We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more then met my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“more then met my expectations”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel in good location, as so close to the centre of aberdeen,
Reception staff MORE then helpfull, assisted us with everything, not only was extremly nic but also made us a trip plan around thr town to see what is interesting,
As hotel does not have ac it would be nice if windows would fully open but I guess it is helf safty issue...
The only little hickup was husekeeping that seemed to froget to take away dirty glasses,which has been put for them on tray on the side,

The hotel is simple but it is HI express after all, but staff really makes ia difference!
Well done and massive thank you to all of them!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review Michael K.

Firstly, apologies for the error with housekeeping, I will ensure they are aware of this in order to prevent any reoccurence in the future.

More positively, we're delighted to read that you rated the staff so highly and that they made the time and effort to assist you with your visit to our city, I sincerely hope you had a great time exploring.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    313
    132
    32
    12
See reviews for
117
199
47
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brekstad, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Close to Union street - Aberdeen's main street - and a very pleasant place to stay. Helpful staff: Information of restaurants and shopping, fixing a damaged bag, fixing an early breakfast, ordering taxi.Good rooms, good service, good breakfast. We will be there on our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnar J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review Ragnar J

It's great to read that our staff looked after you so well and that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had booked 3 rooms and had to change the booking, this was done without a problem. The rooms are clean and we found the hotel to be quiet.
There was a fire alarm on our first morning but these things happen.
Breakfast was good.
Parking can be a bit of a problem but we managed but remember there are very few spaces at the hotel but there is a multi story car park a few hundred yards away.
Staff were very nice and very helpful.
Would stay here again if the price was right, so need to book well in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks for your comments Patricia L

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the staff were able to easily amend your booking. Guest safety is of paramount importance to us and unfortunately, fire alarms are accidentally triggered from time to time.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed in Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre for 2 nights during my sort business visit in Aberdeen. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, breakfast just ok. I was not particularly impressed but in general, it has been a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abundiantus71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Many thanks for your review abundiantus71

Glad you liked our great central location and that the rooms met with your expectations.

Hopefully, once we've had our refurbishment, you feel more impressed.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is in a good central location but parking might be a problem. We arrived about 12 and i think we got the last slot. There is a multi storey up the street. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was good. Staff were good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Many thanks for your review BKP47

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were fortunate enough to get a parking space.

As you mentioned, when the hotel car park is full, we are lucky to have the large multi-storey just 100 yards up the street where spaces can always be found.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Gues Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in June 2013.

Pros
- The receptionist was cordial and rooms were clean.
- The hotel's location is the selling point, right in the centre and makes it easy to visit key tourist locations in Aberdeen.
- The breakfast buffet was OK, nothing great (scrambled eggs - very bland, toast, sausages - tasteless, etc) but I didn't suffer from food poisoning, so OK.

Cons
- The hotel is situated opposite a bakery which draws visitors till early hours of the morning... In my case, i was exhausted visiting Inverness and slept without any disturbance .. but others in the trip found this annoying ...


Suggestions
- Please supply a bottle of water to each room (include it in your price - no problem)
- Please provide a map of key tourist attractions in the city (it is available for free at the tourist information centre and this will saves visitors time)

Room Tip: Not the ones facing the bakery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumbai_3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your review Srikanth3939

Glad you enjoyed your visit and apologies that your companions were disturbed by the bakery customers during the night. We have been informed that the bakery will be closing shortly to be converted into flats so the noise issue will hopefully reduce in future.

Kind regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location nice hotel......Staff need some serious training. Asked for a taxi to b booked for evening (645pm) went to ask where it was at 655pm and was speaking to receptionist (Martina)about this when the phone rang she never said 'excuse me' she just cut me off half way through a sentence to answer the telephone. Breakfast was a joke......cooked elememt of it consisted of scrambled eggs and cheap sausages, the breakfast orange was coloured water and when I asked for orange juice i was confronted by a staff member that could hardly speak any English.

Room Tip: Plenty hotels in centre of Aberdeen look for somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssreklaw23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExpressAberdeen, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay ssreklaw23

My apologies that Martina answered the phone whilst speaking to you, this is most unlike her and I have already discussed the matter her to ensure it does not happen again. We are in the process of reviewing the items offered on the breakfast buffet although I can assure you that the sausages are a well respected brand and not cheap items at all. The orange juice dispensing machine appears to be operating correctly so I am surprised that you found it unsatisfactory. I have however instructed an engineer to attend the hotel to service it as a precautionary measure.

Regards

Martin Thow
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing