,moray
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Husband and myself stayed for two nights bed and breakfast in a deluxe room. Room was clean and modern,big enough but not as big as some executive rooms we have stayed in other hotels.Plenty of wardrobe space,plenty tea and coffee etc and nice toiletries. Flat screen tv with plenty tv and radio channels. Room not very well lit for ladies doing hair and make up. hotel was nicely decorated and had lovely Xmas decorations and as it was snowing,it was very xmassy.The swimming pool and spa area certainly needs a revamp. Very good breakfast,everything you could want and nice breakfast area with soft music playing.didnt eat any meals at the hotel as the prices were far too high as I suspect the bar prices would have been going by the wine list.The hotel has plenty of parking but unfortunately was even more out of the town than we had originally thought.Probably will not stay again because of this.It would be different if the price of the rooms and the food was slightly cheaper. All in all, I did like the hotel,but there are better and better value.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank loopylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear looplynne1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I was delighted to hear you and your husband found the room clean and modern and approved of the amenities we provide.

As previous reviewers have mentioned, we do have bigger rooms if you require more space. We have 34 Executive Double Double rooms which are among the largest hotel rooms in Aberdeen!

I note that despite all the positives you mentioned you only rated the hotel 3 out of 5 which is a little disappointing but I hope if you choose to stay with us again we can improve on this and make your next review 5 out of 5!

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel was comfortable and was clean however was told by one member of staff on reception that he would process a free nights stay through being a member of their signature club. When it came to Sunday I had been locked out my room and told I could not stay unless I paid apparently "I needed a voucher to take advantage of this offer". This information was not shared with me when I inquired about more information and asked to go ahead with the offer. Therefore it was a case of pay-up for another night or leave. Luckily I was traveling by car and able to head home a day earlier than I expected rather than fork out for their mistake.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen16jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear jen16jay,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I have already emailed you directly.

When you signed up to our Loyalty Scheme you agreed to the terms and conditions, these stipulate the Free Sunday Night staff can only be redeemed with a voucher (which acts as payment) which will be sent to you via our Loyalty Team. Once you have this voucher you need to contact the Loyalty team directly as only they can book it, it cannot be booked at the hotel.

This information was shared with you as it is stated in our terms and conditions which you signed to say you had read and agreed to. I'm sorry the staff could not accommodate your request but they have to follow company policy.

The hotel system automatically cancels room key cards at 12 noon as this is check out time, otherwise guests who previously stayed in that room would be able to enter your room. You were not locked out the system simply cancelled the key, as it does with all departure rooms. Sorry if you thought this had been intentional, it's just a security measure.

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived at the Thistle after a long 20+ hour traveling time from Australia. We were both exhausted and looking forward to a hot shower and comfy bed!
However.....after a harassed and less than friendly receptionist checked us in, we went to our room to find 2 single beds in a poky little room!
So back to reception we went - requesting a double bed! After some delays and being treated like we were being unreasonable, we were given our new room. ( we are a married couple - so don't think it's unreasonable to want a double bed!)
The new room was nicer....but still nothing like the hotel website pictures. Room needed a good clean ( hair in the bathtub and mould in the soap holder)
The follow day (and a staff change) we started to change our opinion. Breakfast was fantastic....wait staff were really friendly.
The gym was well equipped and the bar was great.
The hotel is not close to anything....so a taxi is needed to go anywhere (about 10 pound to get into the city)
Probably wouldn't stay there again - based on location. Service is very much dependent on which staff member you see! But having not visited Aberdeen before, im not sure what the other hotels are like!

Room Tip: We had friends stay on another floor and their room was completely renovated! So maybe when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thistlehotels, Manager at The Aberdeen Altens Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Tamara C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear you encountered issues with your room but having checked your booking on our system it does state a standard twin room which is why it was allocated to you. I'm pleased to hear the reception team upgraded you to make sure you were comfortable.

The hotel is 3 miles from the city centre which is advised on our website and it is because of this location we are able to offer free parking, health club and swimming pool, which you won't find in the city centre hotels.

Thanks for the feedback, and hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again

Regards

Kris Manship
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aberdeen Altens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aberdeen Altens Hotel

Property: The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Address: Souter Head Road, Aberdeen AB12 3LF, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Aberdeen Altens)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
#8 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Aberdeen Altens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Aberdeen Altens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Aberdeen Altens Hotel Aberdeen
Thistle Hotel Aberdeen
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing