We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictably mediocure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Predictably mediocure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

An average and functional hotel, yet horrendously overpriced. On arrival I found the reception staff were friendly and efficient and like most big chains, I found the room was clean and comfortable. As the hotel is in a reasonably quiet location, I managed to get a half decent nights sleep. However, for the price, I really would have expected the room to be less basic. The thing that really let the place down was breakfast. This was borderline inedible and I suspect all cooked items come strait from the freezer into the microwave before being placed on the self service buffet. Again, for the cost, I was surprised I had to clear my own tray away Ikea café style. To sum up, a pricey chain hotel with ok rooms but bad food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments MrMuh

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast. This is an area that we have tried hard to improve in recent months and generally, the feedback has been very positive. The cooked items are all delivered fresh to the hotel and only premium brands are used.

I am however happy to see that the remaining aspects of your stay were satisfactory although I do note your point regarding room rates. The high prices for accommodation in Aberdeen are a direct result of the buoyant oil industry. I am however confident that our rates offer excellent value for money when compared with other hotels in the city.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    311
    129
    32
    11
See reviews for
113
195
47
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Basic hotel (like most of the Holiday Inn Express hotels through the world.
Rooms are small and don't have a lot of luxury. Clean they are for sure.
Breakfast is a plain buffet, but ok.
Locatioin is in the middle of the city centre, near one of the best restaurants of Aberdeen (Rustico's).
If you use your room only for sleeping this is a good plce to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for your review Erik V

I'm glad to see that the hotel lived-up to your expectations and that you clearly noticed the great efforts of our housekeeping team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duchess86
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

As with all holiday inns the room was basic but functional.
there was some staining on the sofa and the carpet was worn but for the most it was clean.
the location is great for heading out in the city.
for £50 a night it was fine and I would use again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duchess86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Many thanks for your comments duchess86

It's great to see that the hotel lived-up to your expectations and you appreciated the excellent value for money weekend rates.

My apologies for the condition of your carpet and sofa, rest assured these are thoroughly clean although they will be replaced during our forthcoming refurbishment.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good location, if on business near the centre of Aberdeen. Beware of the travel times and waiting times for taxis, this being a common problem. Rooms clean and neat, with reasonable heating. November nights can be cold in North Britain.

Breakfast is fast and adequate, especially if you like grapefruit and toast. Not much choice otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToastedWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Many thanks for your review ToastedWombat

Glad to see you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and appreciated the central location. Taxis can indeed be busy in Aberdeen during peak times but this can easily be avoided by pre-booking the night before. Reception will be happy to help with this on your next visit.

Hopefully next time you will also be able to take advantage of the other items available at breakfast. In addition to grapefruit and toast, you can help yourself to sausages, scrambled egg, baked beans, pain-au-chocolat, croisants, yoghurts, cereals and fresh fruit. Please also remember that breakfast is completely free of charge.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Booked into this hotel for 2 nights to attend a family party at Crathes. Got it through an online deal at a good price. Managed to get into the small hotel car park which was a bonus as the nearby multi storey is £1 an hour and on street even more expensive.
Check in staff were friendly and polite. Bedroom and bathroom were good size and clean. Breakfast was sufficient with the usual cereals, toast, yogurts and fruit plus a small hot buffet of scrambled eggs,sausages and beans. Hotel is just off the top end of Union St with plenty of restaurants and bars nearby.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments Tom N

We're delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and it's great to see that you managed to get one of our parking spaces. Whilst you are absolutely correct that the local car park charges at £1 per hour, please note that this does not apply between the hours of 10pm and 8am during which time it is free.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stayed here with my family a week during summer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, the cleaner somehow kept getting the number of towles wrong, Otherwise, the room had everything you need for a hotel visit and it was clean. The breakfast was however disappointing, it was pretty much only small packages of processed low quality food. The eggs felt watery and tasteless, the sausages were worse than the 20 frozen sausages you get for 1 pound at morrisons.. The bar was nice however. It was also one of the cheapest hotels at the time. Overall, the rooms were good, the staff was friendly and helpful, and it was value for money. However, I would not advise anyone to pay separately for the breakfast there as there are several places you can eat nicer food all around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Many thanks for your comments Jessika P

It's good to read that you found your bedroom and the staff to be to your satisfaction but I am sorry that you were less impressed with our breakfast.

I am slightly confused about your reference to "small packages of processed low quality food" as we don't have anything of this type on offer. Our bakery items are all fresh and the only packaged items (other than butter and Flora) are our Muller yoghurts, Kelloggs cereals and individually wrapped cheddar cheese. The sausages were chosen specifically because of their high meat content but I will check the correct cooking procedures are being used. The scrambled eggs should also have been to a higher standard and this issue will also be addressed.

Breakfast is however completely free for all guests so future visitors need not worry about having to pay extra.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Right in the city centre, great for a night out or couple of days sightseeing. Rooms are cosy with excellent bathrooms and ameniities, everything you need. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. All night bakery open across the road in case you are peckish after a late return. I must admit, we were not bothered by any noise at all. Buffet breakfast, which is included was excellent. OK, the only thing you can't get is bacon, but sausages, eggs, toast, fruit and everything else is there. Left next morning to get the car and the street was littered with rubbish from various takeaways. Came back 10 minutes later, and it was all clean again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Many thanks for your comments Tartan18

We're delighted that you enjoyed our central location and found the staff to be welcoming and friendly. I'm also glad you had a peaceful night's sleep. There can indeed be rather a mess in the street on a Sunday morning but we are lucky that the local council do an excellent job with clearing it all up.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing