We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, service attitude could use some adjustment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #24 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good location, service attitude could use some adjustment”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

I booked a group of 15 Speyside whisky trail travellers to stay at this hotel. My original choice was influenced by the hotel's central location as well as the fact that I hold a platinum membership in Priorityclub. As we booked many months in advance, I was also pleased by the fact that I could negotiate a reasonable rate for us all.

The hotel's location was indeed quite ideal. The rooms were standard Express by Holiday Inn quality, nothing more - nothing less. (No king-size beds available for couples, limited choice in general).I was initially given a key to my room, but it did not work when I tried it. As all others from my group stayed one floor lower, I had the idea of trying 202 instead of 302 - and yes, the number had just been written wrong on the card.

The whole stay went ok for our group, but I felt the hotel could try and prep up a bit in their service attitude. My platinum membership was not recognized even just verbally, nor did I get any of the standard little perks which I have received at other Holiday Inn / Express by Holiday inn hotels (free drink, a warm verbal recognition). Similarly I did not get a late checkout - standard stuff for Platinum members. No one in our group got late checkout in fact.

I pointed out to the non-recognition of the platinum membership, and was told coldly that "we do not recognize it here in any way". Ahem - well, then I guess the business isn't needed, and I won't book any more of the bi-anuual tours to stay at this hotel, thank you. So much for brand loyalty. Was very surprised to see in the lobby the priorityclub awards that this hotel had received for service. What service?

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mijansso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear mijansso

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of the hotel. It was good to read that in general, you found the hotel and it's facilities to be up to scratch. I am however shocked that your Platinum Priority Club membership was not recognised as this is something that should certainly have happened. We have recently been looking at new ways in which we can recognise our most loyal guests and I will certainly take on-board your comments as part of this. In the meantime, additional training will take place to ensure that all of our staff are aware of the benefits currently in place.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    316
    133
    33
    12
See reviews for
117
202
47
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

For the price I paid for the room I thought it was good value, spacious room and a bathroom that looks brand new.
Breakfast was continental and not bad but I would have preferred a cooked option.
Check out time was a hangover friendly 11am.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear abz123

Many thanks for your kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be such good value. Whilst we don't offer a full cooked breakfast, hopefully you did manage to sample our hot options from the buffet which consist of scrambled eggs and either sausage or bacon.

Thanks again

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

There were nine of us--7 family members--in our group. Food was good and plentiful, staff was helpful, beds were the worst possible. No one member of the group had a decent bed. I had to hold on to the covers to keep from falling out of bed. The springs were broken. Much to my surprise when we all met for breakfast every single person had a lousy bed and a poor night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Dear ColleenDi

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be helpful and efficient but I was sorry to see that the beds were not to your satisfaction. We are aware that some of the beds are getting very close to the end of their useful life which is why we are in the process of replacing each and every one of them. Hopefully this will be completed prior to your next stay and you will be able to experience a more comfortable night's sleep.

Regards
Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I was invited to a friends degree show in Aberdeen and me and my partner decided to stay in your hotel. The accommodation was very nice, the room was clean and tidy, and the reception area was lovely. The location of your hotel was second to none. My biggest disappointment was with your breakfast menu. Me and my partner have stayed in various hotels and we can confidently say that your breakfast was disappointing. While the food that was served was nice the variety was poor, only sausages and scrambled eggs were laid out, it could greatly benefit from having more choice, having some bacon, fried eggs, mushrooms and the like out would greatly improve it. Having had a great night the breakfast was a big let down, however apart from this it was a nice stay, well done.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishguy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear scottishguy100

Many thanks for your excellent review. It’s good to read that you were happy with everything in the hotel with the exception of the breakfast selection. Until April of this year, our free breakfast was purely a continental selection and we feel that the addition of the hot items has now greatly enhanced this. The actual selection of items that we offer is not something that can be changed as, like all UK Holiday Inn Express hotels, we have strict standards that we must adhere to so unfortunately, we won’t be able to offer the additional items that you mentioned. I hope this won’t however prevent you from visiting again in the future.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STOKE ON TRENT
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

This is a good hotel providing you do not return to very late in the afternoon as your room will not of been serviced.
When i didd return members of the hotel staff were beds between floors and had to kick them into the lift to make them fit and they found it this very funny, i was not impressed.
Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as some rooms at the rear face onto a building with a metal roof and so when it rains you cannot sleep due to the noise (like being in a drum) other than that the hotel and staff are OK (apart from the bed kickers)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHIL-N-D-JIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear PHIL-N-D-JIM

Thanks for leaving your comments on Tripadvisor, I’m glad you had a good stay with us.

On an average day, all bedrooms will have been serviced by 3.00pm although when the hotel is particularly busy, this may extend up to around 5.00pm. I’m sorry these timings didn’t fit in with your arrival back at the hotel but please feel free to ask reception to arrange for your room to be serviced earlier when you next stay with us.

Whilst I’m not entirely sure what was happening with regard to the staff moving beds in the lifts, it certainly sounds like their behaviour was unacceptable and I can assure you I will be having words with them to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

For wheelchair - very good but extra mattress required to raise bed
Bathroom - very good, walk-in shower
Size of room - very good
Breakfast - excellent
Facilities - very good
Location - some distance from rail
Overall impression - staff good, good hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rugbytommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear rugbytommo

Many thanks for your favourable review. It’s great to hear that the time and effort that has been spent to ensure that our facilities are fully accessible to wheelchair users has been worthwhile and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future and I hope you had a trouble-free journey back to New Zealand.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed here for one night. Arrived by train and the hotel is a good 10 minute walk from the station, located up a side street opposite a 24 hour bakery (more about that later).

Check in was ok, although my name was wrong on the form which caused a bit of confusion. The room was compact but nice - very clean, with a small double bed and a bed settee. The bathroom was nice and clean with a decent shower. Only downside was the lack of air conditioning, the weather was extremely warm and sleeping with the window open didn't provide adequate ventilation as the window didn't open very far and meant we were constantly disturbed by the noisy customers at the all night bakery located across the street.

Breakfast was included and was described as 'continental'. Can only describe breakfast as an 'experience'. The area set up for the self service breakfast is very cramped and difficult to negotiate. Saturday morning at around 9am was incredibly busy with a very long queue for food and swarms of unsupervised children causing mayhem. When we arrived there was no hot food left and several people waiting on supplies being replenished causing large tailbacks and general chaos. Only bacon and scrambled eggs were supplied which were of an ok standard. The self service toaster was another cause of long delays. I am sure the area could be laid out much better to provide an easier and more pleasant experience for the customers as for example if you only wanted a re-fill of orange juice the machine was located in the corner meaning you either had to push in past waiting customer or spend 10 minutes queuing. I also noticed a member of staff pushing a laundry trolley through the eating area which was a bit off putting.

Despite our breakfast experience I would still recommend this hotel as it was cheap and in a good location. The breakfast was ok just not the best I have.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Dear ScottishTourist

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, I'm delighted that overall, you enjoyed your stay and give us your recommendation.

We are of course aware that the lack of air conditioning can occasionally be the cause of some discomfort to our guests and we do intend to install this facility at some point in the future. In the meantime, please feel free to request a room facing away from the street when making your next reservation as this would allow the window to remain open without having to suffer any noise from the surrounding area.

Breakfast can indeed be rather busy on weekend mornings and whilst we do try to minimise this as much as possible, we are rather limited by the size and layout of the fixed buffet area. As you suggested, a re-think of the actual placement of the different items may help and I will bear this in mind.

With regard to the laundry trolley, this should not have happened as our housekeeping department are required to use a different route during breakfast service. I have already spoken to them about this and am confident that it will not happen again.

Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
967 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing